×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wiser Than Serpents
     

Wiser Than Serpents

4.1 8
by Susan May Warren
 

See All Formats & Editions



Her sister had vanished, trapped in a human slavery ring. To find her, FSB agent Yanna Andrevka arranged her own kidnapping into Taiwan's sex-trafficking trade. And found herself with no way out.

Until Yanna discovered an ally deep undercover: Delta Force captain David Curtiss. He was after the kingpin of the Twin Serpents, the organized crime syndicate

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wiser Than Serpents 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
happyendingamust More than 1 year ago
Always a good story teller. I read anything of Warren's because I know the emotions will grip me by the throat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The run on paragraphs are annoying and switching from one country and plot to another country and plot without a new chapter or warning is ridiculous. It interrupts the story line. It ruined what could have been an interesting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yanna Andrevka goes undercover to try to save her sister, who was kidnapped by ruthless slave traffickers. And who comes to rescue her? None other than David Curtiss, the American Delta Force captain she¿s been secretly in love with since their college days together in Russia. But now they¿re both in trouble, because the kingpin of this human slavery ring, known as the Serpent, knows who they are and has an uncanny way of finding where they are¿and trying to assassinate them. Yanna and David are on the run and fighting their long-standing attraction to each other. But David must resist the urge to care about Yanna, because she¿s not a Christian and isn¿t even open to discussing it. And Yanna has been hurt so many times, she¿s not sure if even David¿if he cared about her¿would be enough to heal her brokenness. And if you¿re a fan of Vicktor and Gracie like I am¿I admit it, I was giddily excited when I saw that there was a story thread involving my two favorite characters from In Sheep¿s Clothing¿then you will get a glimpse of their continuing saga, as they¿hopefully¿inch their way toward matrimony. Oh, how I wanted them to run off to Vegas! But I shouldn¿t give it away. I highly recommend this deliciously satisfying book, the third in the Mission: Russia series. Can¿t wait for the next one!
MichelleSutton More than 1 year ago
Susan May Warren really knows how to write suspenseful tales about unrequited love. Wiser than Serpents contained such passion and spiritual depth that it took my breath away. I loved her Josey series because it's so funny, but I really loved Wiser than Serpents because of the depth of emotion between the main characters in the book. It amazed me how much serious brutality (as in blood and guts) was allowed in this Steeple Hill book. But it was necessary to make the storyline believable. I was impressed, to say the least. Susan's tale of romance and intrigue not only had me turning the pages, but holding my breath each time Yanna and David were together. The sparks between them were electric. I'm serious. And the deep emotional connection they had was beautiful and sacrificial, especially on David's end. He was willing to lay his life on the line so many times because of his love for Yanna. It was exhilarating. And his internal conflict was so intense because he wanted her so badly, but had to deny himself to the point it rocked him to the core. What a heroic hero! Fabulous story and incredibly romantic. I'd give this story a ten out of ten if I had a rating system. Seriously. The ending left me glowing.
Deborah_K More than 1 year ago
This book was a total thrill ride right from the beginning of the story. I felt like I was watching an episode of Alias or 24. Yanna is such a strong female character who does not need to depend on a man to save her. Compared to the other two female leads in this series, she's my favorite because she knows she can take care of herself. I like that she has a soft side as well but it's nice to read about a women who can kick butt and fall in love at the same time. It's appalling to think that the sex slave trade is still very much alive in this world especially in the US. It is scary to think that women can completely vanish off the face of this earth because they have been sold as slaves. I can't imagine how Elena must have felt when she was captured, thinking that there was no way anyone could ever find her. It's an eyeopener for sure. The way the story ends, I think this is the last book for the Mission: Russia series. I really hope there'll be at least one more. I love the characters and I love reading about Russian culture. Susan Warren really displays her knowledge of the country and culture through these books. VERY HIGHLY recommended.