×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Winters in Bloom: A Novel
     

The Winters in Bloom: A Novel

3.4 19
by Lisa Tucker, Joyce Bean (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kyra and David Winter are happier than they ever expected to be. They have a comfortable home, stable careers, and a young son, Michael, whom they adore. Though everyone who knows the Winters considers them extremely overprotective parents, both Kyra and David believe they have good reasons for fearing that something will happen to their little boy. And then, on a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Winters in Bloom 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
retromom More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Lisa Tucker but won't be my last. The first part of the book caught my attention and demanded that I read on. Kyra and David Winter experience one of the the worst nightmares a parent can experience, their son, Michael is abducted. We get a glimpse of what they are going through in the beginning and also get a glimpse of Michael and his abductor although the abductor's identity remains a mystery. The book then goes into the past lives of Kyra and David. We learn how they got to be where they are today and the many people who have been a part of their lives, from Michael's ex-wife to Kyra's estranged sister to their parents. All of the people involved are very interesting characters. They are all very flawed and dysfunctional. This part of the book, while very informative, drove me crazy! It did not move fast enough for me. I wanted to know who had this young boy and why! It felt like it took forever to get Part 3 of the book where we finally learn who took Michael. Part 3 made up for the all the aggravation I felt reading the previous two parts. The suspense was intense until the end. The story is full of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing until the very end. If you like a good story about a dysfunctional family that is character driven, you may like this book. The story does bounce around a bit but if you have some patience, the ending is worth the wait.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
I've always hear there are 3 sides to any problem a couple has - her side, his side and the truth. In the case of THE WINTERS IN BLOOM, the secrets each bring to their marriage creates a most unusual and very sheltered world where the truth is hard to find. David and Kyra Winters appear to be the ideal family with a bright young son, careers they enjoy, and a stable home life. However, both parents are extremely overprotective of their son, Michael, fearing something will happen to him. Then the unthinkable happens and Michael disappears from their backyard one afternoon. As the couple searches for their son, they must each revisit their own troubled past to determine if someone they betrayed has found them. Author Lisa Tucker does a wonderful job of keeping the reader guessing who is behind the kidnapping and why. In addition, her story pulls at the heartstrings reminding readers never to give up hope despite the risks of everyday life. The story is told from both the parents and a grandmother's point of view. The author makes the story flow from one to the other without problems. Though the story goes from present to the characters' past and back again, it is never confusing and the transition is smooth. Narrator Joyce Bean gives panic to the characters when needed and compassion at the difficult scenes. Her delightful voice brings the characters to life and adds depth to this intriguing story. The Winters in Bloom by Lisa Tucker, Read by Joyce Bean, Brilliance Audio, @2011, ISBN: 978-1455819461, Unabridged, 7 Discs, Listening Time: 8 Hours 30 Minutes FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Review by Lisa: Kyra and David Winter seem to have the perfect life. A strong marriage, great careers and a beautiful son named Michael. On an ordinary summer day their perfect life begins to crumble when Michael disappears from their backyard. They each suspect the past they have been running from for so long has finally caught up to them. Krya and David begin to realize that in order for them to move forward, they must revisit the past they have hidden from each other. Lisa Tucker's novel The Winters in Bloom is so much more than a story about a missing child. This is a story that sheds light on the complexity and fragility of a family dealing with many issues. Parental abandonment, drug abuse, postpartum depression and guilt are just a few of the issues the Winters must confront while dealing with the heartbreaking disappearance of Michael. At times The Winters in Bloom was dark, but this is one of the best books I have read this year. The plotting with all of the twists and turns is absolutely brilliant. The character's flaws are written with such compassion and humility. Lisa Tucker weaves the secrets of the Winters family into a haunting story. The characters have stayed with me long after I finished this book. This was the first book I have read by Lisa Tucker and it certainly will not be the last. Amazing. Simply amazing. Favorite Quote: "They each came into the marriage with so many cracks inside themselves that it would have been nothing short of astonishing if having a child together had somehow sealed these cracks forever". "You had to be a mother when you didn't want to; that was how you earned the right to be one when you did".
Jenny_Geek More than 1 year ago
While this book was quite beautifully written, it was pretty depressing. Kyra and David are incredibly over-protective of their son, Michael. Which makes it ironic that he would be taken out of his own backyard. As the story delves deeper, more secrets are unraveled about Kyra and David's past. I remember thinking to myself, "Is that all their secrets are? Those aren't terrible." but by the end of the novel I was quite taken aback at what I learned. The story flips back and forth between character's points of view. Michael's point of view was by far the most interesting to me. It was very apparent just how many warnings in his life he had been given by his parents. Only 5 years old and already so cautious about life. I enjoyed the way the story slowly circled around the characters and brought the reader closer and closer to understanding things as time went on.
bookmon1 More than 1 year ago
THE WINTERS IN BLOOM by Lisa Tucker Kyra and David Winter are the epitome of "helicopter" parents. They keep their young son Michael on a very short leash with many restrictions. They even home school him after imagined issues with schools. Despite all their overprotective measures, little Michael is snatched from his own backyard the first time they decide he can play outside for a limited amount of time. Instead of calling the police, the Winters start their own investigation. They both have serious issues in their pasts that convince them they know who took their son. Author Lisa Tucker crafts a heart wrenching story that slowly reveals the layers of Kyra's and David's lives before they married. The reader is allowed to see all sides of the past which have a dramatic impact on the present. For all their flaws, there is empathy built for the characters. Even with poignant and sad situations, THE WINTERS IN BLOOM is ultimately a tale of redemption and hope. Lisa Tucker is the author of five previous novels that all pack an emotional wallop. My personal favorite is THE SONG READER. THE WINTERS IN BLOOM is a worthy addition to her body of work.
gincam More than 1 year ago
The Winters, David and Kyra, are happy being married to each other and parenting their gifted son, Michael. Their happiness is not without undercurrents, as they each have reason to fear that sudden, devastating loss may enter their lives. In some people, emotional scars are readily apparent. However, there are other people whose inner wounds continue to fester and never heal over. They may appear functional, but the turmoil inside increases in pitch until it escapes, leaving havoc in its wake. Lisa Tucker's story line for "The Winter's in Bloom" takes place in one day. Vividly told flashbacks from each of the characters explain how young Michael Winter came to disappear from his own backyard. At the end of a very long, emotionally revealing day, the resolution comes in an unexpected, hopeful manner. Learning to forgive is cleansing and cathartic. The personal spiritual freedom of letting go of long-held hurts is ultimately life-affirming. Review Copy Gratis Atria Books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic book! I got a chance to read this even though it hasn't been officially released yet. It is beautiful; so full of hope and love. I was in a sort of blue mood the day I read this and the characters just lifted me up. I read this in a day because I was interested in the story. The ending is satisfying, but I would love to stay with these people for another book! by Laurie (Santa Fe, NM)
ToReadPerchancetoDream More than 1 year ago
Winters in Bloom is a stark, realistic view of modern families. It brings up often hidden issues such as post partum depression, anxiety, parental neglect, and drug addiction. The author, Lisa Tucker, shows how these issues affect the individuals inflicted with them as well as how the family members are affected. Perhaps most powerfully, it shows how the family members can be permanently disturbed and end up passing on their troubles to their own children. This book is deep and dark, with nothing to lighten it up for the reader. Maybe because of this, I found it a very slow read. There were some places that I felt were too long, some bits that didn't really help the book could have been cut out - like the part describing Sandra's father. Having said that, I did like how parts of the story were doled out in tiny pieces, keeping me reading to find out what had actually happened. The characters were just okay. It seemed they were all beaten down by incidents in their lives, nothing particularly good happening to anyone. This felt unrealistic, and some happiness would have helped the story and the reader breathe a little. If you like darker novels with some suspense, this book is just right for you. I was given this book to review by the publisher, Atria Books, through Netgalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loislegs More than 1 year ago
I found this novel hard to follow as the time periods keep changing without warning. The subject was not very interesting either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read one or two books a week. If I read I novel I want it to be for pleasure. I found this book to be work! I decided to give up on it half way through because Courtney's second letter to her mother was too hard to follow. Then I read the customer's reviews and was intrigued. I may decide to try it again.
KathyS More than 1 year ago
The Winters In Bloom In writing this review, I have pondered over just how to begin. When I say ponder, I mean, I stayed awake thinking about this story; these characters that are as real as you and me. Do I write about me? Do I write about you? Do I write about this author? Of course not, but even if I where to write our stories, it would be just as difficult for me to describe, as it is to tell you what this story holds in their pages for all of us to see. You have to experience this novel, not just read it! We start out, one morning, seeing a little boy, standing in a wilderness of cut grass, not really knowing how to live in the world around him. The sun rises on an innocent little boy, innocent to what adults can hide; this story revolves around Michael, abducted by a stranger from his own, safe, backyard, and only knowing what his parents had taught him: be cautious of everything - worry about what might, or could, happen. He leaves with a total stranger. How can he be careful of what he has never experienced? How can he see what has never been shown to him? Who, and what can he trust? These are the scenarios we hear in his head. He meets a new world, after being taken away; it's also an evolution through time, and place, for Kyra and David, his parents. The pieces to this puzzle start to pop, like fire crackers in the night, as the scenes of the past start to take revealing shapes! A small child, a product of doting, over protective parents, is what we see----as the sun starts to set. Each of these characters's voice overlaps, their past catches up to one another...this novel tells us how revealing and important a past can be to the future, although, at times it did lose me. This story, in The Winters In Bloom, discloses buried moments in history -no different than each and every one of us, shoving something away, unsaid, or pushing something we've done, down and away, in hopes to never see those unwanted secrets surface, again. Lisa Tucker has an uncanny way of showing us our past in her novels. This one is no exception, as exceptional as it may be! We open up this book, hearing Lisa speak to us from her characters, breathing life and truth into focus by these people; to find the mysteries of the living, as well as the influences of the dead. I won't tell you the story, because it's up to you to find out where this history leads. Lisa Tucker shows us all sides to being a parent, a child, and a grandparent...and this little boy finds out just who he is, and with amazement, who his parents are and will become....to be given a world shown to him through the eyes of forgiveness and redemption.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Humbee More than 1 year ago
The Bookish Dame Reports: With all seriousness I tell you you'll need to set aside a day with no disturbances to read this book. It's a compulsive read. Of all the contemporary novels I've read this year, this is the one that kept me on my toes. Haunting and horrifying in its sheer contemporary relevance, it just kept me reading at a pace I couldn't control. In my early mothering days, I visited my young, corporate attorney husband's office one afternoon after having a particularly trying day with my strong-willed, 5 yr. old son. I was holding back tears, only to find he was in a meeting, when his older, wiser secretary, Vida came to my rescue. Vida had been around the block a time or two. She was grey-haired, tolerated no fools and was not one to be trifled with. She sat me down and gave me the lesson of my life; one that's kept me going ever since. She said, "Listen, you can't win with what you do with your children. No matter what you do, they'll still go to the psychiatrist's office and tell him it's their mother's fault. So, just what you think's best." LOL Jewish mother advice that's been wonderful for me! In "The Winters In Bloom" we find that some of this philosophy was employed to very little avail. Mothering is in short supply. Psychological mysteries of motherhood and psychosis run rampant in this novel. From the perspectives of Kyra and Amy, two girls who were abandoned by their mother, to their niece and daughter respectively; as well as to the mystery of a young mother's death of a child, and the mother-in-law who crosses all their paths...we trace the mental anguish, complications and psychological disorders of sisterhood, being a wife, mothering and becoming a parent. The men involved in these relationships are colored by their intentions and interactions, but also are drawn with an awareness of contemporary roles and emotional integrity. Refreshing, I might add, in literature nowadays. 'though for the most part, they remain silent and uninvolved. These psychological studies, and the mystery of a child abduction that creates the tearing open of secrets everyone has worked long to cover are the crux of this novel. Through the back and forth stories of the participants in the mystery, we're given all the pieces to discern the truth, or at least their individual truths, that will lead to the child's coming home and the full circle of family. Have I said too much? I don't think so. Now you'll have to get this compelling book. You'll never be sorry you did! 5 American mothering stars Deborah/TheBookishDame
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The reviews were very positive, but I was disappointed. The writing was shallow and lacking any literary appeal. I was easily bored with the immature development of the characters and plot. I will not read anything else by this author!