×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Writing Magic: Creating Stories That Fly
     

Writing Magic: Creating Stories That Fly

4.0 28
by Gail Carson Levine
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0060519606

ISBN-13: 2900060519604

Pub. Date: 09/19/2006

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Bestselling author of Ella Enchanted and fairy-tale master Gail Carson Levine helps you make magic with your writing!

In Writing Magic, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine shares her tricks of the trade. She shows how you can get terrific ideas for stories, invent great beginnings and endings, write sparkling dialogue, develop memorable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Writing Magic 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Although WRITING MAGIC is geared towards young adults, this is the perfect helper for anyone who has ever wanted to write a book. Creating stories is hard work. It takes practice, discipline, and dedication. It would be nice to think that writing a book simply means sitting down and typing up words, but, alas, it really doesn't work that way. Thankfully, though, we have Gail Carson Levine, Newbery Honor author of some of my favorite books (ELLA ENCHANTED, THE TWO PRINCESSES OF BAMARRE, and the upcoming FAIREST, to name a few) who has taken the time to put together WRITING MAGIC. Filled with tons of wonderful tips about becoming a great writer who creates even greater stories, there are also writing exercises to get those creative juices flowing.

The book is broken down into five sections, with several categories in each:

Section one is entitled Liftoff, which includes A Running Start, Why I Wrote This Book, Shut Up!, Eureka!, Getting into It, and Noticing.

Section two, Heart and Guts, includes The Nitty-Gritty, The Kiss of Life, Character Helper, Suffer!, Talking, Back to Beginnings, Where Am I?, Who Am I?, Voice, and Happily Ever After--Or Not.

Section three, Plowing Through, includes Stuck!, The Operating Room, and Writers' Groups and Other Helpers.

Section four, Digging Deeper, includes Show and Tell, Abracadabra!, I'd Recognize Her with My Eyes Closed, Speaking Body Language, Method Writing, Writing Funy/Writing Punny, The Right Moniker, and Fiddling with Fairy Tales.

The final section, called Writing Forever, includes Writing for Your Spirit, Putting Your Words Out There, and Exeunt Writing.

I loved the writing exercises included in WRITING MAGIC. From the simple (writing brief character descriptions) to the more advanced (writing convincing dialogue), this book is a great tool for anyone. If you've ever wondered how to get started writing a story, ever questioned how to get that great book idea down on paper, this is the guide for you. Pick up a copy of WRITING MAGIC, try the exercises, take Ms. Levine's words to heart, and you're guaranteed to write anything--story, e-mail message, diary entry--with an easier flow and style.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is very helpful, very practical, and steers the writer away from pitfalls. It's also fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Writing Magic. It was one of the first how-to-write books I'd read, and I was reluctant to try it, but I'm glad I did. I continually checked it out from the library, renewing and renewing. When I had to return it, I'd check it out again. Finally, I decided it was worth it to buy it. I'm glad I did. The book is written in Gail Carson Levine's coined style, and I feel as though she's talking to me. She doesn't preach or talk down to you; she writes it as though she's right there, pointing, instructing, and discussing how to write a novel. There's an exercise after every chapter, achievable, fun ways to practice writing. She goes from the basics- character development, dialogue and setting- to details no one ever goes into- the right names, how to twist a fairytale, and how to stop the hurtful self-criticism you always get. Out of all the writing books I've read, Writing Magic is certainly the best. I reccommend it (and Levine's other books!) highly.
AlainaBrown More than 1 year ago
This book is very helpful if you're interested in writing anything. There are some great exercises that help your writing improve. It's given me new insights and helped to refine my skills. Very worth it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gail Carson Levine is one of my favorite authors of all time. Her writing style has always amazed and piqued my interest. When I discovered that she had written a book about writing your very own fiction novel, I picked it up right away! It was a privilege to look into one of my favorite author's writing style, techniques, and writing practice ideas that really helped jump start my own writing. Her advice and exercises are very helpful. I enjoyed reading the little tidbits about how she came to write sections of "Ella Enchanted," "The Two Princesses of Bamarre," and her many other tales. I loved reading how she came to write her stories and the methods that she used to help her writing along. I especially enjoyed the chapter called "Character Helper". It really helped me give my characters depth (and it helped me understand them better as well). I definitely recommend this book for anyone who is a Gail Carson Levine fan or for writers of all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although WRITING MAGIC is geared towards young adults, this is the perfect helper for anyone who has ever wanted to write a book. Creating stories is hard work. It takes practice, discipline, and dedication. It would be nice to think that writing a book simply means sitting down and typing up words, but, alas, it really doesn't work that way. Thankfully, though, we have Gail Carson Levine, Newbery Honor author of some of my favorite books (ELLA ENCHANTED, THE TWO PRINCESSES OF BAMARRE, and the upcoming FAIREST, to name a few) who has taken the time to put together WRITING MAGIC. Filled with tons of wonderful tips about becoming a great writer who creates even greater stories, there are also writing exercises to get those creative juices flowing. The book is broken down into five sections, with several categories in each: Section one is entitled Liftoff, which includes A Running Start, Why I Wrote This Book, Shut Up!, Eureka!, Getting into It, and Noticing. Section two, Heart and Guts, includes The Nitty-Gritty, The Kiss of Life, Character Helper, Suffer!, Talking, Back to Beginnings, Where Am I?, Who Am I?, Voice, and Happily Ever After--Or Not. Section three, Plowing Through, includes Stuck!, The Operating Room, and Writers' Groups and Other Helpers. Section four, Digging Deeper, includes Show and Tell, Abracadabra!, I'd Recognize Her with My Eyes Closed, Speaking Body Language, Method Writing, Writing Funy/Writing Punny, The Right Moniker, and Fiddling with Fairy Tales. The final section, called Writing Forever, includes Writing for Your Spirit, Putting Your Words Out There, and Exeunt Writing. I loved the writing exercises included in WRITING MAGIC. From the simple (writing brief character descriptions) to the more advanced (writing convincing dialogue), this book is a great tool for anyone. If you've ever wondered how to get started writing a story, ever questioned how to get that great book idea down on paper, this is the guide for you. Pick up a copy of WRITING MAGIC, try the exercises, take Ms. Levine's words to heart, and you're guaranteed to write anything--story, e-mail message, diary entry--with an easier flow and style.
Unperfectwriter More than 1 year ago
Gail Carson Levine wrote some of my favorite books, and this writing guide was amazing as well! The end-of-the-chapter writing challenges were fun and helped me stretch my imagination
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cginm96 More than 1 year ago
This book is really helpful for people like me who wants to be an author but are having a touch time getting their feet off the ground. it teaches you everything from good beginnings to getting unstuck to putting on the finishing touches. If you want a fun, honest way to write fiction then buy this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should get this book, as it has given my writing a HUGE kick-start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago