×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

WordPress For Dummies
     

WordPress For Dummies

3.9 27
by Lisa Sabin-Wilson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The 7th edition of WordPress For Dummies will be updated throughout to include new content and new artwork as warranted by the upgrade in features through the 2015 software releases.

We will be condensing the information on WordPress.com to focus on chapters that are more relevant and useful to the WordPress.org users, who make up the majority of WordPress

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

WordPress For Dummies 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
p_hagerman More than 1 year ago
I'm a developer with a number of years of experience behind me. I've done quite a bit of web development from the ground up. When it came time to setting up a new blog and website for my company I decided not to re-invent the wheel but go with the best that the open source community had to offer. To this end I chose WordPress and Lisa's book made this soooo easy. First let me say WordPress is a top notch platform, easy to use and set up. However, trolling through tons of disjointed online documentation and blog after blog of community posts just wasn't on my schedule. I was in my local Barnes and Noble trying to find a book on the topic and I found Lisa's book. It is laid out well. Each chapter flows into the next as it should. Everything I needed to get up and running quick was in there. Though this is not an exhaustive coverage of the WordPress platform or an in-depth look at how to use WordPress as a content management system, the book is more than enough to get you up and running, and looking good. I asserted in the posting title this was a great book for both technical and non-technical readers. I've loaned my copy to a few friends who are very non-technical, but wanted to setup their own blogs. They all found the book very easy to read and understand. I know this firsthand because I've seen their results. Best of all, not a single question was lobbed my way for how-to's. Lisa you created an excellent book for a great platform. Great job! I would look forward to you commenting (I mean writing a book) on how to better use WordPress as a content management system. Great book, well worth the money spent.
kim1989 More than 1 year ago
I'm working on an author site and so far this book has helped me work out some of the mysteries of Wordpress. It fills in the gaps left by Wordpress's own manual and explains things in a way even a novice could follow. It's saved me a lot of frustration and headaches.
Ms-Teak More than 1 year ago
My organization had a new website developed and they used Wordpress so that it would be user friendly and easily learned. It took me a couple of days but every question that I had was answered in a clear and precise way. Needless to say, I and my organization are very pleased.
longtimedesigner More than 1 year ago
For a real beginner to WordPress, and site coding; for those who've designed with older versions of Dreamweaver and GoLive, and those who want to diverge a bit from the most common WordPress blog looks, I found other, older resources much more helpful to the overall understanding of WordPress needed to proceed with one's own project. The main 2 problems I found with this Dummies book were the organization of material, especially "second and third level" organization of the (vital) details for overall understanding; and the seeming reliance on one having the internet concurrently in hand while reading, to visit suggested (non-prioritized lists of) online resources necessary for fuller understanding/visualization. Though good to know that the many WordPress "help" sites exist, most of those sites listed are also voluminous, further taking one off track of getting a firm understanding of WordPress, and how to utilize it for one's desired outcomes. Though possibly an adequate "additional" reference for beginners, I found the book "choppy", and not one one could comfortably read (though the mood seems too purposefully light,) and finish with a firm idea of what next steps to take (or to not take) to design anything but rather small variations on the most common, "off-the-internet-shelf" WordPress sites offered.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For me, the book's title is accurate. I had only minimal experience with a basic blog. WordPress for Dummies explained in detail how much more is available in the parallel universe of internet communication. I discovered not only a more powerful blogging tool, but also the possibilities of hosting my own blog and even creating an independent web site. All for the price of one easy to read reference book. Dennis
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SandmanSlim More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a complete guide to the basics of using Wordpress, but this book did not deliver. It hardly covered any aspects of using wordpress as a light cms, a major component feature, instead spending a whole chapter on how to write a blog post. This book is uneven, incomplete, and not recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago