×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wild Child
     

Wild Child

3.9 57
by Mike Wells
 

Readers of Veronica Roth, Susanne Collins, George Orwell, and Stephen King will enjoy this dystopian thriller. Briana Fox is the wildest girl in school. She and Kyle have been close for a long time...almost lovers. But Kyle is afraid that if he pushes her, he'll have his heart broken and lose his best friend. When Briana challenges him to a swim across the lake,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wild Child 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The begining was a little shaky but right after that the plot really picked up. It was very suspenseful and it keep me on the edge of my seat! I would recomend it to someone who likes adventure and a little romance because the end was really romantic!
DaxMTucker More than 1 year ago
Mike Wells has the uncanny ability to pull you into a story and get you emotionally invested into his characters in such a relatively short period of time. What he does in just a few pages takes many authors hundreds. Most people will read Wild Child in one sitting and will be instant fans of his style yearning for more. Wild Child 2 is now available, and there is news that a whole series is forthcoming due to its popular demand. His books are already earning recognition around the world and rightfully so.
buoyread More than 1 year ago
Wild Briana Fox and level-headed Kyle Dunlap were close friends who love to hang around in Kyle's boat, until one day, an accident occurred that led Briana to discover a mysterious 'power drug' in a cave. With government agents trailing on their heels, Kyle must decide how far he would go to protect his friend. And that, dear readers, is Wild Child by Mike Wells. This story was very fast-paced and urgent, you would never put the book down once you started it, which is quite easy since this novel does not have that many pages - 73 in fact, from the PDF copy I was given for review. Besides, if this book was any longer, you would not really notice because it demanded your attention so much you just forget about the time. Briana had such a strong presence in the book, although the story was mostly focused on Kyle and his race to protect his friend. In my opinion, Briana is the strongest character in this book. She may not have reflective moments in the book that Kyle had, but what was unsaid about her character was what elevated her and made her a lingering figure. Which was probably because this story was mostly told through Kyle's point of view, and reading from the chapters, it is easy enough to understand that Kyle is in love with his best friend. Their characters were very genuine and believable, and although most would say that they were flawed, that was exactly the point, and it was like just reading about a story of two real life people - except of course, that part about the magic drug. Mr. Wells' writing style was very easy as he told the story as is, no heavy doses of commentary and dialogue, just pure storytelling which is what most young adult readers prefer. Caution, however, should be taken when this book is read by younger readers as there are some delicate scenes that they may need walking through by an adult. No, I am not talking about graphic sexual or violent episodes, but as this is mainly a book suitable for older teens, there may be some parts that a younger reader might need help understanding, although once he/she gets past those, he/she will find that this book is quite an enjoyable read. But although I was quite blown away by the story, the progression of the novel just left me with a lot of questions and although I know that there are some things better left as they are, I seriously think this story just begs for a sequel! After all, more adventures equals more fun, right?
Karen Larrow More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was an awesome book. It's one of my favorites! I totally recommend this book! It's totally worth it!!!! I think the age is 8+. Whoever wrote this should make a whole series. If you could do as many stars as you wanted, I'd give it 15 stars. You will love this book. If you have not read it, PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!! It might even become one of your all time favorites. I
Katya_Sozaeva More than 1 year ago
A fast-paced novella, "Wild Child" explores when happens with Briana - the wild child of the title - and her best friend Kyle discover a mysterious spring of glowing green water in an underwater cavern. While it heals Bri from wounds received in an accident, and makes her feel wonderful, its effects are also short-term and she must return or her wounds begin to reform and she feels weak and sick. When Kyle asks his father to have the water analyzed, he doesn't realize what a mess he is going to create, because the chemists who tested the water contacted the government - and government representatives show up, saying they only want to help . Wells has created a great world; developing characters and making us care for them in a very short time, and telling a complete story within that same margin. His style is clean and spare, with vivid descriptions. This is technically a young adult story, but should also be enjoyable to older readers as well. Give it a try; I think you'll like it.
ScoutNJ More than 1 year ago
A short, fun story is what Mike Wells delivers to his readers in Wild Child. Kyle and Brie are likable characters that find themselves in an extraordinary situation. The ending left me with the question, did Kyle just sign Brie's death sentence or was his decision, formed from his love for her, the best way to make sure she didn't end up as a government lab rat? With the government so close to the area, is Kyle really sure she will never be found?
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
What I adored most about this book is the love and sacrifice in it. The storyline was really good to get into. Both characters, even though uniquely different completed each other. Kyle is set out to be different. He doesn't want to be like his dad, but yet he does try to please him. Kyle is a such a sweet guy. He is just that type that won't over due what he has. He is happy with the way things are and will not do anything different to change that. Now, Briana is definitely a wild child. She is crazy and totally out there. After the accident its like she becomes worst, risking her life even more. What I didn't like about her was that she was selfish. She failed to see past her own feelings and hurt Kyle. Kyle made a big decisions in the end. He loved her and did what he thought was best. The buildup of the storyline and the way it unfolded little by little was good. I enjoyed learning about power drug and the effects on their body. I like how it all tied in the government and Kyle's father. What I like the most at the end is Kyle's loyalty to now only himself, but Briana as well.Great book and well written. My only gripe was that it was short.
OtotheD More than 1 year ago
Mike Wells has written a fast-paced story of Brianna Fox, a "Wild Child" and adventure seeker. When she is out swimming on the lake with her best friend (and almost boyfriend), Kyle, she is involved in a horrible boating accident. The accident should have killed her, but much to Kyle's surprise, she walks away unscathed. In fact, she walks away better than ever. Reason is, Brianna found her way into an underwater cave that holds a lagoon filled with an unexplained substance that has amazing effects on Brianna. Soon, Brianna becomes dependent on the water from the cave. Without it, she could die. When the government gets wind of the substance, Kyle & Brianna have to do their best to outrun them, and hide the lake from them. Brianna's survival may depend on it. I thoroughly enjoyed "Wild Child". The author's writing style is breezy and easy to follow. I never doubted the characters or their decisions. My only complaint is that the story felt rushed; I wanted more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, since a good book always leaves you wanting more. The book is very short (I read it in less than two hours), but it is very enjoyable. I do recommend it to anyone wanting a quick, fun adventure with a totally unexpected ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crazy little story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i have ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What does the "green water" do.???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this when I was 11 so yes, I do think it's appopriate. Very fun and wild ride. 88 pages long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shut your mouth death you are just trying to scare little kids who dident do anything so keep your mouth shut got it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not fair really left you hanging
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
We all knew that one wild and adventurous kid who wasn’t our parents’ favorite choice for us to run with. Seems if there is trouble, they are in the midst of it and they spark our own inner demon to take chances. Briana was Kyle’s Achilles’ heal, and one boat trip and a dare turned into a nightmare of secret powers, scientific mysteries and addiction on the special glowing waters of an underwater cave. Who would think that one ion between normal water and green glowing water could cause an all-out manhunt by the government and put both Briana and Kyle at the epicenter of it all? Wild Child by Mike wells is a young adult trip into the scientific world of the unknown. Fast paced, with that woo-woo feel of secret government machinations, from start to finish I just knew Briana was going to live up to her reputation for being a troublemaker! Mike Wells did a great job of bringing his characters to life, and filling them with the mental and emotional tug of war teens face between doing what they know they should do and trying to be loyal to a friend. I received this copy from Mike Wells in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best book i read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shut up everyone writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All u have to say is....... ehh...well its ok but nnot one of my favorites. I would recommend this book for ages +8 and older
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly wish the posters who post these long reviews giving away every detail of the book would stop. I would like to read a book and be surprised but thanks to you vain ego maniacs another book is ruined for me. Simply state if you liked the book or not and stop giving the entire book away. Bn should fine you for doing this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nooooooooo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book for 11 year olds
Anonymous More than 1 year ago