×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Witness to Hope: The Biography of Pope John Paul II
     

Witness to Hope: The Biography of Pope John Paul II

4.8 21
by George Weigel
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Definitive Biography of Pope John Paul II

Witness to Hope is the authoritative biography of one of the singular figures -- some might argue the singular figure -- of our time. With unprecedented cooperation from John Paul II and the people who knew and worked with him throughout his life, George Weigel offers a groundbreaking portrait of the Pope as

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Witness to Hope: The Biography of Pope John Paul II 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Lisasutherland More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book if you enjoy history and want to gain insight into the intrigue of the Catholic hierarchy and the Pope's internal dialogue with God. The book also gave a detailed understanding of Catholic teachings and the politics within the Vatican. You will gain a better understanding of the real role the Pope played in bringing down the iron curtain. Thoroughly enjoyed this book although at times it was fairly dense in terms of the theological teachings.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book inspired me to be proud of my Polish heritage. The Pope is a great man and truly one of God's own Apostles on earth. I even found a few relatives mentioned in his book. His trials and tribulations in life are surpassed by his infinite wisdom granted by God for his dedicated religous and human rights beliefs. He is truly a man of courage and faith. God Bless You sir for making the earth a better place in my humble Protestant opinion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is massive, but unlike War and Peace, I didn't get bored over the two months it took to read it. I feel like I know John Paul II as an old friend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This biography of the Pope cannot be overpraised. The author reveals the Christian humanistic vision which makes the Pope tick. He shows the link between the defense of human freedom (the human rights crusade) and the demand for Catholic coherence (the reassertion of church discipline), which other observers wrongly consider contradictory. No viewpoint, of course, is neutral. I don't find convincing the criticism of John Paul II's opposition to the Gulf War. The entry into war was precipitous, it only strengthened Hussein's grip, and the Pope is on the side of the angels in his longstanding call to lift the sanctions against the people of Iraq. The neo-con bias tends to sweep all before it. Still, this is the definitive portrait of the Pope.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This biography of Pope John Paul II is a very well researched and written book. Having a deep respect for the Pope, and having read other books on Pope John Paul II and also of all other previous Popes, I feel that I have a better insight into the life of Pope John Paul II. His life story and his successes are very historic & inspiring in nature, and Mr Weigel has shared this biography in a superb manner to the world. This Pope of our times is (as should be)a excellent role model to all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago