Customer Reviews for

xxxHolic, Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    100% Pure Awesome

    When I first picked up this book, I was instantly hooked. I love the characters Watanuki and Yuko, but I also love the storyline as different "holics" are introduced with wishes that need to be granted and lessons that need to be learned. The supernatural aspects add a wonderful twist as well as the cameos of characters and items from other CLAMP manga which keep you guessing as to what's going to show up next. This a book that I've enjoyed reading again and again, and one that I would definitely give as a gift to anyone that likes manga, the supernatural, or just the wonderful writings of the all-female team known as CLAMP (or even all three).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    An excellent addition.

    I heard about this book from a friend. I have a 13-year old girl that is very into manga and finding one that is appropriate for her age is difficult. This book was great and she loved it so much that she's requested all the others and has been watching the anime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    EXCELLENT

    THE BEST MANGA I'VE READ SO FAR.. I LOVE WATANUKI AND YUKO! I DON'T LIKE DOMEKI tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Shall I Grant Your Wish?

    Many words come to mind when I think of this manga. Se manifique. Creepy. Delightful. I am a big fan of supernatural and horror stories, and xXx HoLiC falls perfectly under the categories. There are several stories in this series in each manga, each one touchng on supernatural elements like spirits, story telling, games, and of course, monsters and demons. The dialogue can get a bit wordy at times, but all together, the manga is superb. CLAMP really did a ringer on this series, and I can't wait to see how it ends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    XXX Holic is GOOD

    XXX Holic is a good story and very funny because Kimihiro has a short-temper that bursts all the time! The Yuko's 'kids' (girls) are freaky twins who always speak i9n unison, making Kimihiro freak out!! Read it or check it out on the internet at least, it is worth it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Very Kool ^^

    I really liked the first volume of xxxholic, although I didn't get the whole 'MaruDashi and Marodashi thing until I read the extra pages, i still thought it was all very funny ^^.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Too bad the quality isn't that great

    For 10 something dollars the paper the manga is made out of is awful compare to the slightly cheaper original Japanese version which is a much better quality and is alot better to look at. But other than that I'm glad the color inserts were kept and the translations seem good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Awsome Book!

    this book is cool it has a good story line and is funny. I just started reading it but i really like it. Read it ITS GOOD FOR YOU!!!! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Attractive

    When I first stumbled against this comic, I found it to be very wordy. I thought it was not going to be as nice as other titles I have read because I do not have enough patience to read such lengthy sentences. But when I decided to give it a try, I was absorbed into the pages. All the characters, especially Yuuko, are very appealing. There are several cross-overs like Li and Sakura from Tsubasa Chronicles. Now that I have read this first volume, I cannot wait for the second volume. I am very disappointed to know that I have to wait till October for the third volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    Great Manga

    I loved this manga...i'm so glad they have it in the U.S. now!! i read the chinese versions and have yet to read the english versions. if you liked ParaKiss you'll like this twisted manga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Awesome

    What else could you expect from CLAMP? This is a wonderful new series that overlaps with the new 'Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle' (which has Sakura and Syaoran in it...sort of) Anyway, since there's no summary here, I'll summarize it for you. It's about a guy who sees spirits, and it really bothers him. One day he stumbles upon a weird shop and is forced inside. The shop is run by a mysterious witch who grants people's wishes...but only in exchange for something of equal value... I won't tell any more. Just buy it, it's really great if you love manga that's dark and a little twisted, and gives you a lot to think on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2