×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wolfsbane
     

Wolfsbane

4.6 36
by Ronie Kendig
 

See All Formats & Editions

A 2012 Christy Award Winner.  Embark upon a danger-laden mission within the pages of Ronie Kendig’s riveting Wolfsbane. Demolitions expert Danielle Roark thought escaping from a brutal Venezuelan general was a challenge. Now she’s charged with espionage and returned to the jungle where a new nightmare begins. Will Dani survive or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wolfsbane 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
COULD NOT STOP reading this one. I have really enjoyed all the Discarded Heroes books but this one was "wicked good". Seriously wounded main characters who overcome so much to come into their faith and find peace. Ms. Kendig stretches herself and her writing. Not a "typical" Christian fiction read. Easily fits in with mainstream romantic suspense in my opionin.
ganderson523 More than 1 year ago
WOLFSBANE, the third book in the Discarded Heroes series is about Canyon "Midas" Metcalfe. Canyon is a former Green Beret in the Army and was recruited by Olin Lambert to become a member of the elite team of former soldiers, Nightshade. He is the medic for the team. The team's missions include taking care of unlawful groups that prey on innocent people around the world. This includes jobs that world governments won't touch. The team is a secret group known to Olin Lambert and a few others. Canyon is a discarded hero because while still active duty and on a mission in the Philipines, a village was bombed by an air strike of which Canyon was unfairly accused of orchestrating. Canyon was there to train locals on combat methods to help them to be able to protect themselves against guerilla and enemy forces. This was a secret mission of the US government that he can not talk about or he would suffer consequences. He can't defend himself. Olin Lambert is touched personally in this story when his goddaughter, Danielle Roark, a Demolitions expert with Army Corp of Engineers, and her team is attacked by a group of guerillas headed up by a rogue general in Venezuela. Danielle is abducted by the Venezuelan general named Bruzon and held captive for months. She is finally to able to escape her prison, jump off a cliff and find a way to float until found by the US Coast Guard and Coastie Range Metcalfe, Canyon's brother. Before escaping the prison Bruzon held her in, she managed to get a flash drive that held plans to his compound that showed an underground area housing nuclear weapons. She tied the drive to a tooth and swallowed it so that she wouldn't lose it. Unfortunately, upon returning to the states, the tables were turned on her and she was accused of espionage. In order to exonerate herself, she agrees to go on a dangerous mission back to Venezuela to show where he has the weapons stored. Nightshade escorts her on this mission but the mission seems to be compromised from the beginning. Canyon is attracted to Danielle but so is his brother Range. This book is a roller coaster of adventure and danger with a heavy emotional undercurrent as Canyon fights his attraction to Danielle and she is attracted to him. There is a secondary story going on that took place years before in a village that you have read to understand what and who is being talked about. There are unexpected twists and turns brought out in the story. Canyon has so many problems that he finally realizes that he needs God's way to solve his issues and not his own. Another winner by Ronie Kendig.
Jaquelyn More than 1 year ago
I literally could not put Wolfsbane down!  That is until my husband forced me to go to bed, and then I couldn’t fall asleep because I kept thinking about it and dying to know what was going to happen next.  The characters are so real I feel like I know them.  If you haven’t read any of the Quiet Professionals Series you’ll want to get them all!  In Wolfsbane we learn a lot more about Canyon aka Midas.  This book is so full of twists, turns, and action.  God’s love and forgiveness show through out the story, and the characters aren’t perfect, which is refreshing.  A complete must read!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. And I consider myself athletic. (Though compared to the goons in my school, I can run at light speed) Wonderful, as always! Please continue! Part… I don't know what part it is is out at pol! Read it! (Did you give up on your TD fanfics?)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ronie keeps getting better and better with each story. If they decide to make a movie out of the series this is the book they will use. Best one so far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed suspense and romance all rolled into one. This is a wonderful series. Don't miss a one! Ronie is a wonderful writer.
MaryAnnF More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Maybe some situations were a bit beyond believable, but it's fiction. I wanted to keep reading to find out exactly how things were going to work out.
Aeryn_Neuman More than 1 year ago
So, I've known since book #1 in the Discarded Heroes series that I had a soft spot for Canyon. There were a couple of scenes in Nightshade where I just really connected with him, so I've been looking forward to Wolfsbane most. And, dude! I thought I loved Ronie's other books. I mean, I DID! But I need a new vocabulary for how much I love this one!!! Wolfsbane just might make it onto my "most favorite books ever" list. It's the best book of the series by far, which is crazy since they're ALL so incredible. I totally wanted to flip back and start from the beginning immediately after finishing it. This is the degree to which it rocked my face off. In writing courses, they always say the secret of a good suspense/thriller is asking yourself what the worst possible scenario is and then trying to make THAT worse. Well, Ronie Kendig is the QUEEN of making it worse--I have never read a novel that did a better job of that than Wolfsbane. I was literally screaming "you have got to be kidding me!" Once I was even reading in the waiting room while getting my car fixed, and people were staring at me because I could not stop gasping and cringing. Ridiculous! In all the good ways! Stop reading this review and buy this book immediately!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have read the entire series and loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarB1 More than 1 year ago
That one word describes the whole book: AWESOME. Phew, what a great read! What an action, suspense, adrenaline filled read! Everytime I read another book by Ronie Kendig I'm convinced it was her best yet. Canyon Metcalfe is a guy I could easily love. Maybe because he's a bit like my husband. :) None of his problems are related to my husband, but the way he handles things is alike, so that tells a lot about Ronie's excellent imagination! Danielle Roark was captured, tormented and raped in Venezuela. She escaped with shocking proof that the cruel general that kept her for six months has nuclear weapons, but at home the American government doesn't believe her. She has to go back to that awful place to come up with more proof. Canyon's brother rescued Danielle out of the ocean when she escaped Venezuela. He falls in love with Dani, but she's not interested in men... until she meets Canyon. Canyon likes her too, but because of a promise he made to his brother he can't pursue her. Things get complicated when Nightshade is the team that escort Danielle back to Venezuela. Can Canyon live up to that promise? Is Nightshade capable to find the proof and keep Danielle save? This book is so fast paced that you hardly have time to take a calming breath before the next action. Action, adventure, military, suspense and romance lovers - this book is for you!
azreaderSR More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised by this whole Discarded Heroes series. Each book is action-packed, suspenseful, exciting. I didn't want to put them down! My only criticism would be that while the action story line was great, the romances were a little too syrupy for me. I'm all for romance mixed with suspense, but at times the love story part was too repetitive. The Christian perspective of the characters was refreshing. Oh that it were so in the real world!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was set as "next in series" in the discover section of book 1. This is actually book 3. Could someone change this?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TBCN More than 1 year ago
I was thankful for the review copy of this realistic, thought-provoking, fast-paced novel. It had me look at war in a way I hadn't before. It's a gift to be able to write such a compelling, death-defying drama that stirs a reader's emotions deep to the depth of their soul. Ronnie Kendig has this gift and talent. This author had me laugh, cry and glued to the page anticipating the enemies next move. I was instantly wrapped up into her characters and there horrific situation. If this book were a movie I would have covered my eyes in several parts because I was afraid of what would happen next and what I might see. Yes, I'm a chicken! Grin! But since I've read several of Ronnie's books already I knew things wouldn't get too graphic. That was reassuring. Ronie Kendig pens an honest portrayal of how disturbing it is to be a female POW. Women face unique challenges to survive. A person never knows what they'll be willing to do to escape. Fear. Hatred. Guilt. Hope. Finally--Peace are all felt. Ronnie takes the reader through a wide range of emotions with her larger than life characters. The rhythm and flow of this suspenseful story-line took the reader from extreme riveting highs, to heart-wrenching moments you'll never forget. This is a book you'll want to experience. This author has written a powerful and moving book that transported me to the front lines of war like I've never experienced before. I could feel the intense humidity, hear the explosion of gunfire, see through their night goggles, and hear the intense quiet sounds of the enemy slivering near; it's nothing like you've ever seen or heard before. There is a depth and intensity in the characters that touched me. This is a page-turning action story, with vivid imagery, engaging characters, and a lot of heart. I highly recommend Wolfsbane, It's brilliantly written and an emotionally compelling a book you shouldn't miss!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
Ah, yes. All is right with the world because Ronie Kendig has another book in her Discarded Heroes Series out! Her style of writing with strong characters, tight plots filled with suspense and danger and lots of drama from the past all rolled into one is so intense that I can hardly put her books down. Wolfsbane doesn't disappoint and all I could think the whole time I am reading it is - how much longer until the next one comes out!!! If you haven't read Ronie Kendig yet then you must dive in now, but start with the first book so you can enjoy the development of her characters as you go! I'm going to add a comment regarding some of the controversy around one of the plot lines in this book. Christians aren't perfect. Most of us would like to think we are, but sadly we aren't and we wouldn't need God's grace if we were. This is shown clearly in this particular book and I loved that Ronie stuck her neck out and showed this so well. God's grace will cover a multitude of sins, consequences must still be dealt with but God forgives. I believe this particular storyline will allow some Christians dealing with condemnation to believe this and receive forgiveness for themselves. Kudos to Ronie for her bravery in that area as a writer!
COF93 More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!!!! I would recommend this book and all of her other books to anyone!
phillipslisa More than 1 year ago
Danielle Roark, a Lieutenant and demolitions expert is in Venezuela with her team when they are ambushed. The men are held for ransom, but as the only woman Dani is taken to their General where she is tortured and raped (a lot) for 6 months. Eventually she manages to escape with a flash drive. Problem is the information on it is too perfect. The Senate committee doesn't believe her because information on her computer suggests she and the General are in league together, so maybe she's a traitor. Enter Canyon Metcalfe, black ops soldier with a tainted past and brother of the man who pulled Dani from the ocean after her escape. The guy who (along with his team) has to take her back to the very place she was held. Tension between the brothers complicated what would otherwise be a straightforward boy meets girl. But nothing about this book is straightforward! The reader is forced to throw out everything they think they know and by the end you're fighting for the surface along with the characters. Everything about this book was a surprise to me, from the level of evil, the abject betrayals, the manipulation, the secrets, and the fact both main characters (one present, one past) had in their lives attempted to commit suicide. Coincidence? No, I think God pairs us with the one person who is capable of understanding us all the way to the core. Bad language: None. "He cursed" is how it's dealt with. Maybe that's not realistic for soldiers, maybe a lot of them cuss every other word but that's okay with me. I can handle it being inferred instead off blatant. Nudity: Obviously the rapes, not explicitly described, but when the character thinks/talks about it I think it's supposed to make you uncomfortable. It's an uncomfortable topic, but all too real. The two main characters, in a fit of passion while on the mission, do get intimate with each other but it's done off camera. We end one scene with him sliding up the hem of her clothing, and next we find them in bed naked post-making love. Yes, Christian characters (or at least those who profess to be) don't usually act this way in Inspirational fiction, but it is a realistic part of life. It disappointed me a little that their reactions were like, 'oops'. There didn't seem to be real conviction until later. But I did respect the fact that it was part of their journey, the dealing with it, the moving on and learning, that was real to me. The narrative when the soldiers are doing their soldering thing felt a little explain-y but hey, I'm not a special ops soldier so I need the why's explained to me. All in all, a thrill ride of a book that kept me tied up all the way until I'd finished the last page.
angelmom1165 More than 1 year ago
Ronie has done it again! Wolfsbane is awesome! She has written about some really hard topics but done it in a way that doesn't make you feel uncomfortable or unable to continue reading. Quite the opposite. I sat on the edge of my seat for the last quarter of the book as it got more and more intense waiting to see how things would turn out. Canyon and his family have a lot more depth than I had imagined. But you could tell from the first book that there were secrets that needed to be uncovered about him. Dani is a great new character and fits into this line perfectly. She is strong, determined and a fighter. She goes through so much but find the will to survive. I can't wait for the next book to come out in January. And I can only hope that her publishers will approve other books in the series. I love the characters and want to know their stories, too.
Rosalie_P More than 1 year ago
Ronie Kendig gives us another amazing book in her series that follows Canyon MetCalfe, otherwise known as Midas. While being of the strongest, most dependable men on the Nightshade team, he has undergone tragedy and unimaginable hurt in his career as a Green Beret that will come crashing back into his life. His world is action packed and danger filled, but when he and his team are tasked to take a woman back to a place that was her hell on earth so she can prove her innocence, life gets interesting. Her protection becomes personal and he has to try to fight growing attraction and a brother that has already laid claim to her. Mistakes are made and people are hurt, who will he turn to? Will Canyon be able to admit, overcome, and grow from the mistakes and challenges in his life or will he choose to live his life in a hard shell? Ronie uses her gift to weave this heart-breaking, thrilling suspense, and heart-warming story that pulls you into it as if you were there with the characters. She has the talent that she is able to write the really hard scenes and also put in the story of redemption and God's amazing love and forgiveness. Definitely an awesome book that I recommend to everyone. You might want to have tissues nearby for happy and sad tears...and something under your chair in case you fall off the edge :)