×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wild Cat (Shifters Unbound Series #3)
     

Wild Cat (Shifters Unbound Series #3)

4.3 150
by Jennifer Ashley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Heartbroken from the death of her mate three years ago, Shifter Cassidy Warden is tracking down his mysterious killer-one who could bring danger to all Shifters. But Detective Diego Escobar rekindles the flames of her mating desire. And once the fires begin, nothing and no one can put them out...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wild Cat 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 149 reviews.
Lizzy_Funk More than 1 year ago
Wild Cat is the 5th book in the Shifter UnBound Series by Jennifer Ashley, but it is listed as the 3rd in the series because one book is a prequel to the series (Shifter Made) and another is a shorter book (¿Bodyguard¿ the 4th book in the series). The base premise of the story line throughout the series is: there are humans, Fae and Shifters. The Shifters were created by the Fae to be little more then slaves, laborers, warriors, etc. In the series timeline two decades ago Shifters came out to the humans. Shifter numbers were dwindling and they did it to hopefully create a safer enviroment for themselves to survive and thrive. But like all good intentions, their motives were pure but the fear and loathing that the humans had was overwhelming. In come the the Fae who offer to corral and collar the Shifters to ¿keep everyone safe from their wildness¿. The humans agree and also create Shiftertowns to move all of the Shifters there to keep track of and control them. The collars are specially magically engineered to keep the shifters from taking their animal forms and if they do it causes them enormous pain and suffering. Other volatile emotions will cause the collars to react and go off. In these towns the Shfiters are not allowed any ¿advanced technologies¿ (computers, cell phones, DVD players, etc) nor are they allowed to have well paying jobs. Wild Cat is the story of a female Shifter, Cassidy Warden, and a human police detective, Diego Escobar. The story starts out on the 51 floors up in a building and doesn¿t come down until the end. Cassidy¿s mate was killed a year ago and she does not believe that she will ever find another male to be with until Diego walks into her world. From the moment they see each other something is there between them, something that neither of them at first can figure out or understand. They each in part accept who they are and what they mean to each other as the story unfolds with not one but several substories and plots running throughout the pages. Ashley¿s story weaving holds the reader¿s attention during the main escapades of Cassidy and Diego but also sets the scene for others characters in the book to find their stories as well. The dialogue is believable and real. The action sequences are fast paced and honest. The sex scenes are hotter then Hades. And one of my favorite aspects of this book is the story it tells can stand alone. To often in a series a reader cannot pick up a book further into the series and understand what is going on and who the players are. Authors will set up the story to force readers to backtrack to the beginning to understand what is occurring but not this book. Ashley writes this book (and the others in the series) so that if a reader is just joining her, whether it is book 2 or book 4, they will understand what is going on because she gives sufficient background and explanations in the book to make everything make sense. I easily give this book two enthusiastic thumbs up and recommend heartily.
syfynut More than 1 year ago
When I first started reading this book, I was a little confused becaused I didn't recognize any of the characters from the previous Shifters Unbound Series books. These are a different clan of shifters out of Las Vegas and although there is a small scene where Dylan Morrisey makes an apperance these are all new characters to the series. After the initial disappointment I did start to enjoy the characters somewhat. I think the author should have given more past background on everyone instead of just the quick basic rundown she did. I think it would have allowed the reader to establish more of a connection with the characters. Still, I recommend this as a good book to read especially of you are a fan of the Shifters Unbound Series.
ZeusXavier More than 1 year ago
After reading this I've really become addictive to the stories and have the entire series. The storytelling is addictive and paced to keep your attention. I do recommend you read the series 1st to last though otherwise its a little confusing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book just as much as the rest of the series. Highly recommend!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love everything jennifer writes.cant wait for the next book about eric.if you like shifters and a good chuckle then this series is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't put down this series! Love all the books can't wait for the new one to come out. Lots of action and romance! Some sexual humor that is really good too!
crazyinlove More than 1 year ago
I agree with Lizzie-funk in her review, but I am wondering why she only gave it a single star when she writes so enthusiastically about her great review? Great book as a stand alone, but definitely better in the series. Can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Foud a new series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Lots of action with a fast moving plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series just keeps getting better and better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE THIS SHIFTER SERIIES. CANT WAIT FOR MORE!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These two just needed to sit down. Everytime you turn around one of them is in trouble...lol still an awesome story now I just have to wait for the next two.....come on Jennifer Ashley I need my crazy shifter fix lol
CraftyDee More than 1 year ago
Love the book can't wait to read the next one...I have to wait until sept. oh well love it any ways....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book os the best book ever love romance adventure everything!!!!!!!!!if u read this ur going o go crazy with how cool ths book is.i love this aother and all the books she made!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the series! Great book however I cringed every time Diego called Cassidy "mi ja" in Spanish that means daughter and is only use as endearment by parents or by adults to a young female
loveditMB More than 1 year ago
form the first page to the last, an "can't put it down " book, fun and sexy , quite and intense, just a lot of fun to read, Looking forward to more. MJB508
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Each one is better than the last. What is really aggravating is that I like to read the reviews first and SO MANY are just people trying to contact others by leaving code words or whatever. Not just this author either. I wish there was a way to delete them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
edcsdc More than 1 year ago
Love lost and reclaimed is this in a nutshell. Cassidy and Diego are both so strong and giving. Each has endured incredible loss and guilt, both seek retribution and redemption. I liked Diego's relentless pursuit of Cassidy. He's every bit an alpha as the shifter town leaders. Cassidy is a leader but she's willing to relinquish control to Diego. I enjoyed all the twists and turns in this book both with the plot and the characters. Highly recommended series and author Adult read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do really enjoy reading the shifter series, this book was so thrilling sexy and magical more new characters adding to the story, and it was a pager turner I couldn't put it down. I liked the that the dark Fae was introduce In this story and that a human male fell in love with the Wildcat(female). There was so much action in this story. A great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SelenityJade More than 1 year ago
While I had a ton of characters I was dying to see paired up and was seriously ticked to move away from them to read about unknown characters falling in love, well… I loved it! Seriously, Diego was an alpha protagonist despite not being a Shifter and Cassidy was such an amazing woman that it made everything fit together perfectly. I still missed the Austin Shifters, but I was happy to read this romance. I simply adore alpha men in my romances. 4 stars!
Jolene1234 More than 1 year ago
I was a bit let down when I started reading Wild Cat because I was hoping that the author would somehow weave the characters from book 1 and 2 into this book, Wild Cat….but that wasn’t the case. Instead we are introduced to a whole new shifter clan that reside on the outskirts of Las Vegas, personally Detective Diego was getting on my last nerve and don’t get me started on Cassidy.  I just couldn’t get into this book (and lost interest quickly) partly because there were so many unanswered questions from the first two books of this series; it’s like having someone rip one of your favorite books out of your hand and never knowing how it ends.  For example: Liam and Kim were expecting their first child; did she have a girl or a boy? Does Liam mature into a great clan leader? Does he make the decision to allow the shifters to go without their collar? Sean and Andrea finally completed the mating ritual, did she end up getting pregnant if so was the baby shift into a Lupine or Feline….did she/he inherit the abilities of the Fae?  Then you have a great storyline regarding Andrea finding her real father Fionn the leader of the Fae, we are also introduced to gate to Faire and all the big ass Fae warriors behind it.  What about Conner did he find a mate??