BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Woman in White

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A lost classic

Where has this book been all my life? Written in the time of Dickens and Stoker and as good as either, this is a shockingly modern thriller/mystery.

This United Holdings Group edition is very good, with no typos or scan errors that I noticed. Worth the buck over ...
Where has this book been all my life? Written in the time of Dickens and Stoker and as good as either, this is a shockingly modern thriller/mystery.

This United Holdings Group edition is very good, with no typos or scan errors that I noticed. Worth the buck over the free version which is riddled with errors.

posted by 6739614 on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A good read

The Woman in White is a Victorian mystery that is considered to be one of the best mysteries ever written. Written in 1859, it takes the form of an early detective novel with an amateur sleuth. The plot (man marries woman and schemes to get her money), albeit predictabl...
The Woman in White is a Victorian mystery that is considered to be one of the best mysteries ever written. Written in 1859, it takes the form of an early detective novel with an amateur sleuth. The plot (man marries woman and schemes to get her money), albeit predictable by today's standards, is plausible, entertaining and, at times, slightly suspenseful. I attribute this slightness to the Victorian language itself. I'm not a fan of that style of speaking and found myself frustrated at times and thinking just get on with it all ready, stop dragging things out. The story is told from the viewpoints of several characters - much like a legal deposition where each character relates what he/she knows about certain events.
-----
The characters were interesting and memorable; however, I was disappointed in the characterization/treatment of women - weak and inferior. Was this an accurate portrayal for the times? I don't know. I have read other Victorian novels and didn't come away with the same feeling. Because of his portrayal of women, Mr. Collins didn't do justice to Marion Halcombe, one of the more memorable characters in the novel. A greater role would have been appreciated more by today's society but, in 1859, who knows. Creating a lead woman character who 'out thinks' a man may have been taboo. The other memorable character was Count Fosco, the mastermind behind everything evil in the world. I am being a bit facetious; however, the character was so full of himself that I couldn't help but inflate his imaginary ego a little more. His character was fully developed - I didn't like him and found him frustrating - once again this could be attributed to the Victorian language.
-----
Overall, I did like the novel; however, the above issues prevent me from giving it more than three stars. I recommend to those who enjoy Victorian literature and those who would like to read one of the first mystery novels. This is a long book and not a quick read - you will be in it for the long haul - which you will enjoy.

posted by CathyB on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    A lost classic

    Where has this book been all my life? Written in the time of Dickens and Stoker and as good as either, this is a shockingly modern thriller/mystery.

    This United Holdings Group edition is very good, with no typos or scan errors that I noticed. Worth the buck over the free version which is riddled with errors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Quintessential Mystery Novel

    Often lauded as the first true mystery novel, "The Woman in White" is as intriguing as it is original. The plot is carefully crafted and often surprising in its twists and turns.

    The characters are painstakingly crafted and beautifully developed (particularly Count Fosco) and, by the middle of the book, I found I was worrying over the fate of the hero and heroine in spite of myself.

    Admittedly, I found this novel slow to start, but once all of the characters were on the proverbial stage, things moved rather quickly. All in all, this novel is worth the read for avid mystery novel readers interested in how the mystery genre first became popular. Incidentally, Collins wrote some wonderful psychological/ghost thrillers, which I have recommended it below. Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    The Castle

    Crumbles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Nathan

    Leaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Kai

    Holy crap! Ive heard about uriah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    HH

    All of them either freeze or electricute to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    To imperatpr k

    Turns out you have bad spelling and grammar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    To Real konoha

    Go to yours and stygians book and post a symbol youve never used before. When he gets here post that symbol here and he will proclaim you real.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Who kohona!

    You think your soo invincable with a new symbol well guess what punk? Im coming for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    TO IMPERATOR K WITH ONE STAR

    You said you had perfect grammar but your i isnt cpitalized inyour post!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Imperator K TO ALL

    "I have to go because of Family business. Please DO NOT listen to that other imposter!" &#48679

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Tito Sniw ж

    Looks at the Imeriators.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Imperator K业 TO ALL

    Ignore the trolls. Camp is still at frankenstein.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    YO!

    BTW I DON'T USE MY SYMBOL! EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Tito Fireforest 喇

    Meh..........people. I missed something while went to the bathroom. And now I grg. Tootles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Classic - Excellent NOOK version

    This is a classic book, so my review will be of this particular NOOK publication. For an inexpensive product, this version had no printing flaws or typo errors that may be seen in other public domain publications.

    Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I began reading this book because of Andrew Lloyd Webber's music

    I began reading this book because of Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical version of this book. I am a huge Michael Crawford fan, and he was in the musical in England. I even have the soundtrack. I had listened to soundtrack once, but of course, I didn't understand it. I had read a couple people's reviews of the story, and I thought I should give it a try.

    I began reading this, and it did not begin slowly as so many classics do. I used to joke that classics were always slow for the first 50 pages. It was rare to find one that captured your attention from the beginning. I think this one captured me almost from the beginning. Wilkie Collins puts you right into the midst of the story, and you, as the reader, are not even truly sure of what is going on. You want to keep reading.

    My two favorite characters were Marian and Count Fosco. (That is actually ironic. You'll have to read the book to catch my meaning.)

    I liked Marian because she was such a strong woman. I love it when male authors--especially the classics--are able to write about strong women who really impact the story. And yet she remains feminine in spite of it all. The only sad thing is that she never marries. It's the wimpy Laura who gets married and has a child. Go figure. I guess strong women back then didn't get married. At least according to Wilkie Collins.

    I enjoyed the character of Count Fosco because he was so devilishly evil and yet so likable. I kept imagining how Michael Crawford would have played the part--he would have been ideal.

    I truly enjoyed the mystery in the book. I did not have everything figured out--there were so many layers and twists and turns! Goodness! Easily the best mystery I have read in ages.

    I would say the only reasons someone would not like the book is that it is long, and it is written in Victorian language instead of our modern-day lingo. I would recommend this as a mystery and as a classic. I look forward to reading more Wilkie Collins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    The Woman in White

    Excellent suspence novel . The format was refreshingly different. Written in the first person as a journal. The characters were well developed and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    War

    Smiles. "Nice."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5