×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wings of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #2)
     

Wings of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #2)

4.2 48
by Charles Todd
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Charles Todd's Wings of Fire, Inspector Ian Rutledge is quickly sent to investigate the sudden deaths of three members of the same eminent Cornwall family, but the World War I veteran soon realizes that nothing about this case is routine. Including the identity of one of the dead, a reclusive spinster unmasked as O. A. Manning, whose war poetry helped

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wings of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #2) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Todd has insight into the effects of injury and combat fatigue on soldiers of WWI and their reentry into society in the early part of the 20th century. The story is good and Rutledge's involvement in it is believable without being heavy handed. I'm looking forward to No. 3.
Onthefly More than 1 year ago
A little predictable. Still long winded in conversation. Volume 3 is even better though.
nprfan1 More than 1 year ago
I was less than impressed with Todd's first Ian Rutledge mystery, primarily because his resolution (and the identity of the killer) came quite literally from nowhere. But Todd seems to have hit his stride with his sophomore entry. Rutledge is still on the outs - to put it mildly - with his superior in Scotland Yard, and is sent by him to fulfill a request made by an influential family in Cornwall. Were a series of recent deaths accidental or suicide? Everyone seems to think that they were one or the other, but the more Rutledge finds out the more he becomes convinced that the truth is quite different - and far more sinister - than what the Yard and the locals believe. Unlike the previous novel, the solution to this mystery is completely logical - but there are a lot of false leads and convolutions that didn't let me guess the truth until very close to the end. Rutledge's "alter ego" - Hamish, the Scotsman he had to have shot for cowardice during World War I, and who now "lives" inside Rutledge's head - is somewhat less annoying than in the first entry in this series, but in his way he assists Rutledge in arriving at the truth. I am definitely looking forward to reading more novels in this series, but I wish that Todd would get rid of Bowles, Rutledge's idiot of a superior officer. The man seems to serve no purpose other than to set up the conditions for Rutledge to travel to the scene of the crime, and his personality is nothing short of a pompous ass.
TravelerPS More than 1 year ago
This #2 book about Inspector Rutledge was very intriguing because it had me guessing until the very end of who killed the sister/writer and her brother and a second younger brother. Each clue was placed carefully throughout the book, yet I didn't guess the ending. I never read the ending first, like some readers do. I prefer to work the clues and see if my deduction is what the author intended. It is a pleasure to read of this post WWI time period that has no technology. TV was not invented until the 1940s,so it is not mentioned either. I envision the English countryside as well-described. The book takes me back to a time when people had 'real relationships/people interactions' and worked their gardens as both a hobby and for food production after WWI. A 'must read' for new Charles Todd fans. I have ordered book #3 and plan to read this series. I have read all four of the Bess Crawford books (#5 yet to be released). I know I will enjoy jotting down the Inspector's clues and see if I can 'deduct' his ending as he discovers it also. A great book that was hard to put down! I would recommend this book for a book club discussion group and it is for mystery readers who enjoy intricate details to a plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 2nd Ian Rutledge novel is just as well written as the first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing and characterization merit 5 stars, but the murderer is glaringly obvious very early in the book. So much so that it strains the reader's credulity to believe Rutledge could go so far wrong for such a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyed all the books I have read in the Inspector Rutledge series - very much
lotto53 More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book. Read all of this writers work.
Anonymous 18 days ago
When war has lasted 29 years the dragonets will come. When land is soaked in blood and tears the dragonets will come. Find the seawing egg if deest blue. Wings of night shall come to you. The largest egg in mountain high will give ti you the wings od sky. For wings of earth search through the mud for an egg the color if dragon blood. And hidden alone from the rival queens the sandwing egg awaits unseen. Of three queens who blister blaze and burn two shall die and one shall learn if she bows to a fate that is stronger and higher shell have the power of wings of fire. Five eggs to hatch on brightest night five dragons born to end the fight. Darkness will rise to bring the light. The dragonets are coming...
Anonymous 8 months ago
The storyline was interesting and the ending was amazing.
Delphimo 9 months ago
Ian Rutledge stumbles upon a triple murder of members of one family. Who would want all these relatives dead, and who stands to profit from their deaths? Ian and Hamish, his inner voice, dig into the deaths and the stories of the Cornwall family. Charles Todd, a mother and son team, delve into the English countryside uncovering the price of revenge. The story brings out the devastation of WWI, but also points to the glorious English countryside, and to the grudges that demand restitution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the long line of distinguished mystery writers, Charles Todd holds a preeminent place.In terms of his exquisite writing style I could compare him to Patrick O'Brian , which is high praise indeed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are far better books in this series, & there's little doubt re. "who done it" after the early chapters. However, the coauthors created a wonderful, atmospheric setting, an interesting plot, & a cast of characters that is, as always, unique! by aj west
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago