×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Witch Heart (Elemental Witches Series #3)
     

Witch Heart (Elemental Witches Series #3)

4.1 48
by Anya Bast
 

See All Formats & Editions

Third in the Elemental Witch series from the national bestselling author

View our feature on Anya Bast’s Witch Heart.

Claire, a demon’s handmaiden, is rescued from enslavement by a handsome playboy. Now they’re both in danger of being captured by warlocks who are determined to harness Claire’s powers for evil.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Witch Heart (Elemental Witches Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the demon realm of Eudae human witch Claire saved the life of coven leader Thomas Monahan when he was held prisoner. However the handmaiden to Rue demon decided to stay on Eudae rather than return to earth with Thomas When Atrika demons attack Rue, he instills a powerful magical weapon the elium inside Claire and sends her back to Earth.

Fire witch Adam Tyrell rescues Claire even as demons led by Atrikan military Commander Tevan chase after her to retrieve the elium from her. Stunned by the changes on earth since she became a handmaiden over two decades ago, Claire goes with Thomas, Adam and the rest of the coven, who know they must prevent the Atrika from obtaining the magical weapon and also somehow safely remove the elium from Claire without killing their patient.

The third Witch Blood urban romantic fantasy (see WITCH FIRE and WITCH BLOOD) is a fabulous tale as Adam risks his life and his heart to keep his beloved Claire safe. The story line is fast-paced from the onset with deadly Tevan relentlessly tracking down the heroine while Adam and his coven do everything they can to protect her. Fans will enjoy the third bewitching blast as the witch and the handmaiden fall in love, even as the enemy keeps on coming to steal the elium without regard to Claire¿s wellbeing.

Harriet Klausner
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
I strongly recommend the previous books in this series be read (Witch Fire and Witch Blood) before reading this book. I enjoyed this story, it was fast paced and action-packed. Claire the earth witch slave we met in the previous book Witch Blood, fines herself in a pickle when in turn she herself, has been involuntarily pushed through the doorway from Eudea (the demon realm) to the human realm. Having very little knowledge for the human culture, Claire cleverly tries to survive and out-wit the two demon-hunters who have been tracking her to kill her. Adam, a fire witch from Thomas Monahan's coven, volunteers to help Claire hide from the demon-hunters. Things progressed quickly between Adam and Claire but the chemistry between them felt coincidental and predictable. There was plenty of magic, mystery and intrigue. However I didn't enjoy this book was much as the first two in the series. Don't get me wrong, I was interested pretty much through the entire book; but there was a certain pizzazz lacking from the story. I categorize this book as a paranormal romance fantasy and therefore recommend this book and series to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers, who have an abundance of patience and tolerance, to circumnavigate through the many sex scenes in order to remain with the plot, as well as weed through the overly predictable sections. I look forward to reading the next book in the series Witch Fury.
jjmachshev More than 1 year ago
Well, Anya Bast continues building her intricate universe with "Witch Heart", book three in her 'Elemental Witches' series. Bast has made a very successful crossover from smaller erotica publishers to wicked hot mainstream publishing. Her stories still carry the added oomph that's characteristic of her writing background. This series is building to what should be a battle of epic proportions if she keeps it up! With each book, as soon as I begin I'm pulled back into her worlds of daemons and witches and can't stop reading until I run out of pages!

If you've been following this series (and I DON'T suggest you try to pick it up here cause you'll miss a lot), then you already met Claire, the heroine witch of this book, in book two "Witch Blood". Although a human witch, when Claire was six her mother dragged into the daemon world in a bid for power. For twenty-three years Claire has been the 'pet' and experiment of the most powerful of one of the daemon races. When that race is attacked by another, her 'owner' inserts a powerful magical weapon into Claire and then pushes her through a gate to Earth...chased by two warrior daemons! Because of her upbringing, Claire is extremely naive regarding the customs and pleasures of Earth and manages to find herself in trouble pretty quickly.

Adam is a fire witch and a healer who lost his human wife to violence and has never gotten over the guilt of her loss. He's a love-'em-and-leave-'em type who, in a way, uses meaningless sex to overcome his internal pain while on the outside, he's a happy-go-lucky a$$-kicker for the Coven. When he is on the team sent to 'rescue' Claire, he's immediately drawn to her and the more time he spends with her the stronger the pull. Between running from daemons and exposing Claire to all (and I do mean ALL) she's missed so far in her life, he's falling hard and fast, though angrily, in love with her. But the daemons chasing Claire have no intention of leaving Earth without the weapon she carries, and they're perfectly happy...no, ecstatic, to kill her in order to get it.

Another tense run of magic, love, battle, and sex. Bast's pacing keeps you turning the pages eager to find out what happens next. The HEA is good without being at all sappy and the sexual tension and sex scenes are smokin'! My only beef was with Adam's initial waffling...I'd have either kicked him in the goods or thrown him down to suffer my attentions, but Claire's reactions were dead on for someone with her level of relationship experience. Now I'm chewing my nails and waiting for "Witch Fury" which should hit the shelves in June 2009.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Just finished this book and can't wait to start the final one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katrea Leverette More than 1 year ago
very good. love anya bast. I love getting lost in fantasy worlds and she helps me do just that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephanie Hudson More than 1 year ago
After reading book two and not relating with the characters, I was weary of this book. I shouldn't have had doubts. This book delivers with steamy romance and a plot twist that takes this series to a new level. Could not. Put this. Book. Down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago