×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Woods Runner
     

Woods Runner

4.2 135
by Gary Paulsen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Samuel, 13, spends his days in the forest, hunting for food for his family. He has grown up on the frontier of a British colony, America. Far from any town, or news of the war against the King that American patriots have begun near Boston.

But the war comes to them. British soldiers and Iroquois attack. Samuel’s parents are taken away, prisoners. Samuel

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Woods Runner 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 135 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My Review: I thought that Woods Runner was a very good book. It told a lot about the history of the American Revolution. This book not only told history, but it also told the story of a thirteen year old boy's life. Samuel always brought food back for his family. He enjoyed being in the woods, and hunting. He always brought food back for his family. One day he was hunting and he saw something that he thought was smoke. He went back home to see what was going on and his parents were not there. This was the start of the American Revolution. In my opinion, Gary Paulsen is an amazing author, he writes very good books about nature. He has showed this by writing "Hatchet," "The River," all of the Brian books, and more. I have read a lot of Paulsen's books, and plan to read many more. I would recommend this to a teenage male. This book is only around 150 pages, so it is not difficult.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You Can Never Say To Much Nor To Little About A Book...Woods Runner Was A Excellent Book.I Was Captivated By The Title But It Turned Out To Be A Completely Different Story.I agree It Was A Great Book Very Well Put Together But It Was Unrealistic In Many Ways...1# He Just Got Lucky Theres A Slight Chance That If This Was Real He Would Live To Tell The Story.2# Chapter One Was ONLY about How His 40-caliber Rifle Worked.I Think Some Parts Where Unnecessary But A Lot Of Books Have That.3# To Many People Died If This Is A Kids Book Why Did Ole Bobby Come In He Was Digging Graves?And Singing!#4Overall This Was A Great Book I Just Expected A little more.Also The Character Samual Was A Very Good Description.I Really Loved This Book It Was A Good Example Of The Revolutionary War.I Think This Book Should Be For 9-10 AND 11-whatever.Gary Paulsen Did A Great job I Give this Book A 4 Star.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book he has ever wrote it is also unpredictible and so adventureus
RICHARD PODGALSKY More than 1 year ago
Best book paulsen ever made it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a good book for children and kids about the age of 13-15. The theme of the book is Family. In this book there is one main character. The main character is samuel and he is a woods runner. He is 13 years old and lives with his parents. While out hunting his parents and some neigbors dissappear and he has to go look for them. I would give 10 out of 10.
Irma Fernandez More than 1 year ago
Woods Runner is THE BEST BOOK i have ever read out of all of Gary Paulsen's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son was given this book to read for his fifth grade historical fiction assignment. I always like to see for myself what they are having the kids read, so I purchased a copy for my nook. This is a very exciting action packed adventure packed full of historical facts and the true horrors of war. The story generates lots of topics for group discussions about how war brings out the best and worst in people. I love the way the author starts each chapter with facts about the atrocities that occurred during the revolutionary war, and how strong the people of this country were in standing for their beliefs and just how far they would go to achieve their goals. In the meantime, the author also tells the story of a boy whose parents were captured off their frontier land by the british and his journey to find them. It is a harrowing yet triumphant tale of what people may have faced at any given time during that period of history. Though fiction, it could have easily been the true story of any number of people that lived then. My son loved this book. He said it made the revolutionary war seem more real to him. He kept wondering how the main character kept getting out of trouble. I think he finally got in the end that he always got out of trouble because someone was always there to help. That in times of trouble, people tend to come together. You may need a tissue or two during parts of this story, as the author pulls no punches concerning innocents who lost their lives during the war; but when concerning history, I feel it best not to sugar coat things so we will not forget our history and what made this country great. It was not an easy road and this author doesn't let you forget it. My compliments to the author for a wonderful action story my son loved to read for school. Now he wants to find more from this author to read for enjoyment -- the best kind of read. -- SPeeD
schsreader0 More than 1 year ago
I think the Woods Runner is a very good book that I would recommend to anyone who is interested in hunting, fighting, and the outdoors. The main character is Samuel, a 13 year old who loves the woods. Other characters are Abner, an old man who helps Samuel find his parents after they are attacked and taken captive. There is also Annie, a 10 year old. Samuel and Abner pick her up along the way because her parents were killed in the attack. The setting is Pennsylvania in the year 1774, but Samuel then travel to New York to rescue his parents. The main conflict of the story is Samuel’s parents getting taken captive. To get Samuel’s parents out of jail they wait until night and hit the guard with a brick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsomee book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We had to read this book last year, i guess if you love history and war then its not bad but personally i thought it could be confusing at times and could also get boring. I do love Gary though an you should check out some of his other books such as "my life in dog years". It is an autobiography and even if you dont like dogs i promise you would enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a little hard but a great adventer!!!!!! Read the reviews and rateing and the disciption of the book and you'll like it just like i did!!!!!!
Bookworm007RH More than 1 year ago
I love gary paulson books. Do i need to buy???
Zach Tverberg More than 1 year ago
Just from sample it is amazing
Sandra Britton More than 1 year ago
The best book i ever read
Peggy Toth More than 1 year ago
this book ws such a good book and they should really make this book into a movie. i had to read it fir summer reading for school andi am so glad that i read it
Melissa Whaley More than 1 year ago
I think they should make this book into A movie i would definately go to see itand buy the movie when it came out on dvds
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for school over my summer vacation and discovered it wasn't a vacation spoiler. This is a well written book that inserts historical facts with this fictional story. I enjoyed it.
nuka More than 1 year ago
you readers should read this book! here is a quick summary of woods runner. while on a hunt Samuel sees smoke coming from his settlement. he rushes back to find that it was burned to the ground. he does fined bodies but not his parents. so he concludes that they are prisoners of war. join Samuel in this action packed and even touching novel. my favorite part of the book is when they have a successful jailbreak because Samuel gets back with his mom and dad. the book is great for readers that like action adventure and and a little touching too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Me and my fellow classmates read this book as our GARY PAULSEN AUTHOR STUDY It was Sad but we only read one chapter a day. Some classmates bought the book and was a Spoiler and tell us the whole last pages but it was fun and sad to listen to a second time and you could really Picture everything in your head! LOVE IT DONT LIST IT!!!!!! LOL.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
2 best book i have ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read it for school awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like allthe staff u put ok youtube
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good i thought it was good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this enthraling book. Love the time of history it is in.