×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Wicked Snow
     

A Wicked Snow

3.6 348
by Gregg Olsen
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Wickedly clever! Genuinely twisted." —Lisa Gardner

"Olsen will scare you—and you'll love it."—Lee Child

Hannah Griffin was a girl when tragedy struck. She still remembers the flames reflected against the newly fallen snow and the bodies the police dug up—one of them her mother's. The killer was never found. . ..

Twenty years later Hannah is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wicked Snow 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 348 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When Hannah was a young girl, she watched the inferno destroy her family barn with the pure virgin snow making quite an eerie panoramic backdrop to the yellow orange. When the blaze was finally put out and the area cooled enough to investigate, the police find numerous corpses including that of Hannah¿s mother whose pink halo in the snow will be inside Hannah forever The arsonist-murderer was never caught and eventually the case went as cold as the wintry night that it occurred on. --- Her mother¿s homicide was the impetus that led to Hannah becoming a crime scene investigator though she has never worked on trying to uncover who the killer is. Now two decades later in Southern California, Hannah is married to Ethan Griffin and raising their daughter Amber together as she hides what happened that fatal day from even her loved ones. Her current assignment involves a child abuse case when a message from the grave reaches out to her forcing Hannah to begin an investigation before history repeats itself with her and perhaps even Amber being the target. --- The vivid use of contrasting colors provides a powerful background to a deep psychological suspense investigative thriller. The story line is action-packed as the audience wonders whether the heroine has gone over the edge after receiving the dramatic note of ¿Your mom called¿ when she had buried that day deep inside her mind. Gregg Olsen writes a terrific tense thriller that grips the audience once Hannah realizes she must become the predator before the culprit targets her loved ones to get at her. --- Harriet Klausner Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had real trouble putting this book down. I am usually a pretty slow reader, but I got through this novel in just a couple of days. The twists and turns really kept me guessing, and despite my best attempts at figuring things out, I was still utterly surprised at numerous points in the book. I felt the main character was more intriguing than a lot of protagonists I've found in other novels from this genre. Compared to most other thrillers I've read the conclusion was especially fulfilling. I've been a long-time reader of thrillers, along with being a fan of Olsen's true crime books, and was a little hesitant about his jump to thrillers. I couldn't have been happier with the result. I'll be sure to check out Olsen's next novel!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. I think Gregg should concentrate more on his fiction now, than the true crime market, as there are a glut of true crime writers now. Ann Rule raves about him - and so do I! Read all of his books, especially the historic 'Starvation Heights' Keep writing faster, Gregg!
cape-cod-guy More than 1 year ago
never read olson before but i will now. great story line and great characters. very good choice
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me going back to get to the ending, very good suspense.
Cathy Reynolds More than 1 year ago
The story kind of jumped from present to past and back again but still was an excellent read.
janis geiger More than 1 year ago
Read three of his books and hooked. Interesting book and kept me up night after night
Guest More than 1 year ago
You can't help but feel the pain and fear the the main character goes through. It grabs you and you just want to read chapter after chapter. I haven't read any of his true crime so I can't compare it to his fiction, but I liked the story. It was a little slow in the beginning but picked up after the first couple chapters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It kept me guessing to the end. The plot was tricky and the characters were believable. I hope Mr. Olson writes a sequel to A Wicked Snow.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. A wicked snow had me from the beginning. I finished it in 3 days. Superb reading. I didnt want to put it down. I will definalty be reading more of Mr. Olsens books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Twists stumbled but added leverage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was disjointed in a few sections. Not the greatest of endings. Left me wanted more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otterly More than 1 year ago
This book was okay--about Hannah Griffin, a CSI. I was dismayed to encounter the phrase--"closer proximity" three times--doesn't the author, or her proofreader realize that proximity means nearness, so that closer proximity is redundant. I did not get enthused enough to recommend this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Enjoyed this book it was very creepy makes you sit on the edge of your seat to see what happens next. Its different from some books I have read. I will look for this author again to check out more of his books.
LBSC More than 1 year ago
This was my first read of Gregg Olsen and I really enjoyed the book. He kept the story going and me guessing until the end. I have since read another one of his novels and will continue to read him.
Booker13 More than 1 year ago
I was EXTREMELY disappointed in this book. It starts out okay, becomes disjointed then starts to be on a good roll. You start to get involed in the  characters and I was starting to be impressed.  The buildup was getting so good.  THE END IS THE BIGGEST LET DOWN OF NOTHINGNESS  I HAVE EXPERIENCED in a book in a LONG LONG TIME.  I do not like books without end or characters just left.  There was nothing PSYCOLOGICAL as on reviewer wrote...plain cut and dried and let down for an ending.  I will not buy more from this author because I don't want to again be lead to something that becomes a mess of nothing.   It had the premise to be good and very suspensful, but Mr. Olsen, your ending was WAY PAST LAME, UNSATISFYING andas an avid reader, left me feeling EMPTY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another exciting read by mr olson
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never had the pleasure of reading this author before. Found him at a time when I was waiting for all my regular authors to publish. This was a page turner, hard to put down. Suspensful, well written, easy to follow. I will be going back and reading more of his books! Highly recommend to anyone that reads authors like Harlan Coben.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago