×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Worse Than Watergate: The Secret Presidency of George W. Bush
     

Worse Than Watergate: The Secret Presidency of George W. Bush

4.4 30
by John W. Dean
 

See All Formats & Editions

John Dean knows what happens behind closed doors at the White House. As counsel to President Richard Nixon, he witnessed the malignant influence of excessive secrecy and its corruption of good intentions. Pundits and partisans can point fingers. Only Dean can reveal with true insider knowledge the dangers of a presidency that has crossed the line. In Worse than

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Worse Than Watergate: The Secret Presidency of George W. Bush 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a story of the Bush/Cheney White-house, how it is steering this nation in circles, and hiding so many things from the public. The story is scary and takes the past doings of the Bush white house out into the open for all to wonder what the heck is this great nation coming too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I happen to think this book is the most balanced in its criticism of Bush and his Nixon-like Administration. What seperates this book from other critical examination of the Bush White House is that Mr.Dean worked on the inside of another dubious regime-the Nixon White House. The book shows disconcerting similarities between the Nixon White House and the Bush II White House-secrecy, ruthlessness against enemies, and wrongdoing. Although according to Dean, this administration is much worse. Even though this book was written a couple of years ago and before recent scandals have rocked the White House, it nonetheless is relevant, especially of Dean's writing on the Valerie Plame Affair.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It juxtaposes two presidencies, the Bush era and the Nixon's administration. John W. Dean underscores the overall insidious or stealth-like ways in which this faction carries itself. It forebodes many mandates that Bush is pushing now in the Senate. It also contends that Cheney is the real president who runs the country, and that Bush is nothing more than a puppet. More important Dean writes about how secrecy is a foreboding to the American people and is exactly what a government in a free society does not do. Morever, that any government that wishes to suppress information and act in a deceitful manner is not to be trusted and only proves how that government has perverted itself, and repudiated the very people who have entrusted their lives, and rights to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have found that solace could always be had in a belief in those singularly American instutions of law, representative government, and in the office of the presidency. In the Watergate affair Mr. Nixon's violation of these most fundamental beliefs was as devastating to our perhaps naive perception of the sterling nature of American political life as it was to our willingness to participate in a process which we now knew to be imperfect. Mr. Nixon and those who had actively worked on his behalf were no better than criminals to our minds. It is a comfort to know that the lessons of this time of political tumult in our history were not lost upon some who were a party to it, a silver lining if I may. John W. Dean has learned from his experience. Mr. Dean's book 'Worse than Watergate, The Secret Presidency of George W. Bush' is a scholarly work that clearly defines the colossal deceit of the co-presidency of George W. Bush and Richard B. Cheney. Mr. Dean has taken great pain to document his every assertion, and to show the American public how their Congress and they themselves have been lied to as a part of the perpetuation of the Bush Administration's very narrow, focused agenda intent upon reshaping the American political landscape.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE ATTACKS ON JOHN KERRY BY SPEAKERS AT THE RNC ARE SYMTOMATIC OF THE SORT OF LEADERSHIP JOHN DEAN SO ADEQUATELY DESCRIBES IN HIS BOOK. DICK CHENEY IS THE APPARENT BRAINS BEHIND THE PRESIDENCY WHOSE PURPOSE SEEMS TO BE TO MAKE AMERICA THE DOMINANT NATION OF THE WORLD. A DEMOCRACY IS GOVERNMENT BY THE PEOPLE, BUT J. DEAN MAKES IT CLEAR THAT WE COULD LOSE OUR RIGHT TO GOVERN UNLESS BUSH AND HIS NUMEROUS COHORTS, MOSTLY FRIENDS OR BUSINESS ACQUAINTANCES OF CHENEY, ARE REMOVED IN THIS COMING ELECTION. I HAVE READ MOST OF THE OTHER BOOKS BY PERSONS WITH A GRIPE AGAINST BUSH'S ADMINISTRATION, BUT NONE IS SO STRAIGHT FORWARD AND WELL DOCUMENTED AS IS JOHN W. DEAN'S. I AGREE WHOLEHEARTEDLY WITH OTHER REVIEWERS WHO RECOMMEND THAT THIS BOOK BE READ BEFORE THE ELECTION IN NOVEMBER, FOR THE GOOD OF THE NATION AND THE AMERICAN PEOPLE. READ IT IF YOU READ NO OTHER. LESS THAN 200 PAGES.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A must read before the November election. I couldn't put the book down.Dean puts the facts of this administration to light.Very enlightening.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book out that examines the Bush White House. Honest, documented and much more damaging than Michael Moores 9-11 film. I bought the book last week and read it in one day. I could not put it down. Dean, who was Nixon's lawyer, really presents the information in a very readible manner. He should write more books. Every voting American should read this before casting their vote in November.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book exposed my worst fears about this most secretive and dangerous administration of my lifetime. Reading the accounts of the level of secrecy and lies deeply reminded me of my initial thoughts when the second plane hit the WTC on 9/11, which were that the administration and most likely Dick Cheney were somehow involved to forward his foreign policy agenda.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While it does not reveal any new or insider information, 'Worse than Watergate' does bring to the surface the secretive force that drives the Bush II administration in a well researched manner and compares the facts to the Nixon administration to which John Dean was, of course, privy. Bitingly written and fairly short in length, it's worth the read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I was certainly aware of the untruth spread by the current administration, I did not know how bad things really are. Scary, very very scary...
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this I came to realize that we are experiencing the darkest moment in American history since the Civil War. We are witnessing the end of demoracy in the United States. For 67 years I was proud to be a citizen of the United States of America. I am now ashamed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's hard to tell what's true here and what is not.
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Dean was counsel to President Richard Nixon, so he knows a thing or two about dirty tricks and cover-ups. Having studied the current presidency, he concludes that George W. Bush is even worse than Nixon. Bush and his cronies hide stuff because there is lots to hide: Bush¿s hidden early career ¿ his draft-dodging and his business frauds and failures, Vice President Dick Cheney¿s health secrets, his dodgy Halliburton deals, his secret Council for National Energy Policy Development Group, his shadow security and intelligence outfit (the Office of Special Plans) and his covert operation for the executive¿s survival. Dean points out that Bush illegally uses executive privilege to overrule US law, as when he ordered that his, and his father¿s, presidential papers be sealed, breaking the 1978 Presidential Records Act. (Blair similarly used an order from the Privy Council to overturn British law and rob the Diego Garcia islanders of their right to return home.) Dean demonstrates how Bush is destroying civil liberties by enforcing repressive laws. For example, 5000 Arab Americans have been detained, mistreated, and denied lawyers for more than two years; only five have been charged, and only one convicted. Dean shows how Bush criminalises dissent and controls the media, and how ¿mendacity has become policy.¿ Dean observes how Bush exploited 9/11, while secretly scheming to scuttle all efforts to discover why the USA was so unprepared for the anticipated terrorist attack. He manipulated intelligence about Iraq¿s `WMD¿, transforming guesses and estimates into `facts¿. Dean documents the nineteen distinct lies that Colin Powell told the UN, a key part of Bush¿s effort to trick the American people into the illegal attack on Iraq ¿ an impeachable offence. Dean shows how Bush is implementing the US ruling class¿s plan to dominate the world. Dean points out how this creeping fascism threatens what little remains of American democracy and its people¿s rights. To a British eye, it is striking how closely Blair resembles Bush, and how closely the Labour Party resembles the Republican party ¿ the same slavering worship of wealth, the same contempt for democracy, the same arrogance of power.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. We are in deep trouble and I hope that everyone reads this book and remembers what they read on election day. The two faces that appear on the cover have gotten us into a terrible mess worldwide and they have to go!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this brilliant work exposing even more of the 'American dream' of world domination, I'm beginning to wonder how bad Osama really is. Coupled with recent revelations of torture by Americans, the world now knows that the real danger is in Washington. Most of us already knew. Reagan was not quite as bad, not quite... Thankyou, Mr Dean...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dean's data and analysis are praiseworthy. Page after page of facts I verified over time, peerless prose and logical connections make his book worth the read. I bought a few copies for gifts to others because having read my first from Dean, I can see what I've missed all these years and thought others as unaware of Dean as I've been would enjoy his skill in truth-telling. His savvy and wordsmithy amazed me. Clear view and logical connections make the case. Dean is correct; our beloved country is suffering from the Bush machine's secrecy. McCain's Courage and Dean's book remind me there are two Republicans I respect. Used to be many more...
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Dean not only discusses the evidence that the president has indeed misled the nation, but he also explains for all of us how it was done. Every American should buy and read this book before voting this coming Novemeber. I have read all the other 'Bush' books and this is at the top of the list for its prose as well as its content. It is a fast read and any will certainly be able to get through it quickly as they will have a hard time putting it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If anyone would understand how Washington works and the possible abuses of power it would be John Dean. He made his case thoroughly and with clarity. I read it in one afternoon. Sobering content and a polemic all should read before voting this November.
Guest More than 1 year ago
2 pages into it and you will be overwhelmed with feelings of deceipt from the administration..100 pages into it and you will not believe the coarse Bush and Cheney have set us all on. Something has to be done...Plaese read...Then vote!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even if you think you know all there is to know about the President, read this book. It is well researched and tells us what none of us, Republican or Democrat, wants to hear.
Guest More than 1 year ago
thanks for getting the facts out there...those 'bonesmen' are all alike.! READ before you vote.