×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

XO (Kathryn Dance Series #3)
     

XO (Kathryn Dance Series #3)

3.4 57
by Jeffery Deaver
 

See All Formats & Editions

Internationally bestselling author Jeffery Deaver delivers the latest sensational thriller in his wildly popular Kathryn Dance series.

COUNTRY-POP INGÉNUE Kayleigh Towne’s career is just reaching new heights with her huge hit single “Your Shadow”—but increased fame is also bringing unwanted attention. An

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

XO: A Kathryn Dance Novel 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
AndyAC More than 1 year ago
Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointing. It might have been a better short story. It definitely needed some editing. Sadly, I simply cannot recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the Kathryn Dance series. Wait on pins and needles for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
XO is classic Jeffery Deaver. Deaver keeps the pace moving constantly and true to his style, the ending has some great surprises. This was also an insightful glance into the music industry. Deaver has done his homework. I actually have a friend who is a grammy nominated pop star, Heather Schmid, who has had experiences similar to Kayleigh Towne’s in terms of her experience as a female pop star and with fanatical fans (though nowhere near as extreme) so when I say Deaver is accurate, I'm speaking from personal knowledge. Kathryn Dance is (of course) awesome in her role and anyone who is a fan of hers (or Lincoln Rhyme) will love this book. The great thing about Deaver's series is that each book advances the timeline in his world and it's been fun watching his characters evolve. I'm just sad he only writes one book per year!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having read all of Deaver's books I think he's becoming formulaic. The early Lincoln Rhymes stuff was very good, but in this one the author indulges in topics he's researched intently (in this book it's country music, musical instruments and songwriting mainly). The stalking issue is forced since no serious law inforcement officer would let things proceed as they do in the book. There is no major character development-this plot is convoluted and he provides about 20 or more songs he's written (really I'm not into lyrics and the main character's bursts of ideas for lyrics)and his kinesics information is pretty ordinary. Beach reading-not substantial enough for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written for, perhaps by, 13 year old girls (no insult to them intended). I really hated this book. The story is contrived and strains credulity. The abundant metaphors are eye-rollingly bad; appallingly trite like the author lacks both imagination and a thesaurus. What a waste of (my) time and (our) trees.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Deaver obviously does his research, but in this one his facts intrude on the storyline
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a disappointment - story was just darn silly. Don't waste your time or money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book is pretty bad. Deaver has written some enjoyable books, this certainly is not one. This book was bad enough that the regular characters began to get annoying. Maybe it has something to do with Deaver trying to write as a woman. NOT believable & this was a pretty girly story. Lyrics were also dumb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! I really enjoyed this book! It was a thriller and full of suspense! I couldn't put it down! Loved it!
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
XO is the third book in the Kathryn Dance series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. CBI agent Kathryn Dance’s expertise is in kinesics, and she is often in demand when suspects are interviewed. But when she goes to Fresno on vacation, in search of folk songs and a country music concert, she isn’t expecting to need those skills. When Kathryn meets young country music sensation, Kayleigh Towne for lunch, she learns the singer is plagued by a stalker, one Edwin Stanton Sharp, and when one of Towne’s crew is murdered at the concert hall, suspicion falls on the stalker. But Kathryn finds she is neither wanted nor welcome at his interrogation. Not only that, but Chief of Detectives, P K Madigan, seems determined to ignore any advice she offers. In yet another thriller, Deaver gives the reader a plot with plenty of suspense, twists and turns and the odd red herring. Country music is heavily featured, and there are interesting tidbits on types of stalking and the legislation covering this, as well as, of course, quite a bit of kinesics. While it may be a little slow-moving in parts, this novel manages to include an assassination plot, a secret lover, a secret baby, some unpublished Beatles songs, a kidnapping, an overbearing father and witness intimidation. Deaver touches on innocence and image and immigration policy. Deaver’s other creations, Lincoln Rhyme and Amanda Sachs, make an appearance to help out with trace evidence analysis, and the reader is kept guessing to the end. Definitely a page-turner. 
booklover63DL More than 1 year ago
The story was good but the song lyrics took away from the story. They were very childish. Mr. Deaver needs to stick to novels only, not song writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gteat read
Av3ryRD More than 1 year ago
ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this one after seeing that a main character and potential victim has my daughter's name...and it's spelled correctly! Being a singer like my daughter, blonde, and close to same age just made it even more fun and connecting. A surprise visit by Lincoln in the book made me very happy too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why do the Dance novels read like a teenager wrote them? They have none of the sophistication of the Rhyme novels. Rather, they are disguised love stories, embarrassing to read with unrealistic plots. I won't buy any more of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have loved his other books but this one was disjointed, boring, etc. Had to fight my way through it, hoping for some salvation And, what's with all the poetry and songs? Publish that stuff somewhere else and don't taint your books with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst of the Dance series by far. Between leaving the colorful setting of Monterey and Pacific Grove for parched out Fresno (really???) and Deaver trying his hand at country song writing, this book just doesn't do the series or the writer justice. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very exciting. Deaver's the best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago