×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Wicked Gentleman
     

A Wicked Gentleman

3.6 14
by Jane Feather
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bestselling author Jane Feather brings to life the glamour, sophistication, and intrigue of Regency-era London in this captivating novel of unexpected passions and dangerous secrets.

Pooling their meager resources, Lady Cornelia Dagenham, her sister-in-law Aurelia, and their friend Liv Lacey arrive in London's Cavendish Square to spend a month at the home

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wicked Gentleman 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
srbSH More than 1 year ago
Opportunity comes with Livia's inheritance of a rundown mansion in Cavendish Square, London. Livia also inherits an offbeat staff and remnants of the late, even more offbeat, Aunt Sophia. The plot turns on a coded thimble that a thief has hidden in the house, which widower Viscount Harry Bonham (secretly working for the Crown) needs to find and destroy. Instead he finds Cornelia, and that changes everything! A pleasant read; no more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. She didn't bog me down with to much details on history and more dialogue about the characters. I would have liked to seen stronger personalities for the secondary characters especially the men but look forward to reading more about Cavendish Square. This is my first Jane Feather book and I will look to read others and compare.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Jane Feather fan and had been waiting in anticipation for this book, but was not too impressed. Whereas past books have been able to keep me up past my bedtime and saddened when I got to the end, this one had me snoozing by chapter 2. I did finish the book, but it just lacked the zest of past J.F. books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The characters are very well drawn and developed, and I found myself rooting for all of them. I liked the integrity they possessed. It was romantic and just a very enjoyable read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fun read - This is my favorite genre, but this was much better than most. The friendship between the three women was so authentic, I was captivated. Hence I can't wait for the next two books! I also enjoyed the more 'mature' romance scenes, not graphic of course but no blushing virgin either!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked the new characters. There was none of the 'going out of my mind with sexual tension' before the characters actually commit the act, which I found very refreshing. I liked how the cousin was introduced at the beginning as a secondary character who seemingly becomes more involved with each chapter.
harstan More than 1 year ago
To escape from the demands of her late husband¿s father, widow Cornelia ¿Nell¿ Dagenheim, accompanied by her children, heads to London to spend a month with her widowed sister-in-law Ellie and her children and their best friend Livia. The house the three country mice and their offspring plan to stay in belongs to Livia, who recently inherited the home.------------ To their shock, the house is in bad shape as if someone deliberately tore it apart in search of something. Just after her arrival she meets Harry Bonham who offers to buy the townhouse. Harry is a royal cryptographer, who fears that somewhere in the house is a code breaking device that the French want. As he courts the widow to gain access to where she is staying, someone abducts her oldest son, heir to an earldom. Whereas she assumes ransom money and he considers the French involvement, either way they work together to rescue her child even as they fall in love while doing so.-------------- The lead couple supplemented by a horde of family and friends turn A WICKED GENTLEMAN into a superb Regency romantic investigative tale. The two prime subplots, the mystery and the romance blend together into a cohesive save the child thriller. Fans of the author already know she is no featherweight but instead a sub-genre superheavyweight as this team up of a frantic amateur sleuth mom and the spy she loves proves.------------ Harriet Klausner