×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wild Things
     

The Wild Things

3.9 68
by Dave Eggers
 

See All Formats & Editions

Max is a rambunctious eight-year-old whose world is changing around him: His father is absent, his mother is increasingly distracted, and his teenage sister has outgrown  him. Sad and angry, Max dons his wolf suit and makes terrible, ruinous mischief, flooding his sister’s room and driving his mother half-crazy. Convinced his family doesn’t want

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wild Things 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
books4fun-n-more More than 1 year ago
First off I am truly impressed with what Dave Eggers (and Spike Jones) were able to do with Sendak's 10 sentences. This book is a great story, very engaging and truly exciting. I am not sure what in the world the person before was complaining about. Eggers merely writes from his personal experience. I am certain that he has no hatred towards boomers or the such. This book is not worth a 1 star rating in the slighest bit. Sorry that you are so bitter about your life brittneyfan300.
GhostHouse More than 1 year ago
This is truly an enjoyable read. As one of the lucky few who has been to a screening of the film I believe this book shows how much love and care Dave and Spike took with a masterpiece of children's literature. The unfortunate side effect of some reviews that get posted here is they are posted by folks who have never even READ the book and see it as an excuse to either flame a writer they don't like or promote one they are obsessed with. Either way it's a shame.
onamichin More than 1 year ago
Eggers is able to get into the heart of what it is to be a nine year old kid. As I read it, I was nine again (30 otherwise). Each time Max gets into trouble I am back in my room remembering what it was like to think something is totally reasonable at the time and be so ridiculed for it. As a parent also, I think this book is a great way to remind me of those times and keep them fresh in my mind for when my buttons get pushed (although my girl is only 2, I know thats coming soon). Great read for kids who want to be understood and adults who need to remember to understand.
kuhlcat More than 1 year ago
Remember "Where the Wild Things Are" by Maurice Sendak? A boy runs from home and hangs out with gigantic beasts. Dave Eggers took this children's book and turned it first into a movie of the same title and then into a novel called "The Wild Things". It goes into more detail about Max-- he has a teenage sister and a single mother who's dating a very lame man and he's trying to cope with the ups and downs of boyhood. It's such a quick read. Almost 300 pages, but in going along with Max on his adventure, the reader is carried along by his exuberance and over-excitement. The beasts truly are wild and definitely not the brightest bulbs in the box. But each one of them has their own personality, which brings a sort of reality to them, as if they could exist. Maybe they do... It's been so long since I've read the picture book by Mr. Sendak that I don't remember the reason why Max ran away in that book, or if he even did (was it a dream?), but it was creative of Mr. Eggers to place him in a stressful, confusing family situation, with a sister with whom he used to be close but is now embarrassed by him and a mother who doesn't have time to pay attention to him because of her job and her new boyfriend. These dynamics give the story a definite foundation and the events logically build to Max sailing away in a small boat. This new spin on a classic children's book is vivid, lively, and full of adventure. You don't even need to read Mr. Sendak's version in order to get enthralled with this one. It's a very enjoyable read for all ages.
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I am not familiar with the children's book, so my review is in no way comparing the two. I thought this book was so much fun and very absorbing. It is very simple and the writing style is easy to follow and enjoy. The characters are all very fun and the lessons are important. This is a fantastic book for both adults and children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aerin-Allyse Winfery More than 1 year ago
Great read full of emotion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bambi-kid More than 1 year ago
Before I go on with all the amazing things this wonderful story based off of the MOVIE *which bases off the actual picture book... in some... way* I would like to declare this: Picture high school on a woodsy island and all it's dramatic issues collided. That's basically what the movie and THIS wild things book revolves on. It's slightly pointless and it kinda doesn't make sense at some parts. When it's really suppose to be a fun enlighting kids story (with the movie; better off made by Pixar or Dreamworks rather than actual actors.) This book is exactly like the movie - but there's some things added and changed to the whole story. For me, just like the movie, I thought the beginnings and the endings were awesome but for the actual middle of both, I could've seen better. Bright Side: This book closely relates to thee actual picture book rather than the movie relating to the actual picture book. Its sorta pulled like dough; sometimes it's like the picture book, sometimes Dave Eggers adds his own things. :) all-in-all if you really love the movie in general and you want to tote around your entertainment when you don't have access to the movie: this book is perfect for that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ArtfullyYours More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It stayed interesting the whole time and sometimes I did not even want to put it down. This is a must read for anyone. It really takes you back to what childhood and imagination is really like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago