×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wump World
     

The Wump World

4.6 14
by Bill Peet
 

See All Formats & Editions


The Pollutians invade the Wump World and turn the green meadows into a concrete jungle.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wump World 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of Bill Peet's books, but this one is my favorite because it provides a kid-friendly version of environmental awareness. My oldest child is nearly five, and this book, as well as Bill Peet's other books, are perfect for children who are ready for longer stories but not yet able to read on their own. My daughter adores this story and really feels for the Wumps. I would not recommend this book for a child under 3 because it is too long to capture their attention and, with it's longer sentences and more advanced vocabulary, it is hard for them to understand. If you buy just one Bill Peet book, let it be this one!
FARIEQUEENE More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a little gem when I first came across it. It sends a clear and great environmental message with very unforgetable and cute characters, I love the Wumps.
grisaille More than 1 year ago
This is a terrific read-aloud; perfect for Earth Day (or, really, any day). Cartoony, expressive artwork accompanies the clear, heartfelt text. The Pollutians will make you angry, and you'll cheer when the Wumps are finally able to reclaim their world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was younger and absolutely loved it. I was so upset when we lost it in a move. A short while ago I was looking for books for my nephew and came across it again. I was so excited that I had to buy a copy! I can't wait for him to enjoy it as much as I have! It has a very simple message about protecting the environment and has great drawings to illustrate.
G8 More than 1 year ago
While this is an excellent children's book, it's not Bill Peet's best work. If you want a children's book with a similar environmental message, I would choose "The Lorax" by Dr. Seuss - more clever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I taught first through third graders for 23 years and included this book as part of our Earth Day studies. The children asked for it to be read and reread. Bill Peet was a favorite author for my students who wanted to read all of his books and often did so. My own children received The Wump World as a present from their grandmother and loved it and I just read it to my second and third grade grandchildren who have declared it their favotite book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I checked this book out when my son was in Kindergarten, now he is a Senior in high school. I want this book for my Future Grandchildren. That way they can enjoy the book that their father enjoyed as a child. This book was written long ago, but look at what we did to our planet. Now they want to move us to the MOON!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book that I ever read. It brought me into a new world for the first time. It made me realize how valuable life is. This book holds one of the many keys of life, it makes you care.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had this book read to me in second grade. I remeber it, and this book had a profound impact on the person i am today. Ever since then, i was very aware of the dangers of pollution and the importance of a clean earth. I would recommend this to all parents and school teachers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
we read this in my second grade class and it has been my favorite childhood book since. i went out and bought it the next day and read it almost everynight. its a really good book to let kids read to help them understand the importance of keeping our environment clean. and the wumps are sooo cute and innocent, you cant help but cry for them. :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
My three year old son really enjoys reading this book and understands what will happen if we don't take care of the environment. Plus, the wumps are really cute.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I used to read this book when I was little and it had such a profound influence on my life. I think it is a good way to get our children to understand the importance of preserving our environment.