×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid
     

Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid

4.0 213
by Denis Leary
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times bestseller

One of America’s most original and biting comic satirists, Denis Leary takes on all the poseurs, politicians, and pop culture icons who have sucked in public for far too long. Sparing no one, Leary zeroes in on the ridiculous wherever he finds it—his Irish Catholic upbringing, the folly of celebrity, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Why We Suck 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 213 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it is simply that - a joke from a comedian. Your outrage is simply helping him to sell more books. I'm sure he's thrilled with your protest.
MC_Mini_mall More than 1 year ago
If you want to hear a very uncouth but hilarious take on America this is your book. if you are faint of heart keep looking. There's some stuff i laughed at but wouldn't say myself...glad ot know there's someone out there doing it for me. the book reads fast and furious and actually made me laugh (notably the chapter about how cats suck)...but even cat lovers should be able to read this as long as they have sense of humor...i mean what would comedy be without butts of jokes...
Nurse_Stimpy More than 1 year ago
Did you people intentionally hunt down this book to give it a bad review? I can't wait to read it! Dr. Leary may not have the most popular views on our society, but it makes you think, doesn't it? Autism exists, that is undisputed fact, and he doesn't deny it. If parents lack the skills to educate or discipline their children, they'll use any excuse to say it's not their fault. I've seen so many potentially good and bright kids fall behind in school and act out because of bad parenting. Why don't we actually read the book, and then make an opinion about it, huh people?
DarkHorse More than 1 year ago
to the people who are flipping out about how he treats autism in the book: have you even read what he says? there was a comment taken completely out of context, which started the whole thing. watch his interview with jon stewart and see for yourself. he's ranting about how parents, whose kids are really just lazy and stupid, are actively seeking to get their kids diagnosed with autism, or any disorder for that matter, to cover for the fact that they suck as parents. im sorry that some of you have reading comprehension issues and cant see that for yourselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are into political correctness or faint of heart this book is not for you. If you are into honesty and think PC is a bunch of BS this book is for you. Comments about autism and related ASD's are taken out of context. Leary just tells it as it is. Remember this book is a satire. I am sure Leary doesn't in anyway mean true autism doesn't exist. It is a fact in our society that many parents are looking for excuses for the behavior of their children. In most cases they would find the answer if they took a second to look in a mirrow. Most people threatened by this book probaly have latent insecurities along with guilt. Our society, still the best in the world, has become a society of greed and entitlement which has added to the economic problems we face today. Leary's words: "This country....is populated by beings who have been so blessed for so long that they have become almost completely immune to any interests other than their own". During my forty year career in education I have seen this first hand hundreds of times. It's time we all took responsibility for our own actions and not tried to blame it on others. The best advocate we'll ever have is ourselves.
PamMontgomery More than 1 year ago
I laughed so hard I almost passed out while reading Denis' mother's recipes.......
Even if you hate 90% of this book, the 10% you relate to will more than make up for it.
Dr. Leary puts it right out there, as plain in sight as your senile grandfather sitting on the front porch in his underwear.....
I'm back today ordering another copy...and I'm sure I'll be back again...there's just so many people I want to offend this year for Christmas........
A riot of a good read!
Rachel25 More than 1 year ago
What Leary was saying about autism is that many incompetent parents are now SEEKING a low level autism diagnosis so that there is some excuse for their child's bad behavior....same with Asbergers. As opposed to these parents admitting that they are incapable of disciplining their kids, they are going to doctors in droves to TRY to get their kid diagnosed with autism. This is a serious problem that people need to recognize. There are children who really have this disorder, and that is being exploited by incompetent parents. This is a man who raises money for children with cancer and has done so for YEARS. I think you all need to lighten up a bit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is hilarious! For all those who choose to complain about the subject matter, maybe it is just hitting a little too close to home for you. Mr. Leary has always told us he has a big, sarcastic mouth and will always tell it like it is... And that is exactly what he does (and does well). This book is bitingly funny and a reminder how much better the world was when parents were parents and not their child's best friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this up yesterday on a whim and found myself unable to put it down. It's true that the book isn't necessarily PC and leary definitely doesn't pull any punches, but at the end of the day, the book is just funny. If you want to laugh, at others and yourself, than this is the book for you.
Nancy_Ann More than 1 year ago
It enjoyed reading this. It was easy, fun and quick.(I'm sure Denis would have a really good line for that). I laughed alot and liked reading about him growing up in Massachusetts. I loved the chapter on how CATS SUCK because they do. But felt he wasted a chapter on Oprah. The chapter on Autism was not bad at all, if anything the negative media helped him sell more books. You have to like Denis Leary as a comedian to like this book and be able to open your eyes to see that a lot of what he says is true. It's just that most of us do not have the guts to say so. I wish I was half as quick as he is with his quick wit and comebacks to every situation. You don't have to agree with everything he says, just sit back and enjoy it, let him entertain you. Loved the book and hope he comes back to the area to do another book signing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel remorse for the people offended by this book. Obviously you are not the intended audience that "Dr." Leary was looking for. Humor can be found everywhere and it is such humor that helps people get through any situation no matter how devastating. People tell jokes at funerals and I've seen no finger pointing thus far. Now on to the autism issue. Denis Leary makes fun of fat people too and I don't hear anyone defending them. Let's see. You have a sensitive issue and then you read a book that makes fun of everyone's sensitive issues? Sound reasonable? And you wonder why the book is called Why We Suck?? Prime example folks. This book is only for those that understand the real world. If you live in fantasy land then this book is not for you. If you think the country we live in is perfect then this book is not for you. If you are a Republican, then this book is DEFINITELY not for you. However, if you are a "normal" human being who would enjoy reading the unpolished version of what's wrong with this country then you will most likely thorougly enjoy "Dr." Leary's comments on everything from the miscellaneous to the mundane. It's Hilarious!!
randomreader More than 1 year ago
I completely enjoyed this book. It does read quickly, and may only be appriciated by readers with a certain sense of humor. Like all of Leary's material it IS offensive, but equally offensive to so many groups-how can you take it so personally? If you don't like Leary's humor-or if you are sensitive, easily offended, etc-JUST DON'T READ IT. THE FIRST SECTION OF THE BOOK IS DEVOTED TO WARNING THESE TYPES TO READ SOMETHING ELSE-SO IF YOU READ IT DESPITE THESE WARNINGS DON'T BLAME DENIS LEARY FOR YOUR HURT FEELINGS.Freedom of speech and freedom of personal tastes people.

As far as the "Autism" thing-he is making fun of parents who PRETEND to have a child with this disorder. So unless you are PRETENDING, it doesn't even apply to you.
JoshRobbins More than 1 year ago
If all this rubs you the wrong way then it just may be that you are the very same hypersensitive combination of fat, loud, lazy, and stupid that Leary has put on the stand in his new book. He has left us with two choices here: scoff at the notion that any of this has hit home and ridicule the man for putting it all out there, or suck it up and have a cathartic laugh at our collective missteps and imperfections.
runningyack More than 1 year ago
Wow, people really need to lighten up and listen to what somebody else has to say because chances are, they might just know what they're talking about and may in fact be smarter than you choose to believe! I'm not saying Leary is a genius, well comedically he is, but like he says, a hard dose of in your face truth hurts, and the people that are upset by his words or who are offended really need to look at themselves and think long and hard about how screwed up they are, especially their kids. As for our country, yes, it's the best, period. With the exception of how much of a bunch of prudes most of us are. A nation founded by Puritans....that word in itself explains everything that is boring, wasted, bland, and downright unfortunate with our country! Let's get rid of these old geezers in Congress, the Senate, etc. and get lively younger people in there who will change things and make this country more respectable. Yes, Denis, we as a whole may suck, but the handful of us that may agree with you do need the rest of the American people to wise up and stop being a bunch of whiny, self-medicating, "why don't my kids love me", turds.
Mark36 More than 1 year ago
Offensive, rude, acid tongued. That's when he's in a good mood. And that's exactly why I love reading this book. I love Dennis' relentlessly un-pc view of life. His parodies. His exaggerated views. His acerbic, rapier wit. This book showcases his slaying of victim hood and the self-absorbed posers who invade his world by living in it. By un-pc, I mean he tells it exactly the way things are. The truth hurts, and most people can't handle it. He paints the script with just enough exaggeration and making that he makes you scream out loud laughing one second, and yet makes you think the next. A dual edged sword of comedy. Written with a nice sense of pacing, the punchlines are scathingly funny. I enraged an entire plane of passengers with my howling, to the point that the beefy beehive Stewardess waggled her index finger at me throwing daggers. Escaping this near death experience, I continued on in muffled silence. For edgy social commentary jokes, this is about as fast-paced and ruthless as it gets. Comedy is best delivered when it's based on truth. This is raw in your face truth, and one of the funniest things I've read in a long time. Classic. Just classic Dennis. Hicks, Carlin, Miller and Leary all have carved out a slice in this raw genre of intellectual humor. I can count on one hand the writer's whose books make me laugh. The core of this content is taboo topics, and insults of the US celebrity-obsessed culture, and the endless assortment of sappy whiners with a complete lack of responsibility. But Dennis also dishes out some funny childhood experiences that had me rolling, since I could so easily relate to them. If you like this style of comedy, this book is a must own. Another new ripping satire I'd highly recommend is High Heels and Dirty Deals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think people takes things too seriously and don't know when to lighten up. Most parents take the easy way out and do not discipline their kids and that is the major problem. They need to let kids be kids and even if they are hyperactive they need to take a different approach than medicating kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denis Leary is a guy that I grew up admiring, because in a world where bulls*** is served up with as much efficiency and blatant disregard for microevolution or even insulting human intelligence that it is STAGGERING, you can count on Denis to piss on the PC parade, tell off anyone or group that takes themselves too seriously, or just rant about something that is stuck in his craw at that particular moment. I don't agree with all of his views, but by God, I respect his determination and drive to tell everyone what his views are, especially in this politically correct (read; guilty liberals kissing up to special interest groups) wasteland that we have created. This book WILL get under your skin at one point or another, and that's good. We ALL, and I do mean ALL, should question our ideals, our sensibilities, or to be general about it, our mental make-up. It's good for you. Gordon Lake Station, IN
VvVv More than 1 year ago
They say there's nothing funnier than the truth, and Denis Leary is all about that. I've read many books by comedians, but this one is the funniest and most honest. If you can't laugh at yourself, and everyone else around you, then maybe this book isn't for you. This book has something to laugh at on every page. Don't just skim through it or borrow it, this is a book you'll want to own read again.
BMiles More than 1 year ago
I've always been a big Dennis Leary fan and this book continues to prove how much of a comic genius he really is. Not all parts of this book are meant to be funny, there are a lot of serious issues that he expresses his opinions on. Opinions on the rest of the worlds view on us , racism, stupid kids, stupid parents, and how no ones really an "American American". This book is not for everyone. Some of his opinions may offend people without a healthy sense of humor... so be warned. Personally I agree with a lot of what he says.
Jonezone More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read. It is great for a day at the beach. I agreed with just about everything Denis talked about. Trying to apply common sense to our politically correct world is FUNNY. The chapter on self esteem is hilarious. Denis as a young lad comes home from school inspired by his Catholic school Sister-teacher. He is like eight years old. He tells his Irish immigrant working class father that he wants to grow up a be the President of the United States. They have a father son chat. The conversation ends with Dad telling a very young Denis (insert irish accent here) "but we're not rich Denis, ya have to be rich son." With that Denis' mother calls out from the kitchen and asks what is going on. His Dad responds "Nora little Denis thinks he is going to be President of the United States." The next thing Denis hears is his Mom really, really laughing from the kitchen. His common sense approach is honest, refreshing and funny.
MISS_JAN More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING. IT MADE ME LAUGH, IT MADE ME CRY.... WELL, I ONLY CRIED BECAUSE I WAS LAUGHING SO DAMN HARD. I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL ADULTS. ANYONE WITH A SENSE OF HUMOR WILL LOVE THIS BOOK BUT LIKE I SAID, YOU BETTER HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOR. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU CAN PULL OUT AT A PARTY TO ENTERTAIN. I HAVE QUOTED THIS BOOK MANY TIMES. GREAT TO HAVE AROUND WHEN YOUR HAVING A BAD DAY AND NEED A LAUGH. DENIS LEARY IS MY NEW HERO AND I COMMEND HIM FOR A JOB WELL DONE. IF HE WRITES ANOTHER BOOK, I WILL BE THE FIRST IN LINE.
Iguanaluv More than 1 year ago
Before this book I had never even heard of Denis Leary (I'm not much of a TV person). I simply bought the book because the title was funny, the back cover and the dedication made me laugh so I figured I'd give it a whirl. Basically, if you get through the first two chapters of this book you should be okay, you may even enjoy it. When reading the first chapter I nearly put the book down believing it would read like a senseless-drunken-frat boy wrote it solely for the purpose of trying to be funny without humor or context. However, as I read on the book quickly turned out to be truly comical and light-hearted. Leary opens up about himself, his family and his Irish upbringing. He relates his personal experiences to pop culture, society, life. His satirical humor and personal touch turn the mundane and daily into humorous stories that we can all relate to and laugh at. This personal touch from the hysterical Leary is the only reason the book can carry itself - anyone else telling Leary's stories, or providing the same insight, without his comical skills would fail horribly. Honestly, not every chapter is funny or insightful; however, there are enough giggles and LOLs to make you want to read on. Overall, much of what you read will make you smile. At least I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is hands down the funniest book I have ever read. I made the mistake of reading it after I finished an exam in school, and everyone else was quiet and still taking theirs and I CRACKED UP SO LOUD that i had to leave the room. Yeah, it's that funny. I laughed out loud with each page. And in some parts, i laughed so hard i couldn't breathe. BUY THIS BOOK.
MSquared More than 1 year ago
Long, long overdue. I'm a huge Denis Leary fan, have both No Cure for Cancer (Showtime) and Lock and Load (HBO) on video, and I have the CD's for both. This book is long overdue. Why We Suck is a thorough examination of why we suck (as American's, as Christians, as human beings on this planet). Our celebrity obsessed culture. Our media whoring. I can't say enough how refreshing it is to read this book. It will offend you...Dr. Denis guarantees it will offend you...which is the perfect reason to read the book.
JH7471 More than 1 year ago
The book is an outstanding read. For those of you with negative replies about this book.. quit taking yourself so seriously!

Denis Leary is a Comedian and his writing is such, the book is very funny, and interesting to boot. He looks at the side of people, and those people that take themselves way too seriously.

Recommended Read!