×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Writing Movies for Fun and Profit: How We Made a Billion Dollars at the Box Office and You Can, Too!
     

Writing Movies for Fun and Profit: How We Made a Billion Dollars at the Box Office and You Can, Too!

4.2 13
by Robert Ben Garant, Thomas Lennon
 

See All Formats & Editions

This is the only screenwriting guide by two guys who have actually done it (instead of some schmuck who just gives lectures about screenwriting at the airport Marriott); “These guys are proof that with no training and little education, ANYONE can make it as a screenwriter” (Paul Rudd).

Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennon’s movies have

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Writing Movies for Fun and Profit 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David_Deacon More than 1 year ago
A wonderful fun read. In fact I'm drinking right now. (Reading it.) <3 lol
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MSmithKS More than 1 year ago
It's a good thing this book is so funny. Apart from that, it's the worst written book about writing I have ever read. If you're a fan of Hollywood lore and behind the scenes anecdotes, you'll find it reasonably entertaining. If you're looking for solid guidance on the craft of storytelling, you may be disappointed. PROS: * Loaded with interesting details about the movie business and how it works. * Funny. * The authors are genuinely accomplished screenwriters, so they have a certain level of experience and expertise (and make merciless fun of writing mavens who have no track record). CONS: * Little information about how to actually write a movie. * Horrible copy editing, some of which must reflect bad writing. It's a disorganized mess. I'd be shocked if the print version has as many typos and formatting glitches as the ebook. * The authors claim that movies have become so bad because of elements of the process they don't like. But the book demonstrates that movies are bad because of elements the authors embrace and urge the reader to emulate.
l_manning More than 1 year ago
I should start by mentioning that I have no interest in writing a screenplay. I do however love The State, Viva Variety, and Reno 911!, so I was very familiar with the authors of this book. Naturally I was dying to read it. It was everything I expected and more. There was tons of humor mixed with some really useful information. My favorite section was probably the chapter on determining if you had made it in Hollywood by where the different studios sent you to park. Through all the humor, you get a real sense of passion for writing. They don't just do this for money; they write because they feel compelled to. They go through their process of writing an outline, pitching to studios, and then writing the screenplay. There is also a lot of useful information about how the studio system works and what to expect from the entire movie making process. I also learned a lot about all the different writing and production credits and the arbitration system with the writing guild. It's all very complex and fascinating. Clearly if you are interested in writing screenplays, there is a lot of useful information here. Even for us non-writers though, there is so much stuff to learn from this book. Naturally, it's all relayed with tons of humor. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in movies. It is sure to entertain! Galley provided by publisher for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago