×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Would-Be Witch (Southern Witch Series #1)
     

Would-Be Witch (Southern Witch Series #1)

4.3 100
by Kimberly Frost
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the small town of Duvall, Texas, the only thing that causes more trouble than gossip is magic.
 
The family magic seems to have skipped over Tammy Jo Trask. All she gets in the way of the supernatural are a few untimely visits from the long-dead, smart-mouthed family ghost Edie. But when her locket—an heirloom that happens to hold

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Would-Be Witch (Southern Witch Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 101 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Duval, Texas Tammy Jo Trask assumes the magical DNA that every member of her family possesses somehow went recessive in her case as her witch genes are dormant. Her only magic is talking with Edie the family ghost who lives inside her heirloom locket.

When her locket is stolen, a desperate Tammy Jo is beside herself as she misses the mouth of the south who was always putting her down. She vows to find her family heirloom so that Edie is back in her life verbally ripping skin off her back. She must retrieve this fast or something dire will happen. Knowing she needs help, she persuades her former husband Deputy Sheriff Zach who spent money on a shrink for her as he does not believe in ghosts and master mage Bryn Lyons although her family warned her even as a child to stay away from the Lyons as their roar is dangerous. Nothing goes right as werewolves stalk Tammy Jo while vampires try to take over the town and the magic-less people are conjuring up the dead.

This amusing urban fantasy is fast-paced from the opening cake sale and fender bender and never stops for a breather until the somewhat low-keyed climax. The ghost gossip grapevine is fun to follow as it makes blogging look obsolete. However, this tale belongs to the title character, terrific Tammy Jo as the only dormant witch in her family and still in love with her ex (at least for the sex) even though he believes she is a fruitcake. Fans will enjoy this humorous lighthearted chick lit fantasy as Tammy Jo finds her groove fighting vampires and reanimated dead.

Harriet Klausner
Bebete89 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading the first two books. Easy to read snd the main character is refreshingly witty . I,ve recommended to friends and family and they all enjoyed the books
BookLoverEW More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters are full bodied and rich, from Tammy Jo's off-kilter magic to ex-husband Zach's chivalry and macho charm to Bryn Lyon's sexy, devilish ways. Throw in a mischievous ghost, a gay hairdresser and a transvestite vampire and you have a cast of characters to whom you never want to say goodbye. This book is witty, sexy, sassy and just plain fun. Kimberly Frost is an author for your "keeper" shelf. I can hardly wait until September to see what Tammy Jo does next.
GerryBartlett77 More than 1 year ago
Set in a small Texas town on top of a power grid that makes magic come easily to every witch except for Tammy Jo Trask, Would-Be Witch is a great debut novel for Kimberly Frost. I loved her comic voice and the funny characters that populate this action-packed romp. Her alpha males are hot, creating a great triangle that makes me eager to read the sequel coming up this summer. I'm looking forward to it. I highly recommend this sassy witch with a Texas twang. Gerry Bartlett
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and have bought the subsequent three in the series, and the novella. Just a heads up for the copy editor: There is a subtle grammatical distinction in past tense of the verb "to shine." When the verb doesn't transfer action to an object (intransitive verb - remember 8th grade English?) use SHONE. Her hair shone. The sun shone. The moonlight shone on the dewy grass. BUT if the verb has an obect, use "shined." The boy shined his shoes. The man shined his car. The butler shined the silverware. Yes, I'm picking nits, but I used to be an English teacher, and I'm disturbed when language errors become part of published works. Think Tower of Babel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow going at times but otherwise a good ride!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. Humorous and whacky.
love_coffee_and_books More than 1 year ago
Pretty fun!! Zack is awesome. I want her with Lyons but i love Zack. Book two here I come!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love supernatural down to earth books this is the series to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun reading, love the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been dying to find another great series to read since the Sookie Stackhouse series ended. I think I've found it! This book was fun, exciting and sexy. I can't wait to read the next one and see what happens to Tammy Jo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this series and am waiting for the next one.
Winnie2253 More than 1 year ago
If you like a little, or a lot, of comedy with your romance this is a must read.  A fun read that's fast paced and keeps your interest. I'm certainly putting this series on my must follow list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
grisaille More than 1 year ago
The first in Frost's new series is a diverting, if scattershot, urban fanasy/romance. Tammy Jo is an engaging protagonist and first-person narrator, though she sometimes edges into annoying. Potential love interests Zach and Bryn are equally appealing, which is a nice change from the usual "who will she choose?" format. Plus, Mercutio the ocelot is adorable. That said, the story was erratic in quality. With Tammy Jo juggling so many problems, it was sometimes difficult to keep them all straight, and the reason behind the werewolf invasion of Duvall was only explained in the last few pages. Fun for a rainy afternoon, but there are better urban fantasy romances out there. -- lyradora
Missy_Lou More than 1 year ago
This books has its funny moments. Even though she is a witch you can actually relate to what Tammy Jo is going thru. I would recommend this book to anyone. I am getting ready to start book 2 and cant wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good-can't wait for book rwo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Tammy Jo is sweet, loyal and determined and Zach and Byrn are smoking HOT!! This book was fun and sexy and i cant wait to read MORE!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago