×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Worm: The First Digital World War
     

Worm: The First Digital World War

3.9 28
by Mark Bowden
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mark Bowden’s Worm: The Story of the First Digital World War is about the next frontier in war. Bowden, the best-selling author of Black Hawk Down and The Best Game Ever, has delivered a dramatic cyber-crime story that explores the Conficker Computer “Worm,” a potentially devastating computer virus that has baffled experts and infected as many

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Worm: The First Digital World War 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me two days to finish this book. As a Computer Programmer, I quickly fell in love with this book and it showed me that other people had passion about working with computers, the internet and making sure our net' and information was safe from the "Black Hats". This book took me deep inside on what really happened during the Conficker outbreak (I seriously had to look it up) and I could not just believe that there was a lot going on. This book delve into the minds of the people who were working so hard to prevent our net from crashing, working 24-7 to make sure out information is safe. (SPOILER ALERT) Ha, even though nothing happened and the virus did not really do any damage, hence the April fools (END OF SPOILER) but at the same time, just reading this book and witnessing the strong faction of what is going on in Cyberwarefare today and the process of keeping out information safe, just made me want to enroll in Information Tech. Lol :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an interestung read but at times seemed to jump back and forth in time and covered the same background material several times. A good editing would have cleaned this up and significantly improved the boiok.
cbo More than 1 year ago
The book is very interesting. However, the formatting of the Nook version is inconsistent. Every few pages, or several times a page, the line spacing goes from double space to single space. Yes, I can set the electronic version to all single space, but even then the spacing isn't consistent (just enough to be distracting). I don't have this problem with any other of my Nook purchases.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this narrative engaging & remarkably easy to follow, Luddite though I may be. After reading it, I'll be less cavalier about keeping system updates current, & I'll take warnings of worms & viruses more seriously. I've relaxed a little about doing business over the Internet, but this book confirms my belief that it's far more vulnerable than we admit. -- catwak
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Nook version has problems with the font on my copy - different fonts & font sizes from page to page and even on the same page. There are misspelled words, poorly constructed sentences and paragraphs, and heavy reliance on gigantic cut and paste blocks of emails sent between team members that don't help the story. After around 100 pages the book bogs down into repetition, fails to mention there is a fourth variant of this worm, and otherwise is truly not worth buying -- if you must have it find it used.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We all know that cyber crime is real, but do you know that the goverment, FBI,NSA,&DOD, don't have a clue how to stop it? Well read this book and you will understand not only that they clueless, but who the real good guys are. This is non-fiction, but it reads like a suspense novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NaturalDreamer123 More than 1 year ago
Since this was a gift, I can't comment on the content but the delivery was prompt and the product was in excellent condition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elaine_avid_reader More than 1 year ago
This book was easy to read. Timely content, unbelievable because it is a glimpse into the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read by Bowden, shockingly informative. I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cylix More than 1 year ago
I've been interested in computers since computer class with the commodore superpet and I've loved reading about the evolution of computers and the net. This book is for people who enjoy reading stories about a world within the web.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just could not get into this book because it seemed so technical and too complicated ,even in the beginning, to try to follow so I never continued reading it. Sorry but this is just not kind of book to get into and keep on reading....This would be a good book for someone who is much more into computers, and all it touches on.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago