×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wolverine's Daughter
     

Wolverine's Daughter

4.6 28
by Doranna Durgin
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Wolverine's Daughter is hard-tempered by her struggle to survive in the hostile Keturan mountains; she knows nothing of the Outlands, or of her father...or of the curse behind her puzzling clumsiness. But she's about to find out what it means to be in those Outlands...and they're about to find out what it means to have her. Award-winning author Doranna Durgin has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wolverine's Daughter 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
AdrianneM More than 1 year ago
This delightful coming of age story is told with an understated sense of humor and manages to turn many of the conventions of the traditional fantasy on their ear. It’s rare enough to find a strong, self-reliant female main character in fantasy. Durgin not only does a beautiful job of developing Kelyn, she finds humorous ways to show culture clash, and the issues surrounding someone who doesn’t quite fit other people’s expectations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kelyn is clumsy. Incredibly clumsy. Except when she's not - and when she's not, she's an incredible fighter. And she doesn't know the "why" of either state of being. Maybe she's cursed. Maybe it's the famous warrior father she never met, known only as The Wolverine. What's a girl to do? Go find out, of course. Kelyn's journey - quest, really - to find the man who sired her, and the adventures she has along the way is a great, fast, read (fast, because you won't be able to put it down). Durgin has a gift for creating richly layered characters who you can't help but love and root for, as they go over, under or through the many obstacles and trials the author throws their way. Lots of action, great characters, and prose that sparkles with wit and humor.
Jaymikal More than 1 year ago
This story follows Kelyn, brave warrior of the Keturans as she attempts to find her father, the "Wolverine", and somehow break the curse of clumsiness that has been cast upon her. In order to accomplish this quest, she must leave the rugged mountains where she and her people live and venture to the Outlands and begin her search for her father, whom she's never met. If you're a fan of sword and sorcery stories, then you'll truly enjoy this book. Kelyn's character reminds me of Xena, from the old tv series. She's an excellent warrior who prefers solitude over civilization, yet her quest forces her to venture into several large cities where she experiences first hand the harsh reality that not everyone can be trusted. She is befriended by a group of Traders (reminds me of gypsies) and travels with them to continue her search. I'm not the sort of person who'll give away spoilers, so I won't say what happens next, but I will say that it's definitely worth checking out. A few things. I know one of the major plot points was the curse of clumsiness that has befallen Kelyn, and it was mentioned several times, but not really in that much detail. I would have liked to have seen a little more explanation into the curse, why it was cast upon her, etc. I would have also liked to have seen a little more explanation on how the "Needle" was created, how it was used, how it was used to track them, etc. All in all, a very satisfying story of high adventure. I very easily lost myself in it for a day. Good job, Ms. Durgin!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing like what I expected but still great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She is a tough cookie just like her father. Loved the action and the search. I am a fan of strong women (or girls) and magic and especially when the strong female doesnt even know how strong she is but finds out!!! You'll really enjoy this book, not boring for sure. You should read WOLVERINE'S DAUGHTER EMERGING LEGACY first though since it really is the beginning of her story. Just a short one and not required to enjoy this one but just gives a little background on her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
michaelhoogkamer More than 1 year ago
Kelyn of Ketura, the daughter of the legendary warrior Wolverine, is on a quest to find her father, who left the mountains he called home, before she was born. After the death of her mother, the local wise-woman tells her to pursue  this search, and by doing so gives her the push to come of age by herself. Surviving all odds against the hostile Keturan mountains, and overcoming her own naïveté and clumsiness, we are allowed to follow and travel with her, to find her father, and ultimately to find her own true self. Although she is angered by the abandonment, the lure of adventure is stronger, and with swords and sorcery we are plunged into a magical fantasy world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Durgin's "Wolverine's Daughter" is a fun, exciting sword and sorcery fantasy. Think of it as Conan the Barbarian, but with a female lead. And switching the gender of her main character allows Durgin to undermine quite a few fantasy tropes eg Kelyn wears practical clothing, often goes barefoot, decides for herself when to have sex (rather than be an object of lust for the men around her), and so on. The witch hunt that Kelyn unwittingly stumbles into adds a second layer, allowing Durgin to explore the nature of women's power and how it is too easily distrusted and oppressed by men. Highly recommended to fans of Mercedes Lackey. -- lyradora
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable read with good story line. I hope the author continues to develop the characters in more depth and follows the story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read more from this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She isnt your regular heroine she definetly kicks ass and NO 11 OF COURSE YOU SAY SOMETHING LIKE THAT H8ERS GONNA H8 RIGHT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EXCELLENT READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is she The Wolvorines daughter? As in Hugh Jackman Wolvorine or not? I'm so confused.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's an awesome movie and book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I knew u were zack. Ellie just followed us to ho.ok up with u.