×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Wife for Mr. Darcy
     

A Wife for Mr. Darcy

4.1 17
by Mary Simonsen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Praise for The Perfect Bride for Mr. Darcy: "Another superior Jane Austen homage...will entertain those who already know their Austen and Georgette Heyer by heart, as well as fans of old-fashioned romance." -Publishers Weekly

A GENTLEMAN should always render an APOLOGY When Mr. Darcy realizes he insulted Miss Elizabeth Bennet at the Meryton Assembly, he feels

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wife for Mr. Darcy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
RunningShoeGirl More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I love Lizzie's wittiness, I love the fact that Darcy has to get himself out of a pickle. I love the fact that the pickle wants to be let out. I love Lord Fitzwilliam too, he should get his own book. LOL Great story!
LiederMadchen More than 1 year ago
I will never get tired of Mr. Darcy what-ifs. No matter how many I read, I am always delighted to get my hands on another one. A Wife for Mr. Darcy is an an original and lovely retelling where Darcy and Elizabeth fall in love very quickly, but Darcy's sense of honor keeps them apart. Because Darcy and Elizabeth do not have all of the misunderstandings of the original Pride and Prejudice, they are more united than ever before. It was very interesting to read a story where they were not fighting against each other, but rather against circumstances. I loved this portrayal of Darcy. He loves Elizabeth but is practically engaged to Miss Montford, a pleasant but bland young woman. He will not hurt her by abandoning her, so how is he to get out of this predicament? This a lovely romance. Sweet and simple, it focuses on Darcy's determination to be with the woman he loves, no matter how impossible it seems. I read it through in one sitting and I am pretty sure I was grinning the whole time. The waltz...sigh, I loved that scene. Any scene that has Darcy dancing is sure to make me smile, but that one in particular was beautiful. And the love letters, a little steamy at times, were so sweet. The minor characters were fun and varying. I especially liked the Gardiners. They were just so cute and obviously in love even after many years of marriage. That is what a real marriage should look like and precisely how I imagine Darcy and Elizabeth behaving in their middle years. The Crenshaw children and the Fitzwilliam brothers were also highly entertaining, and I found myself liking Miss Letitia Montford more than I expected to. I would highly recommend this book to lovers of romance, Jane Austen and good characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very original and such a beautiful story. I have never read a book where Mr. Darcy "talks" so much. Enjoyed every single page and will recommend it to any " pride and prejudice " fan!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Pride and Prejudice 'what if' stories, but found this one rather dull and the writing is atrocious.
Marcie77 More than 1 year ago
A Wife for Mr. Darcy by Mary Lydon Simonsen picks up the day after Mr. Darcy insults Elizabeth Bennett at the Meryton Ball. Mr. Darcy goes to the Bennett house to apologize to Elizabeth for his rude behavior. Elizabeth catches him off guard by being very charming and playful. However Mr. Darcy has started to court another young lady. He is bound by duty and honor to do the right thing but he can't seem to get Elizabeth out of his head. This is an interesting take on Pride and Prejudice. Mr. Darcy is not the same proud man he is in the original book. Elizabeth is quick to set him at ease with her sparkling personality. Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth are very attracted to one another but they must follow the rules of society and decorum, even if it means unhappiness for both parties. Georgiana is a huge part of this story also. She plays a bit of a matchmaker for her brother. I really like her part of the story. I'm so glad that Mary Lydon Simonsen chose to give her a bigger part in this book. Georgiana has a good partner in crime with Col. Fitzwilliam. Overall I thought this book was good. I liked the direction the storyline took us. I thought it was a good alternative to the original story. I love the conspirators used to bring Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy together. This wasn't the best sequel I read but it was enjoyable non the less.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have just started into the P&P variations and have read 2 I enjoyed very much. This one was not to my liking. The original premise of an apology to Elizabeth was wonderful and believable. However, the train went off the tracks for me after that. Every moment that should have been dwelled on - interactions between Elizabeth and Darcy - were summed up in a sentence. I found myself wanting to re-write and expand their contact. The book meandered hereand there with politics which I found distracting, not complimentary. I enjoyed the idea of Darcy courting Miss Montford and thought his struggle about propriety was done well. I also loved Antony's character but felt he too overshadowed Col. Fitzwilliam. Overall I was disappointed with the style of writing and certain plot points. 3 stars for effort and kudos for getting a book published (as a Nook book, at least).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This had me hooked from the beginning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago