×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Winston's War
     

Winston's War

3.7 291
by Michael Dobbs
 

See All Formats & Editions

From a bestselling novelist with an unrivalled insight into the workings of power comes a compelling new novel exploring Winston Churchill’s remarkable journey from the wilderness to No 10 Downing Street at the beginning of World War II.Saturday 1 October 1938. Two men meet. One is elderly, the other in his twenties. One will become the most revered man of his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Winston's War 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 291 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.
Jadjuka More than 1 year ago
This was very interesting especially to the younger generation who have yet to really understand who Churchill was and how important he was in driving back the Germans from England.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author goes to great pains to point out that the story is fictional, but the historical background is very accurate. It's very interesting to see World War II looming on the horizon from a British perspective. The historical incidents including the political intrigue among the parties and Churchill versus Chamberlain, all bear up if you look into them further. After reading this, I got the others by this author, too. It's intelligent historical fiction and tons of fun.
iPodReader More than 1 year ago
I don't normally read historical fiction but this one was a Free Fridays pick and I'm so glad I took this one. The characterizations of these historical figures were rich and well-rounded. I confess that the little I knew came mostly from my high school history classes and my judgments, formed long after the war was over, were basically "Winston Churchill good; Neville Chamberlin bad." It was great to have such balanced portraits of them and others around them that made me understand their motives much more clearly. I really commend Michael Dobbs for his even-handed treatment of these men and the dilemmas they faced in the moment. This would be a great book for anyone who wants to know more about the lead-up to World War II.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author has accomplished his goal of peaking the reader's interest in the subject matter. I found myself researching the characters in the plot and fully engrossed in the book. Great historical novel.
SprigPA More than 1 year ago
Very interesting to be exposed to the politics leading up to WW2. Power, control, pettiness, conflicts of interest and human nature all playing a role in the British government.
barry2B More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from the first page to the last. A fictional account of how Winston Churchill ended up being Prime Minister of England....or is it fiction?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written and entertaining. Readers of historical fiction should thoroughly enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting take of British politics at the outbreak of WW II.  Well written and fast moving.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really looked forwarded to returning to this book every time I picked up my Nook. Everyone knows the basic storyline, but the background and personalities are so interesting, all the backroom politics. If you are into history at all, you will love this book.
nWeb More than 1 year ago
Slow, plodding tome that is big on conversation and small on historical narrative left me wishing for more. I felt that I was watching one of those "history-based" Hollywood movies that so often leaves history behind to tell an exciting story. Only there was no exciting story, either. Was Dobbs characterization of the primary actors in the book true to life, or was their portrayal the author's imagination? Hard to tell. I am a Dobbs fan and he continues to write exceedingly well. Just that this book failed to arouse my interest, and I finished reading it about halfway through the book.
Terry_Vinson More than 1 year ago
As a World War II buff (but certainly not a scholar) I found "Winston's War" very enjoyable. The author has created a roman a clef with a huge cast of characters and several story lines. The most important one, of course is his telling of the machinations that went on in the British government under Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain that ended with Chamberlain's resignation and Churchill's ascension to the leadership. I knew that Churchill was despised by Chamberlain and his minions, but Dobbs really reveals the depth of their hatred. Those British politicians are every bit as bad as their American counterparts! Churchill himself doesn't come out of it completely unscathed either. Dobbs depicts him as somewhat two-faced, hesitant, and capable of making huge mistakes, such as his pushing for the aborted invasion of Norway early in the war. Churchill's heavy drinking is mentioned a lot. Some of the less important characters are vividly drawn, in particular Guy Burgess, an utterly dissolute gay man who is obsessed with helping Churchill become prime minister by any means at his disposal, legal or otherwise. Burgess was later uncovered as a Soviet spy and defected to Russia along with his lover Donald Maclean. "Winston's War" is a fascinating look at the years immediately prior to and after the beginning of World War II. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Knowing I am not as well versed in history as I might/should be, I took advantage of this "Free Friday" selection and found it engrossing and entertaining. I had not expected either. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to be better informed about the beginnings of World War II but unwilling or uninterested in diving into traditional history books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why do contemporary male writers think it necessary to write as crudely as 15 year old boys speak? I gave this read up after the first few pages. Fortunately, it was a free Friday offering.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great tale of espionage and treason. It tales of Winston's rise to power at the time of WW II.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this to be pretty interesting, but I had a hard time getting through it. There are several intersting themes at work here, but one of the predominate ones is whether a politician should stay loyal to his constituents, his party, or himself. Each of the main characters here deal with this dilemma in different ways. One thing I struggled with was my lack of understanding of how British government and Parliment works. A good working knowledge of this would be very helpful in enjoying this otherwise excellent book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Insightful, interesting, intriguing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago