×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wit's End
     

Wit's End

3.7 12
by Karen Joy Fowler
 

See All Formats & Editions

"[A] delightful and eccentric new tale"(The Boston Globe) from the author of the runaway bestseller The Jane Austen Book Club

In Karen Joy Fowler's newest novel, the bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club once again delivers top-notch storytelling, creating characters both oddball and endearing in a voice that is utterly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wit's End 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mysteries are my weakness, and the whole idea of the doll-house murder scenes in Wit's End was so delightful to start with that I was drawn right in. Fowler sets off in a voice that is fresh and original, stirring in quirky characters with great names like Scorch - some of whom are 'real,' some of whom are characters in books within the book, and some of whom are both. The funky Santa Cruz scene and a cult outpost called Holy City are as fascinating on the page as the real Santa Cruz is. And when a mini-murder corps (named Thomas Grand) mysteriously disappears, the fun really begins. As Rima - one of those characters who both is real and fictional, at least in some fans' minds! - tries to uncover the truth about her family, the reader is treated to wonderfully funny and true insights about human nature and the way we behave online and off. Wit's End is without a doubt one of the freshest, most original books I've read this year!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After the death of her father (expected), Rima Lannisell moves from Cleveland, Ohio to Santa Cruz, California to stay with her godmother, famous mystery author, A.B. Early a woman whom she hardly knows. During her stay, Rima plans to find out just what the story is behind Addison's relationship with her father. The majority of the plot focuses on Rima becoming embroiled in her own 'Maxwell Lane' mystery, making it sometimes difficult to tell what is 'real' and what is fantasy. During Rima's quest to find out about the relationship between Addison and her deceased father, Rima finds herself becoming a detective with the help of Addison's fictional detective, Maxwell Lane. Much of the plot centers around letters written during the early times of Addisons career from a woman named Constance Wellington, who lived in Holy City - a transformed cult. The reader soon finds that Addison is quite obsessed with cults. Most of the time, Rima is a self-pitying woman who continues to mourn the death of her brother, Oliver, who's been dead about four years. Personally, I found Rima the least likable character of the bunch, but it didn't interfere with the reading of the novel. Fowler interlaces humorous characters (with Addison Early, herself, and other secondary characters) while still making them appear as real as can be. The commentary about online blogs and 'everyone being a writer' (through Addison) is hilarious and oh-so true. The plot ties together neatly at the end, but also wants you to hope for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The.mystery is mundaine. Keep waiting for something to happen, it never did.
sugarpy18 More than 1 year ago
I definitely enjoyed this book. The characters were very endearing, the plot was very original and the author's writing style is very pleasant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked "The Jane Austin's Book Club" and looked forward to reading this novel. But I didn't enjoy this one as much. I never could figure out if the main protaganist was an older woman or a 20-something- that didn't seem clear to me-but maybe I missed something. I hope this author's next novel/short stories will be more entertaining.
Librarymooose More than 1 year ago
I got engrossed in this title when I first encountered the mystery aspect of it and thought it would turn out to be one in fact. It is o.k. that it isn't a mystery even though it wanted to be! I got lost toward the middle of it because of the incomplete descriptions of how why the main character was at her aunt's house in the first place. When the internet aspect came into play, that's when I started to sense the contemporary effort behind the work. I was vaguely unsatisfied with the ending...not enough actual 'blood and gore' that one comes to look for in a real mystery.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Santa Cruz, California, twenty-nine years old Rima Lanisell visits her godmother mystery writer Addison Early at the latter's oceanfront house Wit's End. Addison is extremely popular for her Maxwell Lane mysteries, but is somewhat a recluse. Her former boyfriend Bim is a recurring character in her novels even as she mourns his recent death; as does his daughter Rima although the latter grieves her brother much more although he died four years ago.----------- For every one of her mysteries Addison creates a dollhouse display of the prime murder scene. However, as her deadline comes closer, she has not started her prototype. Meanwhile Rima has gone through years old correspondence especially fascinated by those involving Constance Wellington of the Holy City cult stronghold, and the dedicated online discussion boards to learn the truth behind the Maxwell Lane novels; she is shocked that even she is a subject of fan discussion. The more she learns about her godmother, her father, and others; the less she understands.---------------- The storyline focuses on how much change has occurred in communications due to the Internet as once an author and a fan might relate one to one, but now a fan can communicate with many other fans instantly. Addison is a terrific character who brings a sense of ironic humor to the mix while her fab fans dissect every comma in her seeking nuances of universal truisms. Rima is not as likable as her godmother, as she wears her grief as armor, but she is the catalyst with her slight probing into the past. WIT'S END is an engaging profound tale with a wry wit that makes the case fame is no longer fifteen minutes since the Internet makes celebrity status seemingly eternal even when the hits stop coming.--------- Harriet Klausner
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
I got about halfway through this book, and enjoyed some great laughs, but the story seemed to wander so much it couldn't hold my interest. It was also a bit vague as to exactly what the mystery was. I believe the lead character, a young woman named Rima, is trying to find out more about her deceased father. Eccentric characters abound, and the author knows how to deliver some hilarious one-liners. I just prefer something with more suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just didn't get the point of this book. I kept reading only out of a vague curiousity about what would happen. My high school English teacher taught me that every story needs a climax, but I guess if this book had one, I missed it. The story just meandered along, and it never grabbed my attention. It wasn't bad reading... just wasn't very satisfying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a pleasure to read. Such witty writing and interesting premise. It would be a fabulous book club choice.