×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wise Man's Fear (Kingkiller Chronicle Series #2)
     

The Wise Man's Fear (Kingkiller Chronicle Series #2)

4.7 1625
by Patrick Rothfuss
 

See All Formats & Editions

“There are three things all wise men fear: the sea in storm, a night with no moon, and the anger of a gentle man.”
My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me.

So begins the tale of a hero told from his own point of view—a story unequaled in fantasy literature. Now in The Wise Man’s Fear, Day Two of The Kingkiller

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wise Man's Fear: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day Two 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1625 reviews.
Country_Boy9 More than 1 year ago
Patrick Rothfuss has written another exceptional book. It was worth the wait given how brilliant of a book it truly is. Rothfuss really is a great story teller. For a book of nearly 1000 pages it would be easy to assume he weighed it down with excessive words and passages. That, however, wasn't the case at all. Every word, sentence and paragraph lent itself to the overall story. Nothing excessive and nothing wasted. He never bogged the story down with useless information making it so easy to get lost in the story. In this book he continues to develop the story and characters as fully as possible. I felt, while reading and now after completion, that he did a remarkable job establishing and maintaining the relationships between Kvothe and his friends, allies and enemies. His relationship with Denna and Elodin are particularly fascinating. Devi too. Ah, heck, his relationship with everyone is explained and explored brilliantly by Rothfuss. Rothfuss also introduces more characters for us to get to know. One of the things that makes this book and series so unique is that Rothfuss seems to know where he wants to take this story and is following his vision right to the end. He is giving us both the good and bad parts of his characters. Kvothe isn't perfect and neither is anyone else and he explores every side of his characters. We see their virtues and flaws. He just does a remarkable job in his writing style and story telling. I guess, for me, all I can say to sum this up is that I loved this book. I will gladly wait as long as needed if that's what it takes for Rothfuss to deliver another amazing book. I can't wait to see where Kvothe goes next.
angeleyesAS More than 1 year ago
The Wise Man's Fear is amazing. He is clever, passionate and has a great sense of humor. I enjoyed reading the original characters' development and meeting new ones. It is a great book of three parts. I found myself pausing and re-reading passages or phrases. Patrick Rothfuss's writing is a pleasure to read. His comedy is as perfectly done as his emotional heart-breaking tragedy. The great plotting and timing and somehow turning the improbable into possible kept me fascinated throughout. This is sheer fun and entertainment that will keep your anxiety at a peek until number three is out.
AquaeGrannus More than 1 year ago
This wasn't the review I wanted to write, but rather a response to the whining review that came up when I went to 'review' wherin the Ebook price was the issue. I read a LOT and this series may just be the most enjoyable one EVER. I read fast and I spent 18 hours yesterday and just under 19 hours today with a literal all nighter finishing now at 4:42 AM. how can that not be worth $15 ? 41 CENTS per hour is cheap entertainment these days. Hey if you gotta save WAIT. DON'T whine. There's this amazing thing called a library and another called a second hand bookstore....Or there's a lend function for ebooks. I for one want the author and the publisher to get theirs for bringing it so that they will have the incentive to KEEP up the good work.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Kvothe of the Waystone Inn continues to tell his life history as he sought information and risked his life many times over to learn information about the mythical Chandrian seven; demi deities who brutally murdered his parents leaving him an orphaned child. Kyothe explains he entered the University, but was expelled when he alienated a noble. From school he traveled to Vintas where he got into local politics when he learned of a planned assassination attempt. Adem mercenaries put him on trial and he ended the terror of the King's Road. His escapades led to the lure of Felurian the fae in her realm in which he is the first mortal to escape her seduction while staying sane. Whether he burned down Trebon or chatted with Gods, Kyothe remained resolute that his life's work is to kill the Chadrian. Kvothe has seen much more than any person has ever seen; been to places few believe exists; and conversed with Gods some no longer worshipped and feared. He knows he has become part of the mythos; but, no man can live up to the whispers of the legend they have become, not even Kyothe the wanderer. The second Kingkiller Chronicle (see The Name of the Wind) is a great epic fantasy starring an intriguing lead character. Kyothe has dedicated his life to one goal, but to achieve his obsession he ends up doing a myriad of seemingly sidebar escapades; but these like his time with the Adem and his one night with Felurian enhance his skills as he prepares for the confrontation that he seeks. Although there is repetitive emotional angst (to be expected in a tome just under a thousand pages), fans will relish more of Kyothe's adventures of how an orphan has become the most infamous wizard the world has ever known. Harriet Klausner
Mark Hedl More than 1 year ago
Once you start this series you'll need to prepare yourself to miss sleep, ignore the phone, and skip your various duties until the story is done. I tell you three times... get ready!
cwliner More than 1 year ago
If you haven't read book one, do yourself a favor and read it. Then immediatly run out and buy this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot's continued complexity and weaving kept me interested the entire time. There were a couple slow moments, but they laid the foundation for the higher intensity moments. Great book! The only downside is that I wanted to read the next book ASAP but it's not out yet!
Sandfish More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!! It flows seamlessly from the first book and once you start reading you cant put it down! Now Patrick needs to come out with the third one and make it like 4,000 pages long!!!
kikinass4themidlclass More than 1 year ago
I have to agree with all the other people's high rants about this book so I'll not repeat them. I will add that in addition to characters and a hero that you can't help but love and the already mentioned dash of Harry Potter, you get a little David Copperfield. I read David C. when I was quite young and it left an impression on me. The struggles of a downtrodden child and their climb out of the gutter and onto to becoming a very well-rounded bad-ass captivates me. Patrick reminded me of how wonderful stories can be.
Izzy83 More than 1 year ago
This is a great read, worth the wait. I downloaded and midnight on the first and spent the next 16 hrs., completely engrossed in the story. I had absolutely no problems with availability. B&N did very well with this, the cost is not an issue if you want a book you buy a book if its new either hard copy or digital you are paying for the authors effort not the paper. That being said i would have willingly paid double for this book. My only complaint is now i have to wait for the third installment. Oh well i get to read them both again anyway.
SGWilliams More than 1 year ago
This story continues one mans adventures in a well thought out, detailed and original fantasy world. Anyone who has read through the first book (The Name of the Wind) will be interested to find out what happens to Kvothe next. I would point new readers to that story first, as this book would not work nearly so well as a stand-alone. I found the characters were believable and complex, not just stereotypes or cliches. If I have to find a flaw, I'd complain about the storyline jumping from past to present and back as the protagonist narrates his own life story. At times I found the transition jarring and distracting. However, I'll trust the author to bring that second, seemingly superflous thread to greater importance in the next book when, I believe, the tale will be narrated right up to his current situation in life. At that point, the sidebars we have endured will become the actual story and take on much greater importance. Overall, it is excellent work.
Keltz More than 1 year ago
As the second act of Kvothe's saga, Wise Man's Fear does not disappoint. In fact, if you were engaged by Name of the Wind, skipping Rothfuss' next installment of his Kingkiller Chronicles is unthinkable. My only complaint is that the book is so damn good, I tore through it in just a couple days. So, c'mon, Mr. Rothfuss.... please finish Doors of Stone (#3) before we devoted fans die of thirst out here!
Georgina18 More than 1 year ago
This is the first fantasy book I've ever picked up and if they're all like this, I've been missing something fantastic for 18 longs years. The only reason I ever put it down was because I was too exhausted to keep my eyes open at 5 in the morning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is absolutely wonderful. One of the best,if not the best, book I have read in many years. The author is deeply talented, and has a beautiful turn of phrase. Well worth the money and highly recommended.
heffy More than 1 year ago
I have been reading Fantasy novels for 35 years. All the big names and a lot of the smaller. This is the first time I have ever pre-ordered a book, much less bought it for retail price!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The third book is on its way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have already shared this book with family and friends who are as enthusiastic about the overwhelming satisfaction of reading a great novel as I am. Thank you Patrick or Pat or Paddy.
Ariana_EJR More than 1 year ago
At the risk of sounding like: things were better before, I don't like the huge volumes of fantasy that are being written now. However Rothfuss is worth every page, all 900 of them. His Kvothe manages to be human and terrifying all at the same time, and the plotting is excellent. Not every writer can do flashbacks as Rothfuss can. The book starts in the present where he is hanging out as an innkeeper and the dips between that time and his history. I would advise a potential reader to not start with this one but with Name of the wind. You would get lost otherwise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an incredible sequel and it somehow surpasses The Name of the Wind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The arcanist continues his journey. In the Maer's house, he discovers that the Maer is being slowly poisoned by one of his courtiers, he woos a woman for the Maer, and is then sent on an expedition to get rid of bandits in the Eld. He uses magic to destroy the bandit's encampment, has an interlude with Felurian, returns to the Maer, and is banished when he says he is Edema Ruh. Returning to the university, he is reunited with Denna, briefly.
AuthorTLGray More than 1 year ago
The Story-Weaver Makes an Another Excellent Thread! I’m absolutely intimated at the level of cleverness and whit that Patrick Rothfuss has ingratiated into this second installation of the King-killer Chronicles. Not only is he a talented story weaver, but these two novels are filled with such knowledge, whit, and character development that it would make any fantasy nerd blush. I did quite a few times, actually. If you love a simple story with the regular fantasy formula, this isn’t a tale for you. However, if you love a good puzzle, an over-abundance of science, history, philosophy, mythology, magic – well, a dire thirst for cleverness, then this is a must read. Yet, the genius of Rothfuss is not in the level of intelligent ingredients he weaved into this tale - it’s that he makes his work of art look easy. I love Kvothe, not for his genius, his quick wit, or his talent with music and magic, but for his fallibility, his naivety, and his ignorant innocence. Most of all, I love his drive, his hope, his bravery in the face of adversity, his failures and weaknesses – and despite his confessions, I love his desire for justice. These might be all the traditional elements of a fantasy hero that have been written out thousands of times before, but what makes that formula great is the fact it works. Rothfuss, along with a few other authors I’ve read lately like Michael J. Sullivan, Anthony Ryan, and R.T. Kaelin, really have learned the secret to good character development. In a story about heroes, it’s not always what must be done, or the powers they have, that make them great, but who they must become as a person in order to fulfill their destiny. The process from discovering destiny – to the point of fulfilling it – that is the story. In the King-Killer Chronicles, The Name of the Wind, Kvothe is introduced at the height of his innocence and the beginning of his thirst for knowledge and wonder of the universe around him. He is full of all the awe, wonder, and wild-eyed amazement of childhood as he steps lightly onto the path of his destiny. Then, controversy and adversity descends upon him with the murder of his parents and the introduction of the Chandrian, disrupting that innocence, and introducing him to the path of development of his character. In The Wise Man’s Fear, Kvothe begins to grow up and face the hard realities of his decisions, life and what lay ahead for him. THIS is what I love about his series. Rothfuss doesn’t tell us a story, he allows Kvothe to reveal it to us in a slow development that involves all emotion and intellect. The result: readers become emotionally and intellectually invested, rooting for the hero because of the hero, not the quest. It is this formula that I’m discovering and loving in the epic fantasies I’ve read lately. I hope I can apply it to my own stories, and with authors like Rowling, Rothfuss, Sullivan, Kaelin and Sanderson, I think I’ve got some great inspirations to use. I highly recommend this series, and I want to again thank Michael J. Sullivan for his recommendation. Till next time, ~T.L. Gray Author of the Arcainian Series
Kombatweasel More than 1 year ago
Wise Man's Fear was a great book. The Name of the Wind was a fantastic read. One of those books that I could not put down. Patrick's second book in the series surpassed his first one. I am eagerly waiting his next book in this series. He is becoming a great author and I would put him ing the category of Eddings, Martin, and dare I say it Tolkien.
Russ_Lawrence More than 1 year ago
After burning through The Name of the Wind, the first in this series, at the recommendation of a friend, I was eager to delve right into the followup. Mr. Rothfuss continues his great storytelling style and pacing in this sequel. The way Mr. Rothfuss tells the story within a story (and at times within another story) is masterful and really serves to draw in the reader in all facets. The third person portions of the book, set in the present day, are a great respite from the fast and detailed pacing of the first person story, however, even they tend to slowly build up at times to keep you wondering what will happen next. Even though you are slowly being told the story of how the "infamous and legendary" Kvothe, the main character, is where he is physically and mentally in the present day, you come out wanting more. This is not a fault of the book, but a credit to the author's pacing. All in all, the journey is of the importance, and a great story leads you where the author intends to take you. We may not know why or how Kvothe is where he is, but hearing of young Kvothe's adventures, truthful and honest, from the legend himself is fantastic storytelling within a much larger story yet to come. My only sadness after reading this book is that I don't have the third one yet. In the meantime before May 2013, I will reread them and be ready to continue on the adventure with Mr. Rothfuss and his very interesting and grounded fantasy world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is just plain great. If you like fantasy read this series.
Anonymous 3 months ago
must read this book, great story and I can't wqit for the next book