×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914 to 1918
     

A World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914 to 1918

4.3 25
by G. J. Meyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this remarkable and intimate account, author G. J. Meyer draws on exhaustive research to tell the story of how the Great War reduced Europe's mightiest empires to rubble, killed twenty million people, and cracked the foundations of the world we live in today. On a summer day in 1914, a nineteen-year-old Serbian nationalist gunned down Archduke Franz Ferdinand in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914 to 1918 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book offers perspectives from all the important stakeholders of WWI in an impartial manner. The comprehensive overview helps the reader understand why the war happened, why it could have been avoided, and why it was so tragic for so many people. The author does a good job of depicting the political and military egos involved, and the reader can learn many lessons about war strategy, good or bad. May future generations avoid these terrible miscalculations!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have previously read many books about the First World War. Nevertheless, his book included many interesting stories and anecdotes that I had never read before. Very well written and easy to read. The background chapters on key figures added greatly to the story. History buffs (like myself) will enjoy this book.
glauver More than 1 year ago
Meyer is very good at picking telling anecdotes to illustrate the horror of the conflict. One that stands out is the incident of the French soldiers bleating like sheep as they were forced into another hopeless attack at Verdun. This may not be the final word on WW1 but it is a fine account for the general reader.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a remarkable book. It not only clarified the politics and issues that led to WWI, it provided clear eyed view of a period in which Europe and much of the world was unevenly moving away from age old empires toward today's modern nations. It was a pleasure to read.
JCMars More than 1 year ago
A really fantastic overview of the war, with helpful mini-chapters to fill in backstory and provide insight into major players. It was a breeze to read and wove a compelling and readable narrative out of the many conflicts and events that took place. I read this as my first real foray into reading about WWI and came away feeling that I was equipped with both greater knowledge and curiosity about the subject.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to understand WWI and know little more than what is taught in today's dismal public schools, this is the book to read. A single assassination engaged a bizarre set of interlocking forces to start a senseless war. In this case, 'senseless' is not pacifist hyperbole. WWI was entirely hollow of reason. This book explains the fine details while reviewing the important trends and histories of that time. After reading the book you'll know that 100 years ago, mobilizing for war was the same as going to war. You will know that only Austria wanted a war. You will realize that Germany was the last European country to mobilize and the primary beligerent, Austria, was the most inept and first to give up. It is often written that WWI sowed the seeds of WWII. The reader will learn just why that is true. The only fault I can find with A World Undone is that in addressing an entire war in a relatively small number of pages, the human impact is missed among the macro events. A small nit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though the book is non-fiction it is so well written and full of insight that you just keep turning the pages to see what's next even though you know how the story ends.
TopMyCat More than 1 year ago
This summer marks 100 years since the start of this horrific war. It altered Western history in profound ways. I was looking for a book ghat woild be accessible and help me understnand how such a war was possible. A World Undone met what I was looking for. It reads like a novel, moves quickly, and explains the complexity of the events leading to war. I came to understand the key players and their motivations, characters, and human flaws. Well worth reading.
55T-Bird More than 1 year ago
For an overview of the war from start to finish, including causes and consequences, this is an essential book.  G.J. Meyer presents the conflict without obvious bias to either side which allows the reader to evaluate the facts and really understand why this conflict is so important in the scheme of world events.  I found myself sympathizing with all of the belligerents as they fought on while trying to make sense of the chaos and the dying.  This war changed the whole world and its impact continues to resonate today; this book will help the general reader understand why. As an added note, this is the second “overview” book that I have read by G.J. Meyer (also read The Tudors).  He does an excellent job of writing overviews of a particular era.  My wish would be that one day he would take on WW2 in similar fashion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have long been fascinated by World War I but most people today know little about the conflict nor is it well covered in high schools or colleges anymore. One of the problems is that almost every book on World War I assumes the reader knows about World War I and the history of Europe at the time. Unfortunately, today, almost 9 decades since the end of WWI, nearly every veteran and person alive during the war has died and the general knowledge is just not out there for most books on WWI to be easily read by a nonstudent of Great War history. That is why this book is such a great addition to WWI literature. It is written in a very readable style that provides an excellent overview of almost every aspect of the Great War but also provides enough background material of European history that someone who knows very little about WWI will not get lost and will learn a great deal. The WWI specialist will not find any great new insight here, but a general reader who wants to learn more about a neglected period of important history will come away with a great understanding of WWI and how it contributed to WWII and the war on terrorism of today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best historical books you could ever read. Just read it. You won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this insightful tome, I can understand more clearly why the current world is so messed up politically. Between deception and complete ignorance on the par3t of many world leaders prior to, during and immediately after "the Great War," and the radical religious motives of some modern sects, it is completely understandable how we're in such a world-wide mess today. And with the inept leadership in the White House since January 2009, the light at the end of the tunnel is incredibly dim!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this the best book i have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ytiri .tivmmvmbrvmf