×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

XML (Visual QuickStart Guide Series)
  • Alternative view 1 of XML (Visual QuickStart Guide Series)
  • Alternative view 2 of XML (Visual QuickStart Guide Series)
     

XML (Visual QuickStart Guide Series)

4.1 9
by Kevin Howard Goldberg, Elizabeth Castro (Foreword by)
 

See All Formats & Editions


What is XML? XML, or eXtensible Markup Language, is a specification for storing information. It is also a specification for describing the structure of that information. And while XML is a markup language (just like HTML), XML has no tags of its own. It allows the person writing the XML to create whatever tags they need. The only condition is that these newly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

XML (Visual QuickStart Guide Series) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
mamandejumeaux More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for the basics of XML, this book has it covered.

It details the parameters of XSL, DTD, XML Schema, and Namespaces with easy-to-follow visual examples and instructions. I also found the sections on W3C's latest recommendations, XML in practice, and the latest editing tools especially helpful.

IMHO, the book¿s content and value far exceeds the outlay.
reynolds_43 More than 1 year ago
Gone through few chapters of the book & loved it. Exactly what I (an IT professional with over a decade of experience but minimal XML exposure) was looking for -- a reference to bring me up to speed quickly so that I could read & understand existing XML constructs and converse intelligently about them with colleagues.
djkentuckyham More than 1 year ago
Truth be told, I do not work as a Web developer, but on a daily basis my job has me in contact with business clients and Web application developers. My clients require robust Web applications, my developers make it happen. Because of legacy data issues, shared disparate databases, and the need for them to handshake; XML Web services have become a standard solution in many commercial Web solutions. Though I am somewhat familiar with the basics of XML I wanted to go deeper to better myself and better my knowledge in client/tech conversations. What I did not want to do is to go so deep as to read a monster 1000+ page tome that would require weeks of book study, application and befuddlement.

Instead, Mr. Goldberg¿s book provided me a concise break down the structure of XML markup language in a detailed/digestible enough manner to keep me engaged and participatory. Each chapter cleverly builds on previous topics, so as to provide a pyramid learning approach. This enabled me to go deeper than before into the more arcane areas of the language (XPath patterns, functions, expressions, XSL-FO, DTD¿s, schemas, etc.) so it could be more easily understood.

If you are new to XML, curious, or need enough to know to be dangerous in your job, then this book is for you. BTW, I highly recommend that you download his chapter samples so as to follow along and to tinker with. I read the entire book in a weekend and returned to work on Monday loaded for bear. Now I keep it at my desk for easy reference.
mikeypweiss More than 1 year ago
XML? HTML? XHTML? So many letters, so many meanings. As an amateur programmer I was really confused about XML. For one, why do I need to know it? What does it really do? Is it important? I am happy to say that I am no longer confused. Mr. Goldberg's writing style and his use of real world examples (using the Wonders Of the World was brilliant) not only put me at ease, but allowed me to fully understand what XML is, when to use it and more importantly HOW TO USE IT.

I am a huge fan of Peachpit. Their books read well and to be honest feel good in my hands (high quality printing and paper). I checked to see what else Mr. Goldberg has written and it seems this is his first book for Peachpit. I hope they plan to have him write more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago