×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Winter's Awakening (Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Winter's Awakening (Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Winter's Awakening (Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #1)
     

Winter's Awakening (Seasons of Sugarcreek Series #1)

4.0 33
by Shelley Shepard Gray
 

See All Formats & Editions

As the coldest winter on record blows into Sugarcreek, will three hearts have the courage to discover the life that God wants for them?

In the small Amish town of Sugarcreek, Ohio, Joshua knows what's expected of him: to work at the family store and to finally marry Gretta, whom he's courted for years. But when a new English family moves in next

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Winter's Awakening 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shelley Sheperd Gray is fast becoming another of my favorite authors. This book was a wonderful story and I look forward to following the journey through the seasons of Sugarcreek. A peaceful and joyful read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! I am hooked on the "Seasons of Sugarcreek" series....Can't read them fast enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The overview makes it seem like Joshua doubts his future with Gretta because the new English neighbor Lilly has caught his eye. But really he's only attracted to her for about two days and then all of a sudden he isn't attracted to her at all anymore and they become best friends instead. The whole thing just seemed very odd to me. Pointless, really.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, great lovely book. When i started reading this book i wasnt so sure about it, i thought it would be depressing but boy was i wrong. I love gretta. great character! Read it and i promise, you won't be dissapointed
the1stdaughter More than 1 year ago
"Winter's Awakening was a breathe of fresh air for me. It was refreshing to read a story about young love that didn't involve an overly immoral theme. Granted one of the main characters had committed an indiscretion and landed her family in Sugarcreek to escape the humiliation that would come in their hometown; it still focuses on more important things. Things like making the right choices, accepting others' faults, and growing up. "Every character in this story is wonderful and I loved being able to hear from each of the main characters. They all were at a stage in their lives where they needed to make some difficult decisions and become adults. Being what I consider a fairly spiritual person myself I really appreciated Gretta's character, her quiet thoughtful ways and her desire to listen to God. And though each of the characters eventually acknowledged their own need to rely on God I never felt I was being 'preached' to. I have to say, that was so nice! "One of the other wonderful bits about this story that I loved is that it was in Ohio. It is in fact somewhere that holds a special place in my heart after spending a year and a half long mission for my church in the areas central and southern Ohio. It was wonderful being transported back to a time and place that I fell in love with. I still recall the buggy's riding down the road and the Amish store just within walking distance of one of my residences. Shelley did a magnificent job of describing the scenery and beauty that encompass that entire area, somewhere I long to visit again. "All in all I would highly recommend this book. It was a quick, fun and meaningful read. And as I said before, refreshing in today's market that's saturated with immorality, it was nice to read a book that wasn't preachy, but still morally based. Another great thing is that it's the first in a series with the second book, Spring's Renewal, due out in May. I can't wait!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story. This is an easy read and takes you to a different place. About as good as Brunsettler and Lewis and would like to read the next installment.
HeathersStitches More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and was finished in one rainy afternoon. Easy to follow the characters and plot. I simply can not wait for the second and third book to come out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
estralita More than 1 year ago
As I have read all this series and loved each one I recommend them to all who like to raed about the Amish and their faith.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago