×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wolves in Chic Clothing
     

Wolves in Chic Clothing

3.7 18
by Carrie Karasyov
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Right Address, Carrie Karasyov and Jill Kargman seared through the upper crust of New York’s glitterati with wicked glee. In their delicious new novel, Wolves in Chic Clothing, they train their merciless spotlight on the young princes and princesses poised to inherit Park Avenue.
Julia, a hip, downtown salesgirl at Pelham’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wolves in Chic Clothing 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you can get past the absolutely ridiculous and cliche dialoge, this is actually a pretty good book. Yes, the plot is as old as they come but for some reason, I still got hooked. It's a great light read, a weekend or beach book when you're just looking for some mindless entertainment. I liken it to a silly movie on Lifetime...yeah, it's dumb and trite but we still watch, no? Give it a chance. These authors tell a great story, but need to show some creativity with dialoge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheBookResort More than 1 year ago
Wolves in Chic Clothing is as delicious as a banana split oozing w/ hot fudge, caramel & butterscotch! Forget Chick Lit, I'm talking juicy Gossip Lit. Yum! Dig in! Set against the glittering backdrop of New York City, Karasyov & Kargman co-author a tale dripping w/ wicked goodness. Welcome to the lush, decadent society sphere that few live but many dream of making it their own. Ahhh, the glitz & glamour of the beautiful people, wrapped in ravishing clothes, dining @ extravagant restaurants, shopping @ posh boutiques & living the moneyed life. *Sigh*. Wolves in Chic Clothing's irresistible Julia goes from ingénue to trendsetting sweetheart unexpectedly. Genteel Lell Pelham, heiress of Pelham's, leader of the highbred hyenas is about to stroll down the aisle. Psst! WHATEVER YOU DO, PLEASE, DO NOT PICTURE PARIS HILTON! Yes, polished Lell has landed the "perfect chap" in Willoughby Banks, a man w/wandering eyeballs, a passion for Lell's assets & the determination to ingratiate himself into the blue blood realm. The rest of the players have interesting stories that Karasyov & Kargman showcase smoothly. Subsequently, Julia realizes that the opulent life of the Big Apple's blooming aristocracy isn't as amazing as it appears. Karasyov & Kargman do such an outstanding job w/ narration, you will find yourself not only yearning to live the life of the well-heeled but living it as you turn each scrumptious page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading chicklit books, but I have to say, this was pretty disappointing. I felt like the authors forgot who the main character was and that the secondary characters were taking over the story. If they wanted to write about Lell and Polly and Hope, they should get their own story I think. I just felt like I didn't even know Julia that well, the "main character". Didn't really care for the way Julia acted towards Lell's husband either. She should have known that was a mistake waiting to happen. Would have preferred if Oscar had played a bigger role in the story. The only reason I gave this book two stars was because I didn't hate it enough to not finish it at all. I kept hoping it would get better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
a great beach read. buy it today! its great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading 'The Devil Wears Prada' last summer, I discovered that while the characters in the book are the antithesis of who I am, it makes for some juicy, can't-put-it-down reading. I purchased this book under the pretenses that it was similar. While it made for an easy read, the plot was flimsy, the characters were over the top, there was no real plot resolution (it was sloppily tied up in the last 10 pages or so), and don't even get me started on the number of spelling, grammatical, and punctuation errors. Lines such as ¿`I agree¿, he agreed.¿ would almost fool me into thinking this book was written by a high school freshman. That notion is quickly quashed however when the vocabulary used by the (supposedly) 20-something characters includes ¿rockin robin¿ to describe a piece of jewelry that is cool, or hip. I mean seriously, has anyone used that phrase in the last 20 years? I eventually began to laugh out loud at the absurdity of the writing. An example being the ruggedly handsome Willoughby Banks staring longingly at what was supposed to be (but inevitably wasn¿t) the story¿s heroine, Julia Pearce. Trying to focus on his newspaper, ¿¿the Dow Jones Industrial wasn¿t the only thing that was rising¿¿ I mean COME ON! Normally, I would sum this up to just your average piece of entertainment, trying to piggyback off of the success of other shows, pieces of literature, etc. (i.e. Candace Bushnell and Lauren Weisberger). However I paid $17 for this poorly written copycat, and I would recommend that no one else do the same.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For all those dreams of the how others live, here is an answer you can live with. Not only do the 'ordinary' survive, they can triumph as well. Enjoyable,quick and a good change of pace from more serious fare. If you are not sure what 'chicklit' is or if you care for it, try this one. It is just the right about of glitz, glamour, snobishness and fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't know what to expect from this book since I hated The Right Address. But this book was great, very entertaining, and a light, quick read. It had the right mix of plot and designer labels, unlike Right Address which was no plot, just designer labels. I highly recommend Wolves....
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was easy to get into and I couldn't put it down once I started! It was chock full of tongue-in-cheek humor (such as the 'absurd causes' mentioned by another reviewer -- they were supposed to be silly!) and jokes at the expense of the selfish, spoiled and completely self-absorbed people the book targets in it's title. Anyone who has experienced the 'Mean Girl' phenomenon exhibited by so many women and cliques in today's society will understand the ring of truth behind the fiction. Plus, the ending is quite rewarding! I would definatly reccomend this book for a beach read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a really great, quick read. very funny and entertaining!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was by far PAINFULLY boring!! i am so disappontied..after 167 pages out of 264 I had to put it down..i have never done that..it was completly pointless..i cannot believe it was published!I usually find good in most books but this was so dumb..no point but descriptions of rich clothes and vavatcions and BORING charity functions...(not that i am agaginst charity) but they were ubsurd causes...please don't waste you time or hard earned money on this book..i have piles i wanna read and i wasted so much time on this foolish book. i was skimming it by 120pages b/c it was SO boring.. enough said...people mag picked this as a great summer read..you are better off watching the waves roll in...much more intresting...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Smart. quick and funny. Just the escape from the bleak headlines of the papers and TV. Pure fun with a good and bad side to choose between. The story is crisp,but has been told before. It is just the tonic for a Spring weekend with dreary skies.