×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wool
     

Wool

4.6 578
by Hugh Howey
 

See All Formats & Editions

For suspense-filled, post-apocalyptic thrillers, Wool is more than a self-published ebook phenomenon―it’s the new standard in classic science fiction.

In a ruined and toxic future, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wool 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 578 reviews.
Janyaa More than 1 year ago
Words can't describe how incredible this book is! This is easily the best book I've read so far this year, and I average about two books per week. Although this was originally a series of short stories, the Omnibus reads like one seamless storyline. I loved the character development in these stories. The people lead whole and fulfilling lives, experience an honest range of emotions (both good and bad,) closely guard secrets in their hearts, and constantly struggle for existence, to make sense of things, to achieve...despite living in a world comprised of only 140 floors. The world that Hugh Howey has constructed is so vast and rich, it's hard to remember that it's mainly set into the curved walls of a silo. All the systems required to have a functioning society; food production, IT, education, systems maintenance, rules on reproduction, and waste disposal, have been carefully planned out and accounted for. More importantly, the things that flesh out a society; taboos, religion, fears and hopes, the sound of children laughing are also painstakingly crafted by his words. The silo itself becomes a character. I love how Howey incorporates the stairs into the story. They become a test of will, a graceful arc of hope, or potential for despair. Not only is it the tie that connects the levels together, but it's also the gravity that keeps them apart. A barrier and a link. The very DNA of the silo's civilization. Just when you think this lovely combination of world-building AND character development couldn't get better, there's the writing. I especially liked how the artist masterfully weaved the metaphor of his title throughout the story. It was the element that could be crafted into a sweater that warms, but just as easily unraveled- like a lie. It's the truth being uncovered when the wool is pulled from one's eyes. Overall, I can't speak highly enough of this collection of short stories. At the end of the Kindle Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool #1-5) there is an interview with the author. He mentions that there will be more stories told in this world; I'm looking forward to reading all of them!
wisemetis More than 1 year ago
All the negative things you might find in a self-published book? You won't find them here. The book was extremely well-written (and I'm that person that misspellings or grammatical errors will jump off the page and smack in the face), the story meticulously plotted, and the characters completely engaging and three-dimensional. If I didn't know ahead of time that this was self-published, I would have never believed it. The quality is just that good. On to the review of the story itself. It's impossible to review each book in this omnibus separately because they did not feel like separate books. Rather, they were sequential chapters in the same story that just happened to be published at different times. I honestly didn't realize that the breaks between were actually where one book ended and another began. I'm really glad that I did buy the omnibus rather than just the first volume because I would have gnawed off my arm to find out what happened next. Okay, maybe not my arm - I need that. Maybe just a toe or two. There is a society in a post-apocalyptic future who lives understand in an enormous silo. The outside world is completely taboo, and even mentioning it can get one sent the "cleaning" - a euphemism for essentially exile outside the silo to the toxic, lifeless environment above ground. And these cleaners come by their name because their last act is to clean the sensors outside the silo entrance so the inhabitants have an unmarred view of the wasteland. Kind of a weird premise, and I admit I wasn't completely sold on it at first but it works, and as you read on, you find out just how by golly it works. Turns out that this isn't just a post-apocalyptic story but a dystopian story as well, and as the story progresses, it starts becoming apparent that there is something rotten in the state of Denmark. And that the conspiracy in the silo is much, much bigger than anyone, including the the reader, imagines. This is dystopian fiction at it's finest. I already have the prequel bought and loaded onto my Sony Reader.
TimothyCWard More than 1 year ago
I've had moments as a book reviewer where I was unsure how to rate a book. Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howey is my easiest 5 star rating since A Game of Thrones. This book was five star, without a doubt. There is so much to like about it, but I think my favorite aspect is the philosophical gems that Hugh interjects through each character's voice. This unique aspect of Hugh's style allowed me to see them as more than just real people, but a representation of humanity. This aspect of his style fits perfectly with Wool's theme of survival. Some characters believed segregation, hidden truths, and murder were the key to survival, while others believed the exact opposite. Part of what makes this story feel so real is the diversity of perspectives on what is absolutely necessary to survive in such a life or death scenario. Seeing what humanity would be like on the brink of extinction helped make me question what I'm doing to help those around me survive, or if I'm only interested in my own. Hugh's unbiased narration keeps the reader on their toes because either side could reasonably succeed. Hugh adeptly portrayed each character's struggle to survive in a way that made me root for them, put myself in their shoes, and experience their emotions as they fought to survive. Even his antagonist is sympathetic. No spoilers here, but Hugh makes a strong case for this character's motivation. Hugh does a great job of raising the stakes, interlacing conflict, and surprising the reader at every turn. Hugh's writing is as rare a gem as his characters, and is diverse enough to appeal to anyone who wants to know what it feels like to hope in the midst of overwhelming doubt.
jansa1 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one marathon sitting, and have since read every work by Hugh Howey. In a word, this book is a gem. Howey seamlessly creates a post-apocalyptic world based in an underground silo, and the true genius of his work is in his character development. He brings out every aspect of the technological, social, and political systems of this world through his characters, all of whom are believable, likable people. I have been a science fiction fan for 40 years, and this is one of the best books I have read. Howey is amazing, and his rapidly-growing fan base is a testament to both his skill as a writer and his dedication to his fans. Give him a try. You will NOT be disappointed.
Greathouse More than 1 year ago
This story is due to become one of the greatest science fiction stories ever told, the likes of Ender's Game and Dune. Yes, it's that solid. Get in while Howdy is still relatively unknown and claim bragging rights as one if earliest fans.
TheOrbital More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of dystopian/post-apocalyptic stories, then you absolutely owe it to yourself to pick up Wool - Hugh Howey has created a simply magnificent world with characters that you truly feel for. As previous reviewers have said, this omnibus edition is actually 5 volumes collected into 1 seamless story. To explain the plot and setting in too much detail quickly leads into spoiler territory, but I will give this brief overview: At some point in the future, mankind has retreated underground into massive silo complexes to flee a calamity that occurred years ago on the surface. Within these massive silos, all aspects of society have been reproduced: Engineering, Farming, Law Enforcement, Information Technology, Manufacturing, etc. Every person has a role to play, and every person is critical to the viability of the silo. Speaking your desires to go "outside", or even openly questioning what may be out there is strictly forbidden; punishable by death via a process known as "Cleaning". Once you pick up this book, be prepared for a long read into the night; if you're even capable of putting it down at that point! I highly recommend this series for anyone who enjoyed novels such as 'The Hunger Games', 'The Maze Runner' or any other "end of the world" type scenarios. Once you finish this Omnibus collection, be sure to check out 'First Shift: Legacy" - an incredible prequel to the 'Wool' series that will blow you away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite kind of books are the ones where I am lost in the story, and when I put the book down, it takes me a moment to realize where I am. This is one of those books. I would rate this story among the top books I've read in my life and I am a voracious reader.
Zachary Bonelli More than 1 year ago
Expertly written, engaging plot and characters, and engages the reader intellectually and philosophically. Sci-fi with interesting characters that explores interesting social issues ftw. In my opinion, now that we have the Wool Omnibus, a six-star rating option would be more appropriate.
Suvorov More than 1 year ago
WOW! ----- Everyone lives in an old silo. Some apocalyptic event has made the outside unlivable. But there are rules. One rule is you are not allowed to want to go outside. While thoughts cannot be monitored, statements can, and if you state you want to go outside, you will get your wish. Unfortunately, it comes with a death sentence because the outside world cannot sustain life. Or can it? Has everything been a lie? ----- First, I love that it was titled Wool. I am the type of person who likes when pictures are off center, or the person in the picture is not looking at the camera. I also like when books have a title that is not obvious or the significance is not something obvious. I propose that there is a very good reason this short story is titled Wool- one obvious and one not so obvious but will seem obvious when it is pointed out to you, that is if you don't figure it out on your own. ----- The writing and character development is phenomenal. The tension, frustration and fear seeps from the pages, or screen. And this is all in 50 pages. That's amazing. Just remember, this is my opinion. Even the most successful novel has bad reviews. However the most you have to lose is less than an hour of your time and at most, 99 cents. ----- Finally, I would like to make one last observation about Wool. As I was reading this story, I couldn't help but think how much it reminded me of the twisted short stories by Philip K. Dick. I am a huge fan of PKD and that is the highest compliment I could possibly give a SciFi book or story.
banjoplatypus More than 1 year ago
I must admit to being very sad that I have finished WOOL. Hugh Howey's unique addition to the post-apocalyptic science fiction genre is an incredibly well written and very human story. Fans of science fiction will thoroughly enjoy it, and I believe it is a great stepping stone into the genre for the unfamiliar reader. Without giving too much away, the plot revolves around the lives of men and women who live in a giant silo underground in a world where going outside means certain death. People have managed to create a life for themselves -- subsisting off of the food they grow, working in one of the many professions available, and following the rules of their society. If children are desired, would-be parents can enter a lottery for their chance of winning "permission" to conceive. If a crime is committed, the ultimate punishment is death by "cleaning." To clean is to be sent outside the silo to clean the windows that are dirtied by the toxic and harsh environment of the world outside. No one who has ever been sent to cleaning has failed to clean the windows of the silo. The job is always done, and no one ever survives a cleaning. We meet the main character of Juliette after she has been made sheriff of the silo. She's intelligent and strong, which turns out to be a dangerous combination for her. She learns of some shadowy business involving cleaning which leads her to take action, and could possibly mean revolution for the men and women of the silo. Overall, this is an excellent story. I believe it was originally released in separate books: Wool 1, Wool 2...etc. Wool 1 and 2 read like intense short stories -- you'll be finished before you know it. Wool 3 -5 get successively longer, and contain the bulk of the action. This Omnibus Edition contains all 5 parts, which is a relief (the wait between stories would have been too much for me). The parts lead right into one another, allowing the author to weave the reader through different characters and parts of the silo seamlessly. The characters are easily identified with: their heartbreak, resilience, fears, and love are all deeply personal human experiences that we all share. The action sequences are quick and intense, and you may find yourself having to take a break for a few seconds to reconvene your senses before moving on. I couldn't help wondering what I would do in certain situations, and it's been a while since a book has made me ask those questions. I cannot wait for Part 6! I'd recommend this book for all readers. This story will endear itself to both fans and newcomers to the genre. It's capable of pleasing all -- from fans of Phillip K. Dick to Zombie Apocalypse survival lovers. Even the new Hunger Games crowd of younger readers could enjoy it. This ability to appeal to multiple generations and interests could be Hugh Howey's most surprising achievement with this story. As for me, I'm officially a fan! This book and author will be two of my recommendations for a long time. In the meantime, I'll be diving into Hugh Howey's Molly Fyde series while I wait for Wool 6. Read this book, you won't regret it!
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Wool Omnibus is the first volume of the Silo series and encompasses a collection of the first five books in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey.  Wool is the first book in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey. It introduces the post-apocalyptic world Howey has created where the remaining population exists in underground Silos dug in a desolate and bleak world. Life is highly regulated: the right to bear children is determined by lottery and intending to leave, to go outside is a crime. Sheriff Holston intentionally commits that crime three years after his wife Allison did so. Punishment involves going outside to do some cleaning, with usually fatal results. Howey manages to set the scene and develop his characters very effectively despite the brevity of the text. This short taster for the excellent Wool series ends with a brilliant twist and will have readers looking forward to the second book, Proper Gauge. Proper Gauge is the second book in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey. With the loss of Sheriff Holston, Mayor Jahns and Deputy Marnes set out to convince their preferred candidate for the role, Juliette Nichols, to take on the job, which means travelling down the silo to the down deep levels where Mechanical is situated. But not everyone agrees with their choice: Bernard Holland, head of IT, prefers another candidate who will be more sympathetic to the protection of IT’s all-important servers, and Jules herself is reluctant to leave her useful position. This instalment expands on the world Howey has created. Howey’s characters have depth, his plot is absorbing and climaxes with a shock death. Readers will be sufficiently intrigued by now to head straight for the third book, Casting Off.    Casting Off is the third book in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey. It opens with new Sheriff Juliette Nichols in the airlock, about to be sent outside the silo for cleaning, a situation that will immediately intrigue readers. The remainder of the books describes the events leading up to this. Howey continues to embellish the world he has created, dropping clues about the previous uprisings, the control IT has on this world and the existence of other silos. Howey’s characters are well developed, his plot is interesting and believable, and he ends this book with a cliff-hanger that will have readers eager for the fourth book, The Unravelling.  The Unravelling is the fourth book in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey. Having somehow survived her banishment to the outside, Juliette Nichols heads away from the Silo to make a startling discovery, uncovering yet more of the lies told to the remaining population after the last Uprising. Meanwhile, her refusal to clean the sensors that monitor the outside has set in motion a revolution led by Knox, the head of Mechanical and McLain, head of Supply. The head of IT and acting Mayor, Holland suddenly feels the need for a shadow. With each instalment, Howey enhances the world he has created. This book ends, once again, with a cliff-hanger that will have readers keen to read the final instalment, The Stranded.  The Stranded is the fifth and final book in the Wool series by American author, Hugh Howey. It is divided into three narrative strands: in Silo 18, the latest Uprising proceeds with mixed results, while behind the scenes, Walker and Shirly make some startling discoveries once they get the radio working; Lukas, as Bernard Holland’s shadow, learns, to his horror, much about the Silos and the World Order; in Silo 17, Juliette and Solo implement some grand plans and make some surprising discoveries of their own. Howey wraps up his post-apocalyptic tale with an exciting climax, while leaving enough loose ends to draw the reader towards the prequel, Shift, and the sequel, Dust. Truly a page-turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had the sample of this book for months and never read it, I think the title just kinda turned me off. Wool? What an oddball name. Eventually I gave in and read it and oh my goodness what a great choice! Great characters, unexpected twists and just really entertaining. If you are a fan of dystopian books this one is for you, not a happy sunshiney view of the future, instead a hard look at the lengths some will go to at the behest of ideals allegedly for the interests of "humanity". Read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. I read Wool #1 and then immediately bought the combined Omnibus edition. It is hard to properly review without giving too much away about the story, but I will say that it is one of the better sci-fi books I have read in a long time primarily due to the characters. I felt invested in each of them and definitely could see what was motivating them (even the antagonists). I hope that Howey keeps writing books in this world for some time to come!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a breathtaking saga. Once you start reading it and become invested you will not want to stop. Originally I purchased Wool 1 by itself. I was so enamored with 1 that I did not think twice about buying 1-5. The stories are rivoting and the setting so unique. I am a former English teacher now retired and I read everything I can. I wish this series had been available when I was teaching as I think those teenagers would have loved it. I am looking forward to the movie series they will make from Wool. This series ranks along The Hunger Games and Divergent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Did not want it to end. Would love to see it continue. Highly recommend this book instead of the individuals. You will buy them all once you start!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books dystopian books I've read. There is no way of guessing what will happen next, and one chapter was almost too much (fear of what would happen) for me to read! Highly reccomend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The telling of the story was brilliant. I loved the author's style and the narrow and constant little mysteries complimented by a great unknown. If there were characters I could relate more with this would have been a very solid 5.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was skeptical after reading the preview of the book. But, honestly, I loved it! In fact, i am sad that i am finished! I do agree with some of the other comments in that the ending seemed abrupt. I am so excited that we will get to read Solo's story! Keep writing, Hugh, and I will keep buying!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great build up! THIS BOOK HAS IT ALL. I can't wait to read more. If your looking for a great new series this is it. The author is amazing at laying the details out and developing the characters. This could be the start of an amazing series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hugh Howey has created a complete and rounded society in a dystopian future. I have read all three of the books in this series. Just finished DUST, the third book. I have enjoyed them tremendously. Great characters, a plot that often keeps you on the edge of your proverbial seat, and an addictive story that caused me to often stay up waaaay past a reasonable bedtime. I gave this book (and the other two - SHIFT and DUST) five stars. They deserve that rating. Do not miss this great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great! Sort of has a Hunger Games/Divergent/Legend feel to it. Really fast read better written than some of the more famous authors most recent novels. Makes you thinks and entertains!
Laurahen More than 1 year ago
First of all, I want to state that this ebook IS very well written, it is just not a light, enjoyable story. If I had only purchased the first story by itself I would have never bought 2-4. I also do not care for a book where each chapter features different characters. If you are into depressing, post apocalyptic tales it is a great book though.
Karen_Benson More than 1 year ago
I first read Wool Omnibus last summer on my Nook while camping at the beach with my grandkiddies. I read with many distractions of little kids huddled in my tent, fireworks going off, people talking loud all around my campsite, etc. In other words, it was very LOUD. It didn't matter. I was enthralled and flipped from Wool 1 to 2 through to 5 within a few days even with all the noise. Hugh Howey's talent as a writer has put him in the big leagues going from working at a bookstore to traveling the world doing TV shows, interviews, book signings, you name it! When his book was published in hardback a few weeks ago, I snatched up a 1st edition and have spent the last week rereading this amazing book, this time in the quiet and comfort of my home! It was even better the second time around! Set in a, hopefully, distant future, the descendents of survivors live in a silo deep beneath the earth. The characters, the world building and the story is absolutely amazing and I devoured it again!! My signed copy of Shift Omnibus Edition just arrived and I plan to reread each story continuously just as eagerly as I did when each was released. I cannot get enough of this world of Wool that Howey has created. Well done, sir! Very well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This wasn't my usual genre, but once I got into the story and the characters it was hard to put down. Give it a try.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. This post-apocalyptic world confined to a silo shaped underground city is fascinating and amazingly believable. Juliette, our main character, is strong and inspiring. I read the omnibus in 2 days. The questions after the epilogue were a cherry on top :)