×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Witch of Blackbird Pond
     

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

4.3 582
by Elizabeth George Speare
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kit Tyler is marked by suspicion and disapproval from the moment she arrives on the unfamiliar shores of colonial Connecticut in 1687. Alone and desperate, she has been forced to leave her beloved home on the island of Barbados and join a family she has never met. Torn between her quest for belonging and her desire to be true to herself, Kit struggles to survive in a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Witch of Blackbird Pond 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 582 reviews.
gumbaya More than 1 year ago
I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfather dies. She goes to live with her puritan Aunt and Uncle then she mets Hannah, a Quaker who is suspected of witchcraft. A really eye-opening view of Puritan times. If you enjoy learning about different periods in history set within a great story, then this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous, sweetly romantic read. Kit and Nat will stay with you long after the last sentence is read.
LivelyRach More than 1 year ago
I am easily swept up in this period book. From the first few lines I ache for the tropical flare of Kit's beloved home. Now, an adventure awaits a newly blossoming girl in such drab settings. I feel that Kit's character is someone that a lot of people can indenify with despite the period. This book teachs you not to be afraid of the unknown, that through hard work and determination one really finds themselves, and finally never to settle. Never go looking outside of yourself to appease the masses. Love is and always will be there with you. In the words of Hannah herself, "There is no escape if love is not there." Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is all about a girl named Kit from Barbous (the Indies). She lived with her grandfather in Barbous, and a friend of her grandfather stole his money. His friend asked for Kit's hand in marriage, and he tried to make her believe that her grandfather wanted to. But, she still refused to marry and refused to believe him. So, that is why she left Barbous and went to Connectict by boat. On the way she met a boy named Nat. When they were on a smaller boat a child lost it's toy in the water. So, she got in the water, swam towards the toy , and gave it back to the child. Nobody knew that she was able to swim so they thought she floated like a with in the water. When they got to shore, she went to her relative's home, and they decided to let her stay. Kit got out her clothes & she let her cousins try them on. They looked beautiful on them. But, her uncle was rude to her & told her to get the clothes out of his sight. I better not spoil the book for all of you. Also, he said something else mean to Kit & I read the book at school. So, I know that it is a really good book! Trust me!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first 3 quarters of this book (for school. Would have finished it had I not changed schools.)and was genuinely glad with it. The beginning was a little slow and most of my class (eighth grade) hardly understood it, but it gets better and faster paced as you go. I would reccomend reading it to see for yourself but if you don't trust my word than don't. As far as I was able to read it was very good. I apologize if there u any errors in my review, I am using my nook to write this...lol.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best book i have on my nook! You should buy it because it has mystery, action, and maybe a hint of romance!!!! This is an interesting book!! Bunnygirl () () (. .) (' ')
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thi book i wonderful. Kit is an amazing girl. I totally enjoyed this book, especially when my mom read it to me out loud. It starred slow, but the book worked itself into an exciting frenzy. Highly recomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this novel when I was in elementary my mom bought it for me, because it was a favorite of hers, and I reread it till today. I continue to read it because it takes me to another time in history, I love the descriptions that she used, and how the novel flowed.This novel shows how a girl can be true to herself and not give in to convention or what is popular.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a very good book, for any age. It left me wondering what was going to happen as I read each page. I would highly reccommend it for any age, including anyone who loves to read. Although the tittle says Witch, it is not a scary book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The behinning was a little dry. At first I hated it. Then in the 6th chapter I started to enjoy it!!!! The ending was cool!
book_lover123 More than 1 year ago
Good book. I had to read it for a project, so I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have if I'd read it some other time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How could you not lik this book? It is one of the best! Read it in middle school and and in Jr. High still loven it! To everyone else awsome book. You need to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book just shows how wrong we all view people's own individual rights. Yes,I would recommend this for young and old alike. very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Be carfull dont stop reading if u think its borring because every word counts very good i prafer for u to read this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't really like it at first because it very slow ,but the end is really good. I just wish she keep going at the end for a little while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to ask if it is good then it is i read it in mrs.fords class with my class mates p.s im in fith grade
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little wierd at first but i guess as u get into it a bit more things start speeding up a bit In fifth grade i had to do a big report on historical fiction and my teacher chose this one for me to read! I dont think its a good sit at home and relax book nut definatly if u were doing a project i might choose this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved sooo much im willing to read it over and over again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book. Im a person who really doesnt like historical things. Take it from me its amazing!!!!!
book-lover99 More than 1 year ago
I'm in 7th grade so my teacher is making us read it and I just finished it!! I LOVE IT! At first I was like "Ew another stupid boring book that makes no sense" but now I'm like " I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS AFTERWARDS!!!" I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was great
acgEDRD3301 More than 1 year ago
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare is a historical fiction novel about Katherine ¿Kit¿ Tyler, a teenage girl who leaves her sunny home of Barbados to live with her aunt and uncle in Connecticut in April of 1687. In Kit¿s new home and town, she is treated as an outsider for not fitting in the mold that the townspeople hold. The reader is left questioning how Kit is going to cope with living in this strange, new town. This novel showed the view of Puritans back in the 1600s. As a future teacher, I believe students would be entertained by this book, and would begin to question why people treat others a certain way. The Witch of Blackbird Pond is great for 4th grade and older.
P.Clark More than 1 year ago
Sixteen-year-old Kit Tyler knew the time that she arrived in the cold state of Connecticut that it was not going to be anything like her old home in the Caribbean islands. Kit knew that her life would not be the same. She now has to live with her aunt, uncle and cousins, who do not seem to like her very much. Soon, Kit meets someone who feels just like she does, like she does not belong. This person is the old woman known as the `Witch of Blackbird Pond.¿ Kit was soon faced with many issues while she was staying in Connecticut, one of them being, she was accused of doing witchcraft.
I read the interesting book THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND, a very famous and well-written book by Elizabeth George Speare. It received a John Newberry Medal in 1921, for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children
My opinion of this book is it has a strong plot, fully realistic characters, and a convincing atmosphere with a great picture on how our country worked during the 1600-1700s. The book starts slow, but overall it is a great book!
This book is about a free-spirited girl named Kit who comes to live with her relatives in Connecticut after her grandfather passes. Very soon Kit¿s aunt, uncle, and cousins start to like her and Kit starts to like them too. But, the only place where she finds herself feeling comfortable is in the small home of Hannah Tupper--`The Witch of Blackbird Pond.' A sudden illness that overcomes the town leads to certain members to form a mob and attack Hannah. Kit finds herself forced to save this new friend of hers and is then accused of doing witchcraft herself. Other plots in this story also make it a great book to read, like the romantic mess Kit and her cousin find themselves.
I think that Kit was the protagonist. Protagonist meaning the main character and/or the hero in the book. The person I think was the antagonist was Hannah Tupper. Antagonist meaning the character/friend that helps the story flow.
Over all, THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND was a fantastic book. The characters were well described and the book was well written!! I do recommend this book to anyone! It was GREAT!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iss gud