×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Working Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #1)
     

Working Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #1)

4.2 76
by Annelise Ryan
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Mattie Winston catches her husband Dr. David Winston receiving some very special loving care from R.N. Karen Owenby, she quits her job and moves out. Mattie's best friend Izzy offers her a place to stay and suggests she'd be a natural as deputy coroner. Now, instead of taking patients' pulses, Mattie's weighing their hearts and livers.

But Mattie's first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Working Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
DarleneGinn-Hargrove More than 1 year ago
I LOVED THIS BOOK. THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY THIS AUTHOR, BUT IT WON'T BE MY LAST. THE CHARACTER MATTIE WINSTON WILL DRAW YOU IN FROM THE FIRST PAGE, AND HAVE YOU ROOTING HER ON IN THE LAST PAGES. THE SUSPENSE, ACTION, AND ROMANCE IS GREAT. I LOVED EVERY TWIST AND TURN. THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN MYSTERY AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL. ENJOY.......
senor_k More than 1 year ago
I finished reading this mystery and found myself wanting to read the second (Scared Stiff) one right away. It is a good start to what looks to be a good series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Getting this series. Loving the characters and plots. 280 pages.
harstan More than 1 year ago
She thought she had the perfect marriage and perfect job working at the same hospital as her husband Dr. David Winston as he was a surgeon and she is a surgeon's nurse. However Mattie Winston's world collapsed when she caught him with another nurse Karen Owenby. Without a word, she rushes home, packs her bags, and visits her best friend medical examiner Izzy, who gives her a home in his guest cottage and hires her; training her to be a deputy coroner. When Mattie learns that Karen is at the home she once shared with David, she cannot stop herself from peaking through a window. What she observes horrifies her as the pair argues heatedly until David throttles her. Later that same night, Izzy and Mattie are called to a homicide scene where a female corpse has two bullets in her head. The victim is Karen. Suspicion falls rightfully on David, but though she is angry and acrimonious with him and knows what she saw at their house, Mattie refuses to believe he would kill anyone. A second murder implicates David further as Detective Steve Hurley finds evidence hanging Mattie's soon to be ex at a time the cop and the trainee are attracted to one another and he realizes she should be a prime suspect as a betrayed wife. The story line is fast-paced from the moment that Mattie realizes her spouse is a womanizing cheat, but not a killer and never slows down as the heroine risks her life (to the chagrin of her boss and the detective) to catch the culprit. Fascinatingly though she is a WORKING STIFF as an apprentice deputy coroner, the enjoyable story line reads in may ways like an amateur sleuth as she has little experience on homicide investigations. Fans will enjoy Annelise Ryan's fun investigative tale, the opening act of a new series. Harriet Klausner
jmoon74 More than 1 year ago
I had a very hard time putting this book down ... Mattie and all her friends made it very enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very amusing read. Thoroughly enjoyable and looking forward to more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has everything. Drama, humor, mystery, romance, its a real page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, kept you guessing. Did not expect the ending until the very end which is good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book.Being an R .N I especially enjoyed the shop talk.To decrease on idenity theft nurses are now finger printed.
LovesGlitter More than 1 year ago
This book was good, considering this is the author's first one. I really enjoyed the character development, and it has some really funny moments. The middle of the book was a little slow, but the last 100 or so pages were very exciting. The mystery was predictable, but not everyone is John Grisham! I look forward to more stories about Mattie -- we need to knwo more about the infamous nipple incident!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Mattie seems to find trouble just about everywhere she goes. I am looking forward to reading the other books written by this author. Ms. Ryan writes with such interest, it is hard to put the book down. It is nice to read a mystery, or any book that has good content without a lot of graphic sex. I will definitely recommend this book as a good read.
Debb23 More than 1 year ago
I totally enjoyed this book. Mattie is a likeable character who may get into some predicaments but she is not stupid. The reactions she has to circumstances is real and believable. The other characters in the book are likeable, especially the detective who hopefully shows up in the other books. The mystery was one that kept me guessing with plenty of twists that kept me turning the pages. I will definitely read the rest of this series.
alliAK More than 1 year ago
I read lots of mysteries. My favorites being women as the detective/investigator. This series looks to be a new interest for me. Really enjoyed the first one, looking forward to more of Mattie Winstons adventures. She seems to be a little clumsy at times and gets herself in some silly predicaments, but overall, I really enjoy her adventurous nature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series. I am on the third book now and have a hard time putting it down. Highly recommend. The touches of comedy help move the story along. Great characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved reading these books, can't wait to read more about mattie and hurley!
Julie Davidson More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It goes from serious to Keystone Cops in one paragraph. I had many a good laugh in reading. Nice to see I'm not the only one not named Grace for a reason.
1dachsmom More than 1 year ago
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Will be reading more books by this author. Very well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cako More than 1 year ago
fun reading for anyone who likes it light and fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the characters and plot are fine, the main character, Matti, is dumber than the worst Lucy actions from an I Love Lucy episode. I finished 995 out of 1000 books but had to force myself to finish this. Plus confusing run–on into what is a sales pitch for the next book. Oh, and hunky man comments thruout that sounded like a thirteen year old girl wrote them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Light, funny mystery. The protagonist is very similar to Stephanie Plum.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book and devoured the 2nd and 3rd books in the series. Annelise Ryan is now on my favorite author list, and I can't wait to get started on the 4th book as soon as I finish writing this review! The writing is witty, funny, and amazingly enjoyable, as she takes you through the adventures of Mattie Winston and all the other characters in her life. I love that these books are great stories in and of themselves and that the romance is real and fun and the icing on the cake. No smutty sex here, just wonderfully sweet and realistic relationships. I'm officially a fan, and I hope you enjoy reading Ms. Ryan's books as much as I have,