×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Winter of Frankie Machine
     

The Winter of Frankie Machine

4.3 19
by Don Winslow
 

See All Formats & Editions

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CARTEL.

Frankie Machianno, a hard-working entrepreneur, passionate lover, part-time surf bum, and full-time dad, is a pillar of his waterfront community—and a retired hit man. Once better known as Frankie Machine, he was a brutally efficient killer. Now someone from his past wants him dead, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Winter of Frankie Machine 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great, slightly off kilter group of characters from the mind of Don Winslow. Get it, read it, you will not be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How does it end? You must read it to find out. It was a pleasant surprise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good read by Winslow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tim_ryan90 More than 1 year ago
To put it simply...a fun, fun read...and fast paced...
KenCady More than 1 year ago
I started with Savages, which is a favorite of mine now. Then his latest, Satori, which I also liked. Now The Winter of Frankie Machine that kept me going all day today. I'll be picking up more, since Don Winslow writes stuff that I like, and he does it so well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thedutch More than 1 year ago
Likeable main character makes you pull for him throughout the novel, regardless of what he is or was. A terrific read, I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
edofarrell More than 1 year ago
Winslow sometimes goes overboard with his characters until they overwhelm the story line. He manages (or had a good editor) to avoid the worst of this tendency in this tight, well-written novel. The dialog is crisp and believable, the characters solid (see above) and the plot reasonable. Winslow generally can be depended on for a good novel and this is one of his better works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How can you not like Frankie Machine? As he says, 'It's a lot of work being me,' and that's quite true. However, that's what makes him so attractive - he's a persnickety cook who drives to five different stores to get the exact brand of ingredients he wants for a single dish. Only the best for him. He's a man who believes that 'Quality of life is about the little things - doing them well, doing them right.' He's 63-years-old, owns a California bait shop, the O.B. Bait and Tackle. Everyone who knows him loves him. Life is good,. He has time for surfing with a pal, even if some refer to them as geezers, and he hopes to put his daughter, Jill, through medical school. But that is now. Then is something quite different. When Frankie is ambushed he gets away in one piece, but the big question is why? In a series of flashbacks we learn that Frankie was once a hitman for the West Coast Mafia. He was an A-1 assassin, true to the mob code, and true to his word. He never was a squealer, so why aren't they leaving him alone? His memory is darn good and Frankie knows there are quite a few who have reason to want to be sure he is permanently silenced. It's not long before some killings occur and for a while Frankie finds himself running from everyone - the mob and the cops. Don Winslow has created a killer with a very human face, a plot that surprises, and a narrative often filled with humor. Frankie is a true gent and we can't help pulling for him. The Winter of Frankie Machine will be a movie next year starring Robert De Niro, and this reader will be first in line at the box office. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not a review of the book, just a comment on Nook book pricing. B&N expects me to pay $11.99 for the Nook edition while I can order a used paperback for $1.90. Even with shipping, it is half the price of the electronic version.