×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a Knitter
     

Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a Knitter

4.7 26
by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
 

See All Formats & Editions

Stephanie Pearl-McPhee's deepest wish is that everyone understand that knitting is at least as fun as baseball and way cooler than the evil looped path of crochet. Every project, from a misshapen hat to the most magnificent sweater, holds a story. Yarn Harlot tells all those stories with humor, insight, and sympathy for the obsessed.

Over 50 million people in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Yarn Harlot 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you buy this book, Stephanie will earn more money, buy more yarn (or put an addition on her house to keep her stash in) and write more priceless prose about the art, hobby, love, frustration and thrill of knitting. I was expecting this book to be as riotously funny as At Knit's End, but also found great depth in essays like What Her Hands Won't Do, One Little Sock and What She Gave Me. This book is a must for knitters, especially those of us who spend our non-knitting time in the summer reading about knitting.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Thank you so much for the giggles! This book is one that I can relate to as a fellow fiber enthusiast.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hilarious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laugh so hard. I have come to realize that I should be proud of my first projects. Because, the mistakes that I made were so bad. The first pair of socks that I knitted, the one sock is about 4 inches longer than the other. I didn't measure. The first scarf that I knitted is affectionately nicknamed the "hour-glass" scarf. But, the stitches are nice and even.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
walgal06 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I've just started knitting and laughed so hard at this book. My husband has started pointing out some of the ridiculous stuff I'm doing and I can now point and say, "Look Stephanie has 10 projects on her needles so my four really isn't that bad." I haven't made him read the entire book but after reading large sections of it to him I think he's beginning to understand that the insanity of knitting is a contagious disease.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lotsofpuppies More than 1 year ago
This book was intended as a present for my grandmother, but once I opened to chapter one and the green monster afghan I could not put it down! It was a pure delight and I laughed out loud too many times to count. I am a beginning knitter and I found the book funny and yet also inspirational for knowing that there is hope for beginners!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never laughed so hard! Out loud, even! An avid process knitter myself for many years with a burning desire to stay home and knit all day every day, Stephanie is dead on when she talks about 'souvenir stash' and her adventures in steeking. I am SO there! Knitters new and old can appreciate the tips in the book 'putting yarn in a garment bag', but Stephanie touched on all the reasons why we knitters knit. Stephanie, I tip my knitted cap to you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a knitter, you should read this book. You will laugh out loud and sigh in relief that you are not the only one with secret stashes of yarn that you will never knit. If you love someone who is a knitter, you should read this book to better understand the obsession that has taken hold over them. This book may save your relationship.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It's filled with stories of the Harlot's knitting. It's the best book in the knitting-humor books category. And Stephanie Pearl-McPhee is even funnier in person.