×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?: Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers
     

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?: Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers

4.2 75
by Karyl McBride
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first book for daughters who have suffered the abuse of selfish, self-involved mothers, Will I Ever Be Good Enough? provides the expert assistance you need in order to overcome this debilitating history and reclaim your life. Drawing on more than two decades of experience as a therapist specializing in women’s health and hundreds of interviews with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?: Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are thinking of reading this book, you most likely already know that you won't ever "Be Good Enough". That's probably something you have been hearing your whole life - so why stop now - right? The hard part for me was realizing that it's okay to stop trying. It's not my fault and it is really okay if my mother thinks that I'm not "Good Enough". It's her loss. It's her perception that's wrong. I really AM good enough - for me, for my husband, for my kids, my Dad, my friends, my boss, almost everyone else in my world but her. This book helped me to realize that in her mind - it really IS all about her! I will NEVER win so I can stop running this race - because I am really, really tired. Since I have stopped trying, I am sooo much happier and she honestly doesn't see the difference. So get this book - it will help. Just remember, that your Mom probably won't change. You probably won't have the moment you want when you Mom "get's it", and your Mom won't become the person you want and need in your life. The book will hurt and make you cry - but it will make a lot of sense too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me see that I am not alone! And it helped me understand family dynamics and how we kids responded to our mom and how we still respond. I do feel that the author should describe the different forms of narcissism on the book jacket or in the description of the book - because it does NOT mean "self love" like so many people think. I found the description of mom in the pages and read about how to cope with the past and the present relationship with her. And most importantly for me, I learned how to recognize the narcissistic tendencies in me so I treat my children better.
morganmad More than 1 year ago
This book is a practical guide to help daughters of narcissistic mothers to recover from the effects of their mothers' mistreatment. It is not intended to be a full scale discussion of the causes and treatment of narcissism nor of any current scientific theories, but a source to help the people most severely impacted by it. The author offers specific behaviors to help in recovery. She states very clearly that if you need more intensive therapy, then you should get it; she gives some practical advice on therapeutic methods and practitioners. Overall, this is a terrific book and a real support for those who have or had narcissistic mothers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never written a book review before but I feel compelled to do so. This book is AMAZING. I had done alot of the work suggested in my own way years ago getting away from and recovering from my mother but recently began questioning myself again during a divorce. My biggest fear was choosing another narcassistic partner. My husband was an even bigger narcissist than my mother and I put up with a lot of unacceptable behaviors for a long time because they felt normal to me. This book has done so many things to improve my state of mind not the least of which is rebuild my confidence that I can pick someone good and worthwhile.
Jillian13 More than 1 year ago
This is an inside look at what you or a friend may have dealt with as a child of a narcissistic mother. Sometimes hard to face memories of youth. Well worth the journey. In the end, your left with the hope and knowledge to overcome a past that will some how always haunt you anyway. Tho less than without this read. I highly recommend it, may you journey toward healing and find peace at last!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As I read this book, I kept thinking "This is right! This is me! She hit the nail in the head!" I never thought a book would be so engaging and life affecting. It has given me a new outlook and changed the way I live my life. Karyl McBride has saved my sanity and my life.
SusannahD More than 1 year ago
Dr. McBride lays out what can happen to the lives of the daughters of narcissists. I loved the line "Narcissistic Mothers: Always there when they need you" as it captured the essence of the relationship. An easy read in that it's not hard to get through or understand, but a difficult read in that Dr McBride lays out a path of recovery for us daughters, and it's not an easy trail. But as hard as life has been with The Mother, this path of recovery offers a real chance for change, and a real life.
Strawberry_Princess More than 1 year ago
I am amazed that while having traveled far in my recovery that I found a book that made my jaw drop on several occasions. The book is well organized, covers all the points and offers recovering advice gathered over years of practicing it and counseling with it. You will need to reread it at least once to pick up on all the insight the author has to offer. Thank you for helping and sharing, it was done in a well written book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. McBride nails it here! I have been struggling with this issue for many years. All the emotions I have felt over the years that are considered taboo in our society are talked about here. It made me feel that I am not so alone and that these issues really do exist and happen to other people. I read this over a weekend and I believe this book will change my outlook about myself. While I was able to identify the many messed up issues with my mother that affected my outlook about myself I never knew how to fix the problem or change how I felt about myself. The book gives the reader understanding of narcissism the importance of accepting the situation for what it is and direction for learning how to care for yourself. The book was very helpful to me and it's definetely a keeper as I am sure I will be referring back to it.
dr-alvin More than 1 year ago
For those who have had the misfortune of a narcissistic mother, this is the one book that will change your life forever. The wisdom, insight, wit and research of Dr. Karyl McBride pulls the cover off this open family secret. Her depth of knowledge is fair, frank and brings clarity. Her personal trauma and story gives this must read balance. As an award winning journalist, historian and scholar, I find her approach refreshing and one of a kind. It's rare to meet such scholarlship and urge you to take the time to make this "wrong" right.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has helped me so much. It was a relief to read that someone knew exactly what I was feeling and why when I couldn't get anyone else to understand. It's a must read for anyone who has mother issues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read numerous self-help books on various topics of family dysfunction. This is the first book that describes my experiences so accurately that I could have written it myself! I quickly felt a huge burden lifted from my shoulders as I realized the role that narcissism has played in my relationship with my mother and with the men in my life. I am taking my time in reading it so that I can process my emotions and thoughts. Dr. McBride is my hero!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Explores and explains the complex relationships between mothers and daughters in a book that flows and is easy to read. A must if you are searching for a answers regarding your toxic mother.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that actually really helps you understand the problem and what to do about it to help yourself shake free from the after shock of growing up with someone with NPD. I especially liked that she stresses you don't need to feel guilty if you cannot remain in relationship. Very helpful!
Christina31 More than 1 year ago
In spite of what other negatitive review might say, I only agree with one thing she said, in my mother case she does have multiple mental health problems. Like being a Psyco-Path, no remose, she thinks she has done nothing wrong. However this book has helped me a great deal. Things in it that Dr. McBride said write about I did. Some things were just to painful to talk about, so I took what I wrote to my Dr and shared with her like that, and it helped. In some cases I would just sit there in her office and cry, I couldn't do anything else. I did try to stay in contact with my mother while doing this book, but McBride was right, she was right on target. She knows what she is talking about. I did have to separate myself from her, I am glad I read it, did the work in it. I am not where I want to be but I am better than what I was. Glad you she wrote it. A must read for anyone who has a mother that she descibes on the back of her book. 5 stars !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book helped me understand the history of a narcissistic mother. It was a life altering read for me. it helped me to cope with and understand what is behind the feeling of "not being good enough"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend that to receive true self discovery apart from your parent you have to relieve yourself of that pain. This was a book I couldn't put down and also made me want to shut when I started to feel uncomfortable about my past. IT WILL BE AN EYE OPENER FOR MANY DAUHTERS!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is above and beyond what I expected. After so many years of struggling, I can now say "it's not me"and "it's not my fault". There are examples throughout the book from other daughters who are going through the same thing. I highly recommend this to every daughter who has a narcissistic mother.
ScorpionsFan More than 1 year ago
This book was so good at describing what it was like for me growing up that I was wondering if Dr. McBride had somehow lived my life. I'm in my 50's and wish I had discovered this book much earlier. My mother's 91 and is even worse now that she's living in an assisted living facility. It was a comforting to me that it was my mother than had a "problem" and that I could stop trying so hard to please her. An excellent book for any woman that is always hearing her mother tell her how much better she could do it even when she's on the opposite coast. I can't recommend it highly enough; I've lent it out some many times it's becoming ragged but my friends usually end up buy their own copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best self help book I have ever read!!!
Robbiebee More than 1 year ago
Finally, a book that explains everything I've been thinking and feeling. Dr. McBride not only helped me see I was far from alone, but also how to handle and work through my feelings and accept my family limitations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thought I was well over my Mother and the things she did, but this book was a great help in finishing my journey. I have recommended this book to several others. I believe it will help all who read it that was raised by one of these Mothers. Thank you Karyl McBride for writing this book, it was needed by so many!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great advice and to the point. Easy read, I learned and could relate more than i thought i would of. Its a must, even if you hsve doubts about your up bringing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and thought-provoking. Helped me define some things in my past. Thank you for taking the time to explore such an important subject.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Vkvivhgg ggyy