×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wishin' and Hopin'
  • Alternative view 1 of Wishin' and Hopin'
  • Alternative view 2 of Wishin' and Hopin'
     

Wishin' and Hopin'

3.8 224
by Wally Lamb
 

See All Formats & Editions

Wally Lamb, the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hour I First Believed, I Know This Much Is True, and She’s Come Undone, delivers a holiday treat with Wishin’ and Hopin’—an unforgettable novella that captures the warmth and joy of the holiday season. Poignant and hilarious, in a vein

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wishin' and Hopin' 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 224 reviews.
msfinnegan More than 1 year ago
When you are reading Wally Lamb's lastest book you will smile all of the time and laugh out loud half of the time. Did you attend Catholic grade school during the 1960's? Then run don't walk to the book store and pick up this delightful Christmas treasure. Wonderful stocking stuffer. Mr. Lamb kept this book under 275 pages. Wally if you read these reviews, please bring us more stories about Felix and his family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a charming book. I have always enjoyed Wally Lamb's other books and it was quite refreshing to have something so humorous from him. While I never attended parochial schools, I feel that I know what one is like from the book. It has a real charm about it and will become one of my annual Christmas traditions. Happy Holidays Everybody!
Bremyer More than 1 year ago
Set in New London, CT in 1964, this story portrays family, from the child's viewpoint, at its best -- loving, supportive, and full of hope. Wally Lamb captures and seamlessly presents the reality of a more innocent time and warms our hearts with laughter and appreciation in the process. A wonderful book.
Addison3 More than 1 year ago
If you would like to venture into the world of a fifth grade boy going through his family and school life this is a must read! Wally Lamb captures the mind of child perfectly and hilariously. I giggled out loud on every page, in every chapter! This is a light hearted book I will read over and over again.
GranbyLibraryBookClub More than 1 year ago
Our book group gave "Wishin’ and Hopin’" 4.5 stars! What a fun, light quaint read with wonderful "come to life" characters. So many characters in the book are very memorable. Those book group members that went to parochial schools truly related to the story's main setting. Lamb gave the group flashbacks to commercials, TV shows...of the mid- sixties. Well written, would recommend! Left us wishin’ and hopin’ for more Wally Lamb!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I had high hopes being that Lamb is one of my favorite authors, and he didn't disappoint! A great read this time of year.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Looking back over years to In December 1964 when Cassius Clay and the Beatles were kings, Felix Funicello, whose family's claim to fame is being a third cousin to Mickey's Annette, attended the St. Aloysius Gonzaga Parochial School in Connecticut. A fifth grader at the time, he, with the help of twice left back Lonny Flood, caused the meltdown (back then we said nervous breakdown) of their teacher Sisters Dymphna. At the time Felix, the smallest child in the fifth grade was going on Ronald Reagan's TV show Ranger Andy as a Junior Midshipmen and his mom was participating in the TV Pillsbury Bake Off show. The school is doing a Christmas play production while the newest student is Russian tomboy Zhenya Kabakova who competed with the boys in their sports like dodgeball and "bezbull." All the students assumed she is a Soviet spy. Felix who was ranked as the second best student knew he could never catch the #1 Rosalie Twerski because she worked the teachers. When his mom melted down on TV frightening the host Reagan, Felix vows to save the family honor. Looking like the comic strip character Dondi, he goes on Ranger Andy and tells a dirty joke that turns Reagan's face red. However, it is the shenanigans involving the Christmas play that will go down in parochial school infamy. This humorous hysterical historical tale targets two prime groups though other readers will appreciate the pranks too. Young adults will root for the feisty almost famous Felix and nostalgic boomers like me (elementary school student at the time) who know Annette by her first name and remember the Louisville Lip before he became Ali. Wally Lamb provides an engaging look at 1964, a pivotal year in American culture with the British invasion and our first environmentally conscious politician Lady Bird beautifying America. This is a winner. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book quickly, as I do all of Mr Lamb's books...I was thrilled to see another book out so soon from him! It was charming, and like all his books, his narrative feels authentic. She's Come Undone has been my favorite book since it was first chosen for Oprah's book club, and I've read them all and love them all. This is a quick, easy, enjoyable read, and I can't wait for the next one!!!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Once again, Lamb finds the voice of a youngster that is believable and in this case, hysterically funny and clever, and keeps you turning the page while bringing you back to your own childhood memories. Recommend this one for a great, light, fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand three times and post this at three others book and check under your pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wishin' and Hopin' was a delight. Being Italian, teaching in a Catholic School for seven years and knowing fifth grade students certainly increased my enjoyment of this book however it is not a pre-requisite. The scenes in the Catholic Schools were very realistic as well as the dialogue among the fifth grade children . I laughed out loud when the nuns wimple fell off because when I was young I remember my first glimpse at finding the nun I was so afraid of had a bald head. The scene with the Christmas play was also riotous. A nice light read o a dreary winter afternoon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After long and stressful days, a great read to relax and enjoy. Kept me smiling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy and fun read for the Holidays! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and enjoyed two of Wally Lamb's books in the past. While this book was a little different from his normal content, it was a wonderful, amusing, light-hearted read. Even though the book was set in 1964, I couldn't help but see similarities between my own childhood and classmates in the 1980's... Didn't we all have a Rosalie and a Lonnie in our class? I also saw similarities with my son's current 5th grade class. Several times throughout the book I laughed out loud! If you are looking for a light, humorous read, I would definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wil make you smile
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago