×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Widow of Gettysburg
     

Widow of Gettysburg

4.6 45
by Jocelyn Green
 

See All Formats & Editions

For all who have suffered great loss of heart, home, health or family; true home and genuine lasting love can be found.

When a horrific battle rips through Gettysburg, the farm of Union widow Liberty Holloway is disfigured into a Confederate field hospital, bringing her face to face with unspeakable suffering—and a Confederate scout who awakens her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Widow of Gettysburg 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow...just wow! Even though this novel takes place during the Civil War, I could closely relate it to the horrors our many Wounded Warriors are enduring on today's foreign battlefields of the War on Terror. And, sadly, to civilians in places like Boston. The story's main focus of the unrelenting sacrifices of ordinary citizens at Gettysburg is beyond comprehension...would any of us have that strength of body, mind, and spirit? Eventual peace is always found in the Word of God; and this is a great reminder of how we are called to treat everyone with kindness; for we know not the previous journey of their hearts. This beautiful book will stay with you long after you finish--the hallmark of a talented author, and a story steeped in history so real that it fairly permeates your soul.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jocelyn Green is fairly new to writing historical faith based fiction, but not to the writing world.  She does a wonderful job of weaving a great story throughout several characters, places and bringing them all together in the end.  I also appreciated her ability to not sugar coat the harsh realities of this difficult time in our nation's history, without it being so verbally graphic either.  She did a great job in bridging those two narratives together to make a believable and realistic story.  It was a pleasure to read!!! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the midst of war comes peace in different ways. Peace of heart, peace of soul and peace of mind. Liberty, the "Widow of Gettysburg" has had to deal with loss most of her life. She believes what her spiteful aunt who was saddled with her at an early age: that she was useless and worthless. Her husband died early on in the war and she has kept his legacy intact with hopes that she can recoup her livelihood by opening an inn. Then the war literally stomps out that dream as her once spacously maintained home is confiscated to make a Confederate Hospital, and she is forced to nurse wounded. Through it all, she finds out she is not worthless in the eyes of God and those whom she cares for, who in turn help her see that she is more than her widow's weeds represent. A bit preachy to rate a five, this second outing if the stories of those left behind to fight on the homefrint is extremly well researched.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! You become completely submersed in the characters lives. I loved the historical accuracy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book! Jocelyn Green writes it in a way that helped me to see the story in my mind as it was unfolding. There were several parts of the book that I had to go back and reread because I couldn’t believe what I was actually reading! A lot of research went into this book and many of the plot ideas came from letters written by women affected by the Battle of Gettysburg. There are lots of suspense and plot twists in this book, with one that totally took me by surprise. My favorite character is Bella. She overcomes overwhelming odds with strength and grace. I would definitely recommend this book to book clubs, those who like christian fiction, and those who like to read about the Civil War. The discussion guide at the end was a very nice added touch.
CassWesselCW More than 1 year ago
Jocelyn Green, the author of the book, “Widow of Gettysburg,” drapes the dark garlands of war, and its aftermath, over a patchwork quilt of courage, faith, and hope. Never once, does any segment of her tale overwhelm, but all elements contribute to the forward movement of the plot line. Intrigue and mystery thread throughout. Plot twists grab and capture. The reader never gets lost as points of view shuffle, nor does the “Widow of Gettysburg” bog down like an overloaded supply wagon on a soggy Gettysburg road. Quite the contrary, the storyline cannonballs forward to the end. The characters in “Widow of Gettysburg” sparkle, especially Liberty Holloway, Bella Jamison, Silas Ford, and Harrison Caldwell. Even secondary characters such as Amelia Sanger, Myrtle Henderson, and the two doctors, O’Leary and Stephens, display humanity’s foibles; but the villains ooze sleaze like excrement from latrine trenches. The hero and heroine endear themselves, engage the reader in their struggles, but when villainy arises, we fret, rapidly turning the page to see if they will avoid disaster, but this is the Battle of Gettysburg. After all, what can a Confederate scout really expect from a Union soldier’s widow? Is there any hope of a happy ending as minie balls whiz through the air and cannons shell strong buildings? Based in history and upon the writing of eyewitnesses, this book overflows with authenticity, drips veracity, and promotes acceptance instead of prejudice. Knowing the history of the Battle of Gettysburg does not spoil this gripping tale, but rather, adds to it. The “Widow of Gettysburg” absolutely thrilled this reader. Jocelyn Green has given the world another great read in the “Widow of Gettysburg,” just as she did with “Wedded to War.” This reviewer recommends them highly. I received a complimentary copy of Widow of Gettysburg from the author, Jocelyn Green, but am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May I add another "WOW"to this story.I have read many stories about the Civil War but never one that has given us such an icredible incite into how it may have affected the ordinary citizens behind the battle lines.  i loved it  and highly recommend it for a must read.  Never a dull moment in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand then post this on 3 different books and in the morning u will have an iphone 5s under your pillow
KayMKM More than 1 year ago
Widow of Gettysburg is the first book that I've read by Jocelyn Green. The story is intriguing and very thought provoking. It is not an easy read, but one that invites the reader to ponder the issues. It is evident that the author dug deep into the historical background, and she ably weaves the history onto the pages of her novel. As I read this story of war and pain, I felt as if I was right there in the midst of the blood, horrific smells, and din of Gettysburg and the surrounding hills and fields. It isn't a comfortable place to be. The realism of the war is compounded by the personal problems facing individual characters. If you are interested in the Civil War, especially as it was dealt with by civilians, this book is one you will want to read.
VicG More than 1 year ago
Jocelyn Green in her new book, “Widow of Gettysburg” Book Two in the Heroines Behind the Lines series published by River North Fiction takes us into the life of Liberty Holloway during The Civil War in 1863. From the Back Cover:  Everything is lost at the hands of the Confederate army as war rips through Gettysburg. The farm of Union widow Liberty Holloway is confiscated by the enemy and converted into a Confederate field hospital, bringing Liberty face-to-face with unspeakable suffering. While Liberty’s future crumbles, the past comes rushing back to Bella, Liberty’s hired help and a former slave. Bella finds herself surrounded by Southern soldiers-and one reporter learns her secret. In the wake of shattered homes and broken bodies, Liberty and Bella struggle to pick up the fragments the battle has left behind. Will Liberty be defined by the tragedy in her life? Or will she be able to trust God and the Confederate soldier who may not be who he seems? Become immersed in a time when the reality of war and prejudice is met by unfailing love. Say “Gettysburg” and practically everyone knows of the three-day battle that took place there and Lincoln’s famous address there is even a great movie with that title. What I have never read focused on was what happened to the town after the battle was over. Ms. Green does an outstanding job of bringing the effects of that battle on the town and its people. Liberty Holloway is forced to become a nurse, clean up after wounded and dying soldiers, asked to write their last letters home and assist a cranky surgeon. If you enjoy history like I do then this book is for you.  Ms. Green skillfully brings to life soldiers, former slaves, doctors, and the countless women who survived and endured those times.  On top of everything there is even a romance worked into the story.  Ms. Green makes every one of her characters seem to come alive and it is like actually being back there in 1863 with them.  I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next one. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from River North Fiction for this review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully-bittersweet and honest, this book immediately transports readers behind the scenes of one of the most pivotal battles of the Civil War. There was a small part of me at first that was nervous to “travel” there. I knew it would be quite a journey through the pages and it was. In fact, it turned out to be – and give – so much more than I expected. I began reading and could hardly stop. Inspired by first-person accounts and accompanied by a genuine cast of authentic characters, the story follows nineteen-year-old Liberty Holloway, recently widowed, who is struggling to find herself and provide a living in the tumultuous year of 1863 in a tumultuous town called Gettysburg. Fighting prejudices and reputations, Libbie must face the enemy on her doorstep, the mysteries of her past, and a surprising affection for a man with his own secrets. The book covers many various aspects of the time period, everything from emergency amputations to slavery with great tact and respect. Trust me when I say it will hold you in its grip from the first page to the end. I actually burnt the pancakes I was cooking for my hubby one morning because I was standing in the kitchen with my nose buried in the book. ;) Thankfully my sweetie is very patient with my cooking and my distracted reading habits. In that moment, I was far away on the outskirts of Gettysburg, standing in Libbie’s front yard with her as she nursed the wounded Confederates. I can’t help but love riveting stories about life’s crossroads. The kindred ties between historical fact and fiction are skillfully combined and hard to distinguish between. The seeds of romance are planted in all the right places and on purpose, without over-threatening and stealing too much away from the rest of the plot. Readers will undoubtedly be intrigued and surprised along the way. If you haven’t read anything by Jocelyn Green yet, I know you’ll be an avid fan after reading this story. ;) This book made such a difference to my visit to Gettysburg last year. It was my first time there in person and yet the grounds already felt so familiar to me in a way. That’s the beautiful thing about finding favorite historical novels. They may carry you away to another place and time for a little while, but you’ll carry them with you way beyond that in your heart. Widow of Gettysburg was one of those books for me. I won’t forget it and I hope you’ll read and remember it fondly as well. This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publisher for my copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its_Time_Mamaw More than 1 year ago
Liberty Holloway is a young Union widow she was fortunate to inherit a farm in Gettysburg from her aunt. Liberty was raised by her aunt but was shown no love . She was a burden to her aunt, at least that is what her aunt told her so many times. Now Liberty is in charge of her own life and her own farm. Her husband was one of the first casualties of the war between the north and the south making her a widow at the age of seventeen. The war is rumored to be making it closer and closer to Gettysburg. Surely they would not bring the battle so close to a town of women and children. People cried wolf so many times that when the battle arrived at their doorsteps they were not prepared. The home Liberty hoped to turn into an Inn was now a makeshift hospital for wounded and dying rebel soldiers. Liberty was forced to help the doctors with the wounded. One rebel soldier that had stopped for food at the farm returns again after the rebel hospital took over the farm . Why was she so drawn to this man, as far as she knew he was the cause of her being a widow, when in truth all he wanted to do was protect her. The author writes using facts and fiction to tell the story of the Widow of Gettysburg. She writes it in the minds eye of the widows. things they never thought they would see, wound soldiers, amputations and horrific unsanitary conditions. So much loss of life and limbs. Most of the people had faith in God and lived His Word to show love toward their enemy in such a devastating war. It is amazing that some even found love, romance and hope for the future. Book two was not a disappointment and I look forward to the next book in this series. I highly recommend this book. Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Moody Publishers Newsroom for review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
J_Augustine More than 1 year ago
Another soul-stirring and heart-rending story from Jocelyn Green. I absolutely cannot believe how much Jocelyn Green packed into 360+ pages. Not only the detailed history, but the raw emotion, and valuable lessons that left me convicted. Once again the author takes us on a journey through history that is so detailed and rich that the reader feels like they are there. You can smell the smoke, feel the fear and horror, see the lines of the injured, and taste the sweat and hunger. All of the senses are engaged and the reader finds themselves to immersed in the story that when they you to put it down for awhile you find yourself thinking about the characters. Honestly, I was so emotionally wrung out after reading that I didn't pick up another book for awhile. Instead, I thought on the book and wondered what I would have done in the character's places. That was part of the story that convicted me the most, could I have done what they did? Could I help with amputations like Libbie? I rather realized what a modern wimp, and even coward, that I really am. But a recurring theme that several of the characters repeated gave me a little hope for myself, it is a quote from a diary entry made July 7th, 1863 by Sarah Broadhead, a housewife and volunteer nurse in Gettysburg. “...We do not know until tried what we are capable of.” Another convicting theme is; will we be defined by tragedy and be victims of circumstance or will we rise above, and as the characters say “Go forth”? The vast amount of research done and a love of history are evident on every page. Jocelyn Green is a master of historical fiction. It was hard to believe that Wedded To War was her debut novel and that Widow Of Gettysburg is only her second. The reader feels as if they are a part of life during the Civil War and not just reading a bunch of dry and boring dates in a history class. Pieces of history that the average modern person might not think about. For instance, I had never thought of the fear a former slave would feel when the Confederates entered Pennsylvania, a Free state, and yet Bella hides for hours in a barrel in the cellar. Readers will get a taste of the true horrors of war and yet the author manages to tell it without leaving readers in complete shock. Truly told but thoughtfully and sensitively written. Widow Of Gettysburg is both entertaining and inspiring. A must read for any fan of historical fiction or the Civil War. This reader is anxiously awaiting the next book in the Heroines Behind The Lines: Civil War, Yankee In Atlanta. Note: Due to some of the historical facts I wouldn't recommend this book for anyone under 16. Life wasn't easy for slaves nor is war a cakewalk. (I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers (River North) in exchange for my honest opinion.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CathyRN More than 1 year ago
Jocelyn Green's Widow of Gettysburg is another wonderful novel. This story is about the town of Gettysburg and the battle fought there during Civil War. While the battle of Gettysburg is well-known, Ms. Green writes about the everyday people of the town and how their lives are affected by the battle, as well as the Civil War. She describes the people, place and action so well you almost feel like you are there. I look forward to the next book in this series. Just hate having to wait almost another year!! I highly recommend this book to all.
FictionFanatic1 More than 1 year ago
The Widow of Gettysburg is a riveting, real-life portrayal of how the Civil War impacted the lives of several women. Liberty’s life takes a drastic turn when her home is confiscated for a Confederate hospital. Bella, Liberty’s employee and a former slave, finds it nearly impossible to be around the men she loathes. And Amelia, whose lost her son and husband, searches for a reason to go on. Jocelyn Green has expertly penned a stunning portrayal of survival amidst tragedy, personal triumphs in the face of a vicious war, and faith in God when all seems hopeless. Complex characters act out the story of civilians who face their limitations and must rise above them to survive and make a difference. The Widow of Gettysburg is a book you’ll not soon forget.
CherK1 More than 1 year ago
An intriguing look at the Battle of Gettysburg through the eyes of several women, I was able to read this book during the days of the battle, 150 years later. The only thing that would have made it better would have been there on the battlegrounds for the celebration. Jocelyn Green interweaves the fictional character’s lives throughout the actual facts from women who were there and facts from research of books on the War, and I think she does it with great finesse. Liberty, Libby as some people call her, has already lost her young husband to the war, and is in the process of turning their home into a Bed and Breakfast. One morning a young man rode up to her door and calling himself Johnny, this man had met Liberty when she was a young girl living with a woman she thought was her Aunt. After riding away that day, Liberty’s life became a life of horror and yet a time of learning and growing, and all the while a life of secrecy. Silas Ford is the son of a slave owner but does not agree with his Father’s life. Silas starts to attend a Seminary but is run off after a letter is received there claiming that Silas is something he’s not. His life is intertwined with Liberty’s, but will it, can it, stay that way? Bella Jamison is a freed slave living in Gettysburg. She has secrets in her life, secrets she will go to any lengths to keep. Bella’s husband is fighting for the South, in the South, but no money is coming her way. Why not? I am not an avid history or war fan but enjoyed reading this book, mostly because of the actual accounts from women who lived through that time. The horrors some of these women had to go through are almost unimaginable. I’ve read enough though to know the atrocities of war are a reality. There were lots of places the accounts made me cry, some made me laugh but I never lost interest clear through. I would recommend this book to all that love history, war tales and romance.
ggmm More than 1 year ago
A great piece of history about the Civil War.
MelissaF More than 1 year ago
I have always been intrigued by the Civil War era, hence my love of Gone with the Wind. So when I saw this book I knew I had to read it. Jocelyn (the author) does a wonderful job of building up to the war in Gettysburg and then when it unleashes it does so with full force and you can feel that in this book. Liberty (great name by the way) is thrown into nursing the men that killed her husband, with her mother-in-law living under the same roof, judging her for what she is doing. And that is the last thing Liberty needs. She has been judged and verbally beat down all her life. She has never know what real love looks likes and hasn’t hard many uplifting or encouraging words. Because of what she endeared as a child she struggles with making the right choice in different areas of her life. She is afraid of messing things up because that is what she always does. Hm, I can so relate to this character, how about you? There are some parts that aren’t for the faint of heart, with descriptions of limbs being sawed off and thrown out the window. But if you can stomach that and enjoy a historical with some romance thrown in, then this could be the book for you. A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I consider myself to be very persnickety regarding the historical fiction that I choose to read. I have been an avid reader of this genre for 25 plus years. I discovered the "Widow of Gettysburg" while looking for free books on my Kindle. I am so glad publishers offer this perk. I have discovered many great authors this way. Jocelyn Green is one of them. As I began reading the very first pages, I was taken through time to the town of Gettysburg circa 1863. The historical detail was so compelling that I actually could smell the stench of human carnage because of the result of the battle of Gettysburg. Jocelyn does a terrific job in drawing her readers into the story of Liberty Holloway. A five star option is not a high enough rating for this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fredlette More than 1 year ago
Gettysburg women come to life Historical accuracy, engaging characters that make me want to cheer for them, villains that make me want to yell, “Boo!” when they come across the page and great stories – these are the things that set my reader’s heart on fire in historical fiction. All of these qualities are present and beautifully woven together in Jocelyn Green’s “The Widow of Gettysburg.”  Reading this book gave me new insight into the life of women during the Civil War. Their lives of raw courage in the face of circumstances they never asked for encourage me to attack the challenges that I encounter in daily life. For a read that thrills, encourages and inspires – buy “The Widow of Gettysburg.”