×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wool
     

Wool

3.9 122
by Hugh Howey
 

For suspense-filled, post-apocalyptic thrillers, Wool is more than a self-published ebook phenomenon―it’s the new standard in classic science fiction.

In a ruined and toxic future, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wool 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 122 reviews.
DocJosh More than 1 year ago
I don't ususally pick up short stories, but this one looked interested. I sat down and in what felt like 15 minutes was done, but when I looked at the clock it had been a full hour. It's rare that I find a book that pulls me in so completely that I lose track of time. I bought the omnibus edition that same night and picked up where I left off and loved the next 4 books every bit as much.
Jen_K02 More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this short story. The only negative thing I have to say about this was that it was, in fact, a SHORT story! I really wanted more.
Bill_Swears More than 1 year ago
This is avery internal story about how a closed community gets their windows to the world washed. Those elected or condemned to the effort do not come back. After hundreds of years in their contained environment, conditioned to confinement, yet claustrophobic, how do members of this community get the job, and why do they carry it through with such integrity? There is more to it than our hero Holston knows. His wife, self elected to the task previously, thought she had the answers. Holston follows in her footsteps, trying to retreive the knowledge that drove her. Conspiracy once again results in a clear view of the outside. Where or when do defiance, motivation, theory and delusion trump conformity, sense, and sobriety? Will it be now?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I literally read this book in one sitting! I never ever read & this is the first book i read in years, which says a lot! Read it
DebsSweet More than 1 year ago
I am not into this genre but am so glad I read these books! I kept thinking how realistic this seemed even though it is science fiction. Some books are way too far fetched for me but this one is emotional and I promise it will keep you on your feet! Twists, turns and surprises!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh. My. Gosh. This short story is fantastic. The first sentence draws you in and the last sentence refuses to let you go. I will definitely be reading the next segment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a terrific story that continues for a total of five more. The characters are interesting and you find yourself rooting for them. I hear a movie may be in works ? This was a can't put down read for me.
dddeyo More than 1 year ago
An awesome read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the charachters and cannot wait for book 5!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a pretty good story so far...but I wouldn't have purchased it if I knew it was only 38 pages!!! You're better off just buying the Wool Omibus Edition that contains all 5 books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even after over 1,000 pages, I didnt want it to end
IloveShortStories More than 1 year ago
While this story is great, it's becomes a classic when you read the other 4 that follow. Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story, off the well beaten path
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of those stories you cant quit thinking about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down ! I also purchased the "Wool" Omnibus withnthe additional 4 stories.
SusanVan More than 1 year ago
Read the omnibus version with all the books very fast. Hard to put down. Great characters. After you finish this series, go striiaght to Shift and read all of them. It is a prequel sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no expectations.when I picked this book. I didn't even realize it was a series in one book. I read ALOT and this seemed like a quick read to get me through the night. I loved this book! I was drawn down into their world almost immediatley. Characters were rich and full... ahhhh..loved them. Only problem was in purchasing I didn't realize it was the full Wool series. I rushed through believing there was more. I said goodbye too soon thinking I'd have more time with them all. I can only assume the next book will be as wonderful. Thanks for being my new favorite author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everything thats great about dystopian science fiction in a tight little package. Calls to mind some of the darker short works of Ursula K. Leguin. Recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like the hunger games than ull end up loving this series! The books are short and cheap and really bring the reader in! Fabulous books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting short. Kinda freaky though. Makes one think and go hmmmmmm. You judge but please dont tell the whole story in your review. Thanks
glandheim More than 1 year ago
I'm only giving this 1 star because I couldn't give it none. This was sold as a Nook Book. I had seen the paperback at Barnes & Noble Bookstore today and it looked interesting so when I saw it here for 99 cents, I bought it. Nowhere on the page where I bought it was I told that I was getting only 84 pages of a larger book. Yes, it was only 99 cents, but I've paid that at B&N for entire novels, and good ones at that. I feel ripped off and if it were more money I would contest the charge with my credit card company because I consider this misleading. As it is, it's not worth my time. I'm certainly not going to read the damned thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts a bit slow but is quite good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From this book to the last I couldn't put this story down. It's really one long novel, broken up into 5 books. The first one is surpisingly short, more like a novella. But the rest are standard paperback length, except the last volume, which is longer than the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could see the original short story and I like how he turned it into a full novel.