×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Winger
  • Alternative view 1 of Winger
  • Alternative view 2 of Winger
     

Winger

4.5 25
by Andrew Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

A teen at boarding school grapples with life, love, and rugby in this unforgettable novel that is “alternately hilarious and painful, awkward and enlightening” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Winger 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're a fan of John Green, read this book. If you want to laugh long and hard, read this book. It will make you laugh, it will rip your heart into a million pieces, and it will make you wish it will never end. For people who enjoy a great, heartfelt, hilarious, and deep story, get Winger as soon as you can. You will NOT regret it.
knoxdiver More than 1 year ago
Wow. Just...wow. This book is freaking brilliant. I mean it. I think this is top 5 for this year, if not all time, and is most definitely the most heartbreaking this year if not all time. So one of the best things Winger has got going for it is it's male pov written by a male. This ship is real, y'all (unlike Ryan Dean, I try not to swear, even in my writing)! I mean, Ryan Dean is just such a....boy. A teenage boy at that. I had no trouble believing all the ridiculous things he thinks, says, and does throughout the novel. Peeing in a gatorade bottle rather than going to the bathroom? Check. Being pervy with every female character in the book, particularly in his thoughts? Check. Ryan Dean is really astute and a remarkably good narrator, but he's also straight-up dumb sometimes, but that's okay because it fits so well with reality as well as the world of the book. See, when Ryan Dean is acting like a hormonal idiot, Andrew used his other characters to take up the slack. There's Joey Cosentino: the Voice of Reason. Joey's job is to point out every time Ryan Dean is being stupid, but he always has RD's back, on the rugby field and off, and I have nothing but respect for him. He's a Nice Guy, but he's not above getting dirty to defend himself or calling someone out when they need to be put in place. Annie: the Best Friend/Love Interest. It's way cool seeing Annie face reality when it comes to her relationship with Ryan Dean. I, being a girl who at one time was sixteen, innately know what's going on in Annie's head so it's way cool understanding her thoughts while actually reading from Ryan Dean's mind. Chas: the Hostile Roommate & Teammate/Romantic Competition. Chas's purpose really confused me during much of the novel, but his presence actually puts Ryan Dean into the role of bad guy at one point, which forces the reader and Ryan Dean to actively acknowledge his fault. Also, Chas is instrumental to the resolution of Ryan Dean's story. Seanie (the Comic Relief, insofar as sometimes Ryan Dean has to be serious for a secondf) and JP (the Other Romanic Competition). I didn't care a whole whole lot for them because Seanie is just an oddball and JP is a douche, but we see Ryan Dean in a different light because of them. Ryan Dean makes a lot of mistakes, and Seanie and JP are kind of the collateral damage. There's Megan: Love Interest/Temptation. While Annie is spending her time wrestling with her feelings for Ryan Dean, Megan decisively chooses to spend some quality time with Ryan Dean pressed up against the water fountain. Megan helps Ryan Dean transform into the Wild Boy of Bainbridge Island. Casey: the Bully. Grade A douchenozzle. His presence gives Ryan Dean the opportunity to be both the victim and the hero. The characters are all great. The story, at least at first, was a bit slow for me, but it picks up. I thought Winger was supposed to be just a funny novel. And it really is a hilarious look at Ryan Dean trying to fit in at his school, trying to navigate the waters of romance, trying to not die either on the rugby field (by an opponent OR teammate because it was touch-and-go sometimes), trying not to be cursed by Ms. Singer. Winger reads like a journal with Ryan Dean frequently breaking the fourth wall to talk to the reader, rating things on his ridiculous scales like my rating above, and drawing awesome cartoons. Seriously, the drawings add an awesome artistic element. I really hope this trend gets a kickstart because I love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me begging on my knees for more when i finished reading it! I wouldnt know what to do if i havent found this book anf if you are even thinking of getting the book, you NEED it in hard cover because of the awsome cover ans spine!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrew Smith has a way with words. This is a beautiful, funny, wonderful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book after seeing it at the library and was hooked after the first page This book realy changed my life and opened my eyes I imediately recomended it to two
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book thinking I would just have to push through it but I was happily suprised. One minute I fell off my bed laughing and the next I was crying.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
Why did I wait so long to read this book?!?! I could kick myself for putting this one off for so long. This book has to be one of the best YA novels that I have ever read. It is really that good. I read this book cover to cover in a single day and I can't think of a better way to spend a free day. Of course, I really didn't have much of a choice because once I started reading this story, I simply could not put it down. Ryan Dean West is in many ways an average 14 year old boy. He feels like a loser quite often and he cannot keep his mind off of girls. One thing that sets Ryan Dean apart from the other students at his boarding school is that he is a junior despite the fact that he is only 14. Ryan Dean doesn't let anything stop him. He plays left wing for the school's rugby team, which is where he received the nickname "Winger." Ryan Dean is living in the O-Hall this year because he got into a little bit of trouble the previous year. Opportunity Hall is the residence for trouble makers and Ryan Dean finds himself mixed in with a group of boys who aren't all exactly welcoming. He does make some new friends, finds himself in a few conflicts, and learns to deal with girls during the course of the story. I loved the way this story was told. I absolutely love it when a story can incorporate humor without losing its focus. This book had a thread of humor on nearly every page and none of it felt forced. I never laughed out loud but I was amused for the majority of the story. I really like the fact that the story was not told simply through a narrative. The artwork that was used to help tell the story really worked well and helped bring Ryan Dean to life. I also really liked the way that his thoughts were shown in the story through plays and other creative methods. This was one of those story that really grew on me. At first, Ryan Dean did seem like an awkward boy who was a little clueless. The more I read the more I grew to like Ryan Dean. He really was a good guy who sometimes lacked direction. I also grew to like his friends. This book really helped me to remember how difficult being a teenager can be. The ending of this book blew me away. I never saw it coming and I am so glad that nobody spoiled it for me. I would highly recommend this book. It was funny and touching in a way that is rarely found in a single story. This is the first book by Andrew Smith that I have read but I am definitely planning to check out his other books soon.
Chancie More than 1 year ago
Not a bad book, but also not a great book. It had pretty slow pacing, and the final climax came in way too late to truly mean enough. Also, majority of the characters are hard to like or side with. This book had way too much of "older women attracted to young boys," in my opinion. It was creepy the amount of older students who were attracted to the 14 year old. Otherwise, it was readable and worth finishing, but it wasn't amazing or anything like that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very good i cried when i read the part about joey and when he died . I would recommend to this to almost EVERYONE 13-up!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Annie x Ryan Dean = OTP
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
caleb_geyer More than 1 year ago
Ryan Dean West (“Winger” to the guys on the rugby team) is a Junior at a boarding school. He’s different than the other boys, though. He’s only 14. This is the story of Ryan Dean’s life-altering year – dealing with first kisses, first bullies, first love, first loss – all while trying to remove himself from the problem that is being the “little guy”.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. If you are on the fence at all, get it and read it. I'm sure you'll love it as much as I did. I was blown away by the character development and couldn't put this book down.  Amazing wonderful book that I would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AA1314 More than 1 year ago
An amazing story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing, never got bored reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a beautiful book that's all I could say. Funny, with a little romance, and relatable situations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall amazing book! It's worth the read, you won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a really good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whimpy kid goes to boarding school these seem equal to old fashion orphans