×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Winter Study (Anna Pigeon Series #14)
     

Winter Study (Anna Pigeon Series #14)

3.9 45
by Nevada Barr
 

See All Formats & Editions

Soon after Anna Pigeon joins the famed wolf study team of Isle Royale National Park in the middle of Lake Superior, the wolf packs begin to behave in peculiar ways. Giant wolf prints are found, and Anna spies the form of a great wolf from a surveillance plane. When a female member of the team is savaged, Anna is convinced they are being stalked, and what was once a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Winter Study (Anna Pigeon Series #14) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Nevada Barr puts you into the environment and makes nature the most honest character. I learned about the effects of extreme cold on animals and humans and about the restricted ecosystem of Isle Royale, just south of the Canadian border. The twisting plot left me guessing. My husband enjoyed Winter Study as well, and he rarely finishes a book that is not about military history or politics!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beyond the stellar series hero Anna Pigeon (by herself enough to recommend the book), 'Winter Study' has a wonderfully visual setting: Michigan's Isle Royale National Park, where Anna has joined a research project on the area's wolf and moose population. Complicating the study is the presence of the Dept of Homeland Security due to border security concerns. Amid the unforgivingly harsh winter weather, with it's blinding blizzards and teeming darkness, comes a deadly attack on a fellow researcher by an unknown, abnormally large and powerful animal, and the odd, unusually provocative behavior by local wolf packs against the region's human-populated settlements. Hanging over it all is the irrational paranoia of legendary ghosts and mythical beasts. But Anna has more to contend with than just old campfire stories: there are several scenes of satisfyingly brutal violence, as well as terrifying natural threats to overcome. I think this is one of the series' grimmest entries (which I like), with spine-tingling dread and suspense building on every page. Highly recommended if you don't mind the darker nature of the story and the villains.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I usually love Nevada Barr's novels. This one was more then a little hard to get through. And sorry, some of the plot lines were less then probable. Lets just say... I would hope if I 'disappeared' in the middle of the bitterly freezing cold night, that the search party would use snow mobiles rather then cross-country skis.
Babydoclaz More than 1 year ago
In this fascinating account of Isle Royale's Winter Study, Nevada Barr has given the reader a rich description of the park and the wolves who live there. Her human characters are equally compelling, and her main character, Anna Pigeon, has her own unique viewpoint about the other characters in this book. Anna's adventures on Isle Royale are gripping, and keep you at the edge of your seat. I think this is one of Ms. Barr's best works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More of what we have come to expect from Barr. She makes you feel her settings - I felt the cold as I read this
PearlMM More than 1 year ago
I have all of Nevada Barr's books and love them. I can relate to the places where her books take place as I was in the Forest Service and have actually been to many of these places. I like her character Anna, because she is very down to earth and also a strong woman. I got so caught up in the story it was hard to put it down after the first few chapters.
star60 More than 1 year ago
All of her books are really good and this one is no exception. I always look forward to books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Usually I enjoy Nevada Barr's books. This story was so bizarre and disjointed, it was difficult to get involved in the story. Identifying the 'bad guy' was easy...he was also so one-dimensional it was hard to even think of him as a real villian. Don't waste your money on this one.
FluffyOH More than 1 year ago
I'm sorry I can't read 24 hours a day, because Nevada Barr keeps me spellbound.
Sheltie More than 1 year ago
Barr is a former National Park Service professional, so that gives her insight into how things really work in that agency. This is no exception. I just finished the title and I am now developing dreams of actually visiting Isle Royale National Park, the place where this story is set.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Author sets up characters and scene at National Park in winter. Details make you climb under blankets to stay warm while the plot unfolds. At the end of a chapter you cannot stop but are enticed to read some more of the mystery plot. Animals are as much a part of the intrigue as the people.
Smiley-in-the-Sunshine More than 1 year ago
interesting info. regarding wildlife study and evaluation--- excellent personal story which was hard to put down-- could read until I am finished, but life gets in the way
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again Nevada Barr combines regional facts with a murder thriller. Anna Pigeon is sent off to Isle Royal with researchers to study wolves. Superstition, sub zero temperatures and murder will keep you on the edge of the seat. Exciting from start to finish.
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
If you like a lead character who lurches (and escapes) from one life-threatening crisis to another, you'll have no problem with Winter Study. Popular park ranger Anna Pigeon is back, this time at Isle Royale in Northern Michigan. Murder, disappearance, and suicide abound among a team studying the habits of wolves on this isolated island. I liked the author's vivid descriptions of winter in the far north and the challenges a small team of scientists faces living in primitive and close quarters in this environment. The constant "Perils of Pauline" elements of the story were a bit much for me - right down to Anna being set adrift on floating ice and a literal cliff-hanger at the end of the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Winter Study' reveals the married, 50 year old and still indomitable Anna Pigeon in the far north winter crucible of Isle Royale. The very existence of the 50- year-old scientific wolf study on Isle Royale is threatened by recent Homeland Administration policy. Anna endures the hardships of winter wolf research and triumphs over evil hiding in the midst of a small community of researchers. Her transcending pragmatism also finds moral and humorous resolution in the struggle between predator and prey, good and evil. The struggle is cold, terrifying and exhausting. This is one of my favorite adventures of Anna Pigeon. It was chilling! Nevada Barr is one author my husband and I enjoy together. We love to listen to her tales while traveling. I've enjoyed the 'spectacular solitude' of Isle Royale, the Boundary Waters and Ely, MN. I recommend a trip to Isle Royale DURING THE SUMMER!
harstan More than 1 year ago
District Ranger Anna Pigeon of Rocky Mountains National Park is going to have wolves in the park to know what to expect she is sent to Isle Royale in Lake Superior where scientists have been studying the wolves in their natural habitat for fifty years. They can work without tourists around as the park is closed for several moths due to dangerous weather. Homeland Security would like the park opened year round as it is on the Canadian border they send Bob Menchinn to determine the feasibility.---------- Strange things are happening on the isolated island beginning with Anna¿s first night there. A group of seven wolves walk by the cabin where Anna and the winter study group resides. This anomaly shakes everyone as wolves normally avoid humans. Anna sees a giant wolf almost twice the size of a normal sized wolf and humongous paw prints. They think it is a wolf/dog hybrid and soon afterward an assistant is mauled to death by the wolves, which have no reported history of assaulting humans. The words ¿help me¿ appear on an ice coated window. Anna knows something is wrong and begins investigating just before another scientist disappears in what looks like a kidnapping making her inquiries even more urgent.----------- A new Anna Pigeon mystery is a treat for fans of the series who expect the best from Nevada Barr and gets it with this strong ¿closed door¿ whodunit in a wintry outdoors setting. As Anna digs into the lives of the scientists and their aides, she uncovers dark secrets and blackmail, hidden agendas and ties to a cold (pun intended) case. Readers will enjoy armchair trekking with Anna as she seeks the truth allegedly of a killer wolf stalking humans.----------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wondderful book couldnnot put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago