×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Worldwar: In the Balance (Worldwar #1)
     

Worldwar: In the Balance (Worldwar #1)

4.1 50
by Harry Turtledove
 

See All Formats & Editions

From Pearl Harbor to panzers rolling through Paris to the Siege of Leningrad and the Battle of Midway, war seethed across the planet as the flames of destruction rose higher and hotter.
And then, suddenly, the real enemy came.
The invaders seemed unstoppable, their technology far beyond human reach. And never before had men been more divided. For Jew to unite

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Worldwar 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the story but therr are a lot of spelling & grammer errors that need to be corrected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant say much awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Turtledove does great alternate histories, and aliens invading during WWII is just too fun! Especially when said aliens have badly outdated intel. One really bad thing that lost this book a star: it is as if the analog book had been scanned into ebook format with some really poor software. This cause a lot of grammatical and spelling errors. For the money I spent, I expect professional editing. -Town Crier
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love most of the characters and the depth in the story is cool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've keep hearing about the author and this series was recommended to me based on my love for sci-fi. I was really hoping to like his work but I can't get over how he jerks the reader around like an irate redneck mad at his junkyard dog. I like The Race and most of the characters but find it jarring ending one charater's paragraph and then abruptly starting another's with no idea who he's talking about or where the story is geographically until the middle of that character's paragraph. Any kind of transition would be welcome but the author likes to storytell in one long run-on chapter. I'm glad others take delight in his writings but this will be my first and last purchase by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good story from the master of alternate history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kamas716 More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. The premise behind it (aliens invade earth to unexpectedly find us in the middle of WWII using weapons that are nearly the equal of theirs) was fun, the writing was good. I liked the characters. Unfortunately, the story doesn't end with this book, and the others in the series weren't quite as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harry Turtledove is a master!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jason Cook More than 1 year ago
My first turtledove series. It was love at first read. I wish that a movie would be made of this series. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ungodly More than 1 year ago
This is a good book, mostly because it's the first book in the series. I cannot however recommend that you read it. After toiling through books 2-4 in this series it has become painfully obvious that I should have just read the last book in the series, #4. I'd say that about 1/3rd or possibly even less of each subsequent book is actually new material. The rest is constanting restating and rehashing of previous concepts, ideas, thoughts and conversations. Its absurd to the point that I find myself skipping 10-15 pages at a time sometimes just to get through stuff that's been repeated over and over and over and over. Another thing that is annoying is that the cover art on the books is misleading. They don't actually depict any event taking place in the book. The concept is good and the story is entertaining. Someone could probably make it alot better by editing it down to one book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Deanna Diamon More than 1 year ago
Mix a little sci-fi, a bit of history, and some intrigue, and you get what folks would call a crackling good 'what-if' yarn. As always, Harry Turtledove does a good job with military battle scenes and political manuevering, but the characterizations depend a bit too much on the reader's familiarity with the historical figures. Still, it's a good read and there's no better way to get young adults interested in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago