×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wizard Heir (The Heir Chronicles Series #2)
     

The Wizard Heir (The Heir Chronicles Series #2)

4.4 459
by Cinda Williams Chima
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sixteen-year-old Seph McCauley has spent the past three years getting kicked out of one exclusive private school after another. And it's not his attitude that's the problem. It's the trail of magical accidents-lately, disasters-that follow in his wake. Seph is a wizard, orphaned and untrained—and his powers are escalating out of control.

After causing a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wizard Heir (Heir Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 459 reviews.
DieselMonkey More than 1 year ago
I have never enjoyed reading much throughout my life, rarley finding anything that interested me. However, one day, in the bookstore with my Wife, I thought I would give it a shot. This book was in the sale section, later to discover, it is normlly sold in the teen section. Fortunately, I fully enjoyed the book, realizing after I read it, it was part two of a three part series. I picked up The Warrior Heir (part 1) and then the Dragon Heir (part 3) and loved them all. These books have really started a huge reading spree for me as within the week, after finishing this three part series, im in to a new series, barely able to put them down, see below under recommendations. I highly recommend this series if you have a flair for fantasy types and love a good story, its very PG but the Author does a good job of making you not notice. This series is certainly a good read, especially for young adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish people would stop saying this book is like harry potter. It is NOTHING like harry potter. Its way better. Ive read all three. My friend bought the first book and she let me read it. I didnt think it would be all that great but i was very wrong. So of course i had to read the other two. In my opinion the second book was the best. It so suspenseful and had me reading to the very end. Even a week after i finished i still kept going back to read it. This book is good for people who like teen fantasy/fiction.
carlosmock More than 1 year ago
This is the second installment in Ms. Chima's "Heir Chronicles." Joseph (Seth) McCauley has spent the last three years getting kicked out of one exclusive private school or another. He lands at The Heavens, a private school for the "difficult" children. The Heavens is run by Dr. Gregory Leicester-a wizard himself-who has controlled of fourteen "alumni"--all of the wizards who have had their wizard stones fused with Dr. Leicester to augment their power. Dr. Gregory Leicester tries in vain to get Seth to join his stone with him. Seth is tortured and made miserable until he finds help from another wizard, Jason Haley. Since Seth is very powerful, but has not been trained, Jason helps him survive the torments by Leicester until Linda Downey, an enchanter gets Seth to Trinity, Ohio, which was made a sanctuary by the last tournament. Linda, she discloses to Seth that he is a Weirlind, part part of a society of magical people that comprises sorcerers, wizards, enchanters and warriors. At their helm sits the feuding houses of the Red Rose-lead by Geoffrey Wylie-and The White Rose, lead by Dr. Jessamine Longbeach. Everyone has a Weirbook with their ancestry on it but since Seth is an orphan he borrows Jack's to train as a wizard (Jack is part wizard but with a warrior stone). Last year-the first Heir book-the control of the Hoards and their guilds have been in disarray. There was a tournament at Raven's Ghyll and an army of ghosts showed up, the players, Jack Swift and Ellen Stephenson, revolted and the rules were changed in favor of the lesser members of the guild, thus making wizards less powerful. Leander Hastings, who was involved with Linda and trained Jack to fight at the Raven's Ghyll, has called a council. Hastings wants to preserve the new order, but Claude d'Orsey, the prior head of the guild is plotting with Leicester and his alumni to restore the old order. A second council is called to approve a new constitution and all the players are caled. It is meant to be a trap to the Hastings group, but Seth, his friends Jason and Madison Moss join forces to save the day. This book sets the third installment since the constitution was stolen from the council and could be enforced unless someone stops the thief. Readers will be thrilled with this exceptional second installment of the series. Chima uses her pen a wand and crafts a rich web of magic. You'll be taken by her pitch perfect blend of high fantasy and small town reality. Better than Harry Potter-Chima brings to life the clash of magic and the ordinary that most authors would need an entire series to create. She has created an epic battle between good and evil. Could not put the book down!
NinjaReader22 More than 1 year ago
Just as I loved the Warrior Heir, I also love this one as well. At first, I was sad because it was about a different character from the first book, but then I'm like "OH SNAP!!!!! THIS IS FREAKIN' AWESOME!!!" because you feel for Seph and he is very likable. This book was so good, suspenseful, and thrilling that I believe it surpassed the Warrior Heir by a long shot. But if you haven't read the Warrior Heir, you should find it and start with it first for more background information.
Ravenclaww More than 1 year ago
That feeling when I first started reading (Order of the Phoenix was my first book). I was so excited to be reading an adventure and since I read the Harry Potter series I haven't gotten that feeling. Yet as I finished the book at 3 in the morning, the feeling returned. I found myself turning pages as I craved for more information. The ending was amazing I mean it made me hate characters, it made me love characters and even gain respect for some. The beginning of the book when Seph (main character) went into the Havens and his time there. Felt like my freshman year of High School. Pure hell I felt just like Seph. And reading his adventure and as he lived there brought the memories back and I connected with Seph very very well. Chima's writing is so beautifuly put together. I never found myself questioning what I was reading. (Only questioning the characters and their actions and suchs which is a good thing). And I flowed through the book gracefully. For a book and author not well known is very sad. She has to be on the best sellers list because this book was amazing. I'm not talking about fan girls over Edward amazing. I'm talking about, people with brains and who love twists and turns and love to find out things themselves good. I would put her up there with J.K. Rowling. Because it's just that good. In my opinion at least. I can not wait to read The Dragon Heir and I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You sould read: The Demon King The Exiled Queen The Looking Glass Wars Seeing Redd All these books are just as good as The Wizard Heir!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book loved it a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish that they would make morw than just one book and keep the series going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!!!
Slik_Mr_Clean More than 1 year ago
Dude just when you think man Warrior Heir was the best book ever, Chima smacks another right in your face!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice suspenseful plot it leaves you wondering what wil happen next.
Ameelove More than 1 year ago
I began reading the Heir series because I knew I liked Cinda Williams Chima's writing. She did not disappoint. This book was incredible. I couldn't put it down. I've ignored many of my classes to get this book finished. I was completely absorbed from the start. I recommend the Heir Series to anyone who enjoys well written books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful read. Definitely worth your time! A little darker than the first one, but in the end, it's all good. Overall a great series and wonderful author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
6768 More than 1 year ago
Well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That book is soooo awesome because i love majic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago