×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom: Creating Physical and Emotional Health and Healing
     

Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom: Creating Physical and Emotional Health and Healing

4.1 54
by Christiane Northrup
 

See All Formats & Editions

When it was first published in 1994, Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom quickly became an international bestseller, and for the past fifteen years it has remained the veritable bible of women’s health. Now, in this revised and updated edition, world-renowned and much-beloved women’s health expert Dr. Christiane Northrup shares with us the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I stumbled upon this book in a book store, skimmed through it out of curiosity, ended up buying it and have hardly put it down since. It is important that women who read this book share it with their children, sibblings, spouses, parents and friends. I have told almost every woman and some men, I have come across to read it. Dr. Northurp is bright, insightful and brave. She has confirmed many things I have thought about and shared with my Gyn, to no avail. I have been pumped full of toxic drugs that have created side effects more severe that the original problem. I am going to give my GYN a copy of this book for Christmas. The information on the effects of diet is priceless. It makes perfect sense that the body and mind must be treated together because one so clearly affects the other. The book is well written, logical and long overdue. Although I do not agree with everything I have read in it, I think that is a plus, because it makes her more human and real. Additionally, anything that is so powerful can have no shortfalls because it can only empower those who read it.
purposeful More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book, well researched, easy to read, a must for women who want to make the most of their lives.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have not read the whole book but it is a wake up call to all. Living in the Western World we believe Doctors know best and all. WRONG!!! Eastern medicine teaches us to treat the body as a whole. Native American Medicine teaches us natural remedies work also. So many people listen to the doctors and drug companies they have given up on trying other ways. This is not NEW AGE at all, drugs are not saying the are all bad because they aren't. Just look at what has happened over the years so many drug recalls. HMMM give this book and others like it a real chance. Try and be open minded.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw Dr. Northrup on Oprah several years ago and was very moved by her candor and courage. I purchased her first book and have referred to it often. This book is equally wonderful. Every woman should read it and keep it nearby for ongoing reference.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although Christiane Northrup's books are geared to women, many men can learn from her wisdom, and those of us in health care are really on a 'need to know' basis. I am espcially appreciative of the fact that she recognizes the connection between the emotions and the wellness of the physical body connection. My sister won't let go of this book which speaks for itself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderfully smart book that illustrates how women have the ability to heal themselves and others. There is so much positive energy at work in a healthy woman. This book provides the information women need to tap into this positive energy. I like the way it was written too. It was not difficult to read. I discovered many things I can use right now and I plan to read it again later to get more. This is the best book on health I have found.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very insighful to learn about all the changes and phases that as women we through the lenght of our lives.
jlay More than 1 year ago
I am impressed with this book! very informative and thought provoking! I learned a lot about myself and women in general. This book can be read for reference or read from front to back for pure enjoyment. I reccommend it to all women!! Sit down and enjoy!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't even do this book justice with a simple review. All I can say is that it's everything I expected and more. It was chocked with great information that every woman should know and should use. I would recommend on this book for every woman. I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.
PamelaWells More than 1 year ago
Every woman should read this book and every man should buy the women in his life this book. Empowering women worldwide with knowledge about their own bodies in the most practical of terms, this book covers a broad range of women's health issues with the balanced yet practical wisdom of mind-body wellness. I recommend this book to all my friends and it has been a permanent addition to my favorite books collection. This book was a foundational book for me and gave me greater understanding into both my body and mind. Christine is a wonderful teacher, mentor and true healer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr Northrup connects the dots between disease and the mind. She shows how one's life events can contribute to the overall health of all women and how we can avoid some very serious diseases. A great reference!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book, because my mom is going through menopause, and we (my family) wanted to better understand some of the intricacies. This book has led to some great understanding and also discussions between me and my mom...so I highly recommend this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Northrup is so knowledgeable and straightfoward that one cannot help but agree with her. My mother recommended this book to me and I have never regretted purchasing it 4 years ago!! I have read most of the book, occasionally focusing on areas of health I have questions on. Her expertise has saved me from a lifetime of chronic infections and given me hope for the future as a healthy, empowered woman!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My doctors had given up treating my endometriosis and deferred to the typical hysterectomy 'cure' - and I'm only 34 years old! Disheartened, I went into a local vitamin/herbal store, hoping for an alternative treatment. Before the woman in the store would sell me anything, she referred me to this book. She had w worn copy she used as a reference for all of her female customers with problems like mine. A week later, I decided to buy a copy of the book for myself. Holy cow! I'm so glad I did! Not only have I found a way to deal with the symptoms of my endometriosis, but also many other 'womanly' afflictions that have caused gynecologists to just throw their hands up in frustrated futility. Yes, it's kinda new age. Yes, it examines how psychological factors affect a woman's health. But the recommendations WORK - which is all that matters to me. It's written in an easy-to-understand manner. Maybe not everything in the book is for everyone (I've read some of the other negative comments about specific parts of the book) - but the book as a whole is a valuable tool for any woman.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book completely changed my outlook on being female. I've always felt that my periods were a handicap -- something to be overcome and controlled. After reading this book I see that this attitude is patriarchal and harmful to my well-being. Now I understand that when I'm emotional before my period I'm not being 'crazy' or 'unreasonable.' Whenever I used these disparaging terms to get me to 'snap out of it,' I would always feel worse, not better. Women have periods for a reason and to medicate, control or dismiss a normal bodily function is wrong, wrong, wrong. Yes, this book is somewhat new-age but in world in which we unquestionly gulp down pills to 'fix' whatevers ailing us, this book is the voice of reason. Besides it never recommends to avoid mainstream medicine at all costs. It merely suggests to try some less invasive alternatives first. Our bodies know more than any pharmaceutical company -- it's time we started listening.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for no-nonsense information, this is not the book for you. Lots of new age advise, including the suggestion that you remain awake during a hysterectomy so you can say 'thank you, and goodbye' to your uterus.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is written in easy to understand style -- as opposed to doctorese. It is packed with information about how and often why a woman's body works the way it does. Dr. Northup explains in detail a woman's life stages and what to expect. How to interpret physical and lab exam reports. This should be required reading for college students taking womens' studies and on every woman's bookshelf.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Finally, someone who had the courage to tell women what is REALLY going on with their bodies when they turn 40. Doctors have always told us to take a pill...it will go away or...'its just your hormones out of control' or....you're just going through the change or...you are PMSing.... I have a word for them... YADDA YADDA YADDA!!!!!.... Thank God for your words of wisdom Christiane Northup. I'm not crazy afterall!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Christiane includes sound, common sense remedies for our feminine ills - they have certainly worked wonders for me! Her thoughtful, teaching manner of presentation helped me to develop a new perspective on my own health care and well-being. After 20 years on the pill, my OB-GYN gave me Prozac for painful menstrul cramps & PMS, and over the counter yeast cream for irritating, recurring Candida skin rash. Neither worked. Christiane offered different nutritional suggestions - no dairy or red meat just before & during cycle days - and simple supplements that make the cramps go away, or even never happen (magnesium, E and evening primrose oil, among others). As for the Candida - I learned from her that it is systemic, followed her dietary and nutrient supplement suggestions and now have no problem with it. Also learned alot about my own emotional connections and relevance to these conditions in the process - whew, major insights! Armed with her alternative advice and knowledge, I no longer feel victemized by a small-town, male dominated, complacent medical system! I am smart and pay attention, and am now pro-active in my own well being and, more importantly, in my Dr's office!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book uses both scientific logic and alternative solutions to explain how and why a womans body does what it does. For years I have suffered from endometriosis and severe PMS, and this book has helped me to approach my 'problems' in a new way - and it's worked! Christiane Northup is a genious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago