×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wisdom Tree
     

Wisdom Tree

4.5 23
by Mary Manners
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sometimes the last thing we think we need is exactly what God has planned After the death of his parents, Jake Samuels has enough on his plate—including a fledgling church to lead and a mischievous younger brother to raise. The last thing he needs is a rambunctious woman to contend with. Carin O'Malley is dealing with the death of her brother and a new job

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wisdom Tree 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
debbie67 More than 1 year ago
I had the privilege and pleasure of an advance read of this wonderful story about a very human pastor, Jake Samuels, and the woman he falls in love with, Carin O'Malley. When the lives of Jake's parents are claimed in an auto accident, he is left with the reponsibility of raising his teenaged brother, Corey. As you can imagine, such an accident created havoc on both their emotions and the two are trying to put the pieces of their lives back together when in steps Carin. She's Corey's English teacher, and when she and Jake meet for the first time it's a blend of comedy and heart-tugging desire. What happens next is a series of twists and turns that made me laugh, cry and want to throw things. There's not a single scene in the entire book that's not completely engaging. The 31-day devotional--one month's worth of reflections--included at the end of the book is an added bonus. The anecdotes tugged at my heartstrings. Wisdom Tree has a home on my keeper shelf!
Linda Love More than 1 year ago
Wisdom Tree is like a slice of heaven. Jake and Carin make for characters that keep the reader pulled-in. I just couldn't put this beautiful story down!
DonnaSam More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness, Wisdom Tree is an amazing story full of characters that are so believable that I hurt and cheered for them. Jake and Corey have a relationship that we can all empathize with. Carin is the kind of teacher everyone wishes he had. I still think about this book, and I finished reading it days ago. Wonderful!
NanceeMarchinowski More than 1 year ago
Heartwarming & Sensive  Jake Samuels, pastor of a church in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains is raising his younger brother Corey, after their parents were killed in a freak automobile accident. Carin O'Malley has taken on a 7th-grade English teaching position in the local middle school, with the hope of overcoming her own insurmountable losses. Young Corey is a student in Carin's class, and has assumed the role of class troublemaker and underachieving student. Carin visited the church where she had hoped to speak with the pastor regarding his younger brother, and mistakenly believed him to be the groundskeeper. It couldn't have been worse timing for Jake, but he arranged a meeting with Carin for after church on the following Sunday with the goal of discussing ways to improve his younger brother's predicament. Jake has a strong faith in God while Carin has lost her faith as a result of her painful circumstances. Jake, Corey and Carin agree to work together to improve Corey's attitude and lack of effort in school, resulting in a budding attraction between Jack and Carin. Mary Manners is an artist with language, creating detailed portrayals both in character definition and settings. Her usage of descriptive details is both eloquent and authentic. In Wisdom Tree Ms. Manners portrays realistic characters who are likable and believable, and her addition of biblical references is appropriate to the circumstances, adding a beauty to this multilayered story of tragedy, loss, heartache and healing. I was disappointed to have the story end. I'd love to see a sequel to Wisdom Tree. Ms. Manners has also added a daily devotional in the back of the book, which is helpful for those whose faith may not be as well developed, as well as seasoned Christians. I highly recommend this Christian fiction romance. This book was provided by Mary Manners for the sole purpose of my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
LantzKitts More than 1 year ago
What a refreshing read!! A real life story about how a young pastor struggles not only with everyday situations but also with the hard task of raising his teenage brother. The story is real-life not sugar coated and unrealistic. The 31-day devotional is full of opportunities to be reflective. Wisdom Tree is not only a keeper but one to re-read and share with others!
BethErin More than 1 year ago
Carin is a young teacher trying to move forward after the deaths of her mother and her younger brother. She's making a fresh start in a new town and all is going well with the exception of one unruly student. After losing his parents in an accident less than a year ago, Jake is spread thin pastoring his church and raising his kid brother, Corey. Carin goes the extra mile to help Corey change his behavior and turn his grade around. The Wisdom Tree is a sweet romance with some mystery and suspense sprinkled in and a healthy dose of faith. I was happy to see a nice variety of ages among the characters, the inclusion of kids and seniors really made the story come to life. Carin struggled with her relationship with God and with an overbearing ex-boyfriend. Jake wanted to protect both Corey and Carin. I enjoyed the book and appreciated the elements of grief, freedom, forgiveness, faith, and family. I had the opportunity to read and review this book through NetGalley. The opinions expressed are my own.
KathleenFriesen More than 1 year ago
From an inauspicious introduction, Jake and Carin trudge the murky waters of relationship. Jake is trying hard to be the parent his brother needs, only to find his advice and disciplinary efforts ignored. Carin feels a bond with the troubled Corey even before she discovers their similar grief. Mary Manners brings these characters to life in Wisdom Tree, and I found myself involved in their efforts to overcome the difficulties facing them, bringing them close, and pushing them apart. With a strong faith message and even a bonus devotional, Wisdom Tree is a story of redemption and hope. I received this book as a gift from the author, and it earns four stars. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful warm loving story which weaves tragedy, faith and healing through the lives of the main characters. The story is well written and very easy read you will find yourself turning the pages quickly to find where the journey will lead. The author has also provided a wonderful 30 day devotional to allow the reader a journey to their own personal wisdom tree.
ShanfromCan More than 1 year ago
A variety of individuals dealing with grief and life in general, all brought together by their faith in each other, and God. When people look at Christians there is an expectation, and PTL the ministers in this great read lived up to and surpassed what was expected, by holding tight to Him. Fun read, with interesting twists and turns, and nice to see a love story without all the sex so many authors think books need. Also a real bonus is the devotions included at the end of the book to encourage readers to spend time daily with Him as well. I would highly recommend this book, especially for a break from life, and for new Christian women. I was sent this book by Pelican Book group in exchange for a review. Thanks, thoroughly enjoyed this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good clean reading. Taking Wisdom to another level. I enjoyed Mary Manners I will now look for her writings.
chrisGA More than 1 year ago
Wisdom Tree is a gentle story of Jake, Corey, and Carin, wounded souls struggling to find their way while dealing with the debilitating emotions of grief, guilt, anger and confusion. The characters are believable and likeable; and, as their lives unfold in the sweet and often humorous narrative, the reader sees the amazing hand of God in bringing the three together. It is a story of pain and healing, faltering and trusting, doubt and faith, loss and redemption—just as the story of most of us. This book is a refreshing reminder that God has a perfect plan for our lives, whether we understand it or not, and will work things for good if we will just trust and lean on Him. A month of devotional entries accompanies the book. They are short, anecdotal and pertinent. I received the book from the publisher through a giveaway on TBCN in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed
MomFlewSouth More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. The characters ran into some major issued but dealt with them in a realistic manner. I wish it had been longer :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading The Wisdom Tree by Mary Manners. It is an excellent inspirational romance story. I love stories that involve children and families; this one does not disappoint. I will not give a synopsis because other reviewers have done that; however, I thoroughly recommend the book.
dun1 More than 1 year ago
This was a good book and I thought the story was very sweet, but I felt that the end of the book was rushed and there was something lacking with the story. I received a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review from TBCN.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Wisdom Tree by Mary Manners is a heart-felt story of family tragedy and its results. After the sudden death of his parents, Jake, a single adult and full-time pastor, finds himself taking on the role of parent to Corey, his middle school aged brother. Both the man and the boy are dealing with their grief and current situation in different ways. Jake is trying to find the balance between being brother and parent while Corey is acting out in negative ways making the situation difficult. The author weaves Carin, Corey’s young, yet tough English teacher, into the mix to bring about many interesting events. Carin has also suffered recent tragedy in her family. Because of the guilt she carries regarding her own family, she desires to help Corey. Shame, secrets, forgiveness, doubt, and faith all crisscross throughout the story. It’s a book that everyone can identify with in some way. An added bonus is the wonderful set of devotionals that Mrs. Manners placed at the end of the story.
Robbi44 More than 1 year ago
In The Wisdom Tree, Mary Manners shows how faith and time can turn tragedy into something beautiful. The main characters, two brothers, Jake and Corey, and a middle school English teacher, Carin, all hurt from recent family deaths. Each of them has to grieve, grow, and learn that God’s wisdom really does make a difference in everything. I appreciated how the author wove their three lives together into a story that I couldn’t put down.
inspiremichelle More than 1 year ago
Wisdom Tree by Mary Manners What can I say, I love this book. Pastor Jake is raising his orphaned younger brother Corey. When he struggles in Carin’s English class she turns to Jake for help. All three have suffered great loss. God uses Jake’s strong faith to help Carin reclaim hers. While Carin uses her experiences to help Corey she finds more than she bargained for in a relationship with Jake. Mary Manners has brought the characters to life. She found a way to give hope to the hopelessness, faith to the unfaithful and healing to the hurting soul. Her style of writing is believable and shows her strong faith. I especially love the devotional at the end of the book. I highly recommend this book and any other she has written.
sunshineJB More than 1 year ago
This Book Will Touch Your Heart! The loss of a loved one is never easy to handle. Imagine losing your parents at a young age. How do you cope with the pain? How would you feel being raised by an older sibling? Would you act out? Would you be angry? Pastor Jake Samuels has his hands full trying his best to Pastor his church as well as make a good home for his brother Corey. The loss of their parents is great. Carin O'Malley is suffering loss herself. First her Mother and then her brother Cameron. Will she ever stop blaming herself for her 17 year old brothers death? Can she ever trust God again? This is the first book that I have read by Mary Manners. I loved Wisdom Tree because this book was God centerd. Also, the characters in this book were real, meaning they were believable. This same situation could very well have been taken from a life experience. I could relate to what some of the characters were going through. I've experienced a death of a husband, I've been in an abusive relationship, and I have wondered if God was even hearing my prayers. I wish to thank the author for making this book so real. Putting our faith and trust in God can bring us through tough issues that face us in life. I'm looking forward to reading other books by Mary Manners.
DeliaLatham More than 1 year ago
What a beautiful story of heartache and loss, of love and healing...and of the slow, steady, sweet growth of spiritual wisdom. WISDOM TREE is one of those books the reader doesn't want to end. I rooted for Jake and Carin--and young Corey, of course--from page one. My entire being yearned for a happy ending for these three angst-ridden souls, but as the story unfolded and I felt the approach of that very thing, I wanted to scream, "No, no! Not yet! I'm not ready to say good-bye!" I was so reluctant to part company with these characters that I kept reading all the way through the 31-days of devotions at the end (and found them as lovely as the story itself). Nothing is more beautiful than love when it arrives right out of the blue--no plans, no reservations, no phone call to say, "I'm on my way." It just shows up, and has to be dealt with. This is especially true when that first, delicate bloom has to push through multiple layers of pain, regret, angst and sorrow before it can finally unfold its petals. Mary Manners paints this scenario with delicate, painstaking pen strokes (green ink, of course!) that dance across the page and into the reader's heart with an unforgettable, life-altering touch. Read WISDOM TREE. It's time well spent. Just know that when you close that last page, you will not have reached the end. This one will be in your heart for a long time to come.
SusanL0 More than 1 year ago
Jake is a young pastor struggling to gain the respect of his congregation while his younger brother, Corey, seems to do his best to destroy it. In steps Carin O'Malley, and what happens next is a lesson in courage, hope and faith.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mary Manners' Wisdom Tree was well written with very human portrayals of the young minister, Jake Samuels and his love interest, English teacher, Carin O’Malley. So often we put clergy on a pedestal and fail to allow them to come down to earth with the rest of us mere mortals. Ms. Manners approached the couple’s blooming courtship and the problems brought to the relationship from a very realistic perspective. Overcoming grief is a major theme of the book. While coping with grief, the protagonists must also come to terms with issues of guilt, faith and trust. I was not ready for the ending. I expected the villain to rear his head again as so often happens in contemporary drama, perhaps to pose a more ominous threat to Carin or her father. Instead Carin’s ex fades into the sunset and all live happily ever after. While I felt the ending was somewhat abrupt, I was pleasantly surprised by the devotion at the end of the book, the very first of which was as though it had been written especially for me.