×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Year in Provence
     

A Year in Provence

4.3 80
by Peter Mayle, Judith Clancy (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

National Bestseller 

In this witty and warm-hearted account, Peter Mayle tells what it is like to realize a long-cherished dream and actually move into a 200-year-old stone farmhouse in the remote country of the Lubéron with his wife and two large dogs. He endures January's frosty mistral as it comes howling down the Rhône Valley,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Year in Provence 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For those who dream of escaping the rat race and "getting away from it all", this is the quintessential experience writ large. In this classic story, author Peter Mayle captures both the uniqueness and quirkiness that is rural France and its people while spinning a tale the reader will quickly fall in love with. From the challenges presented on their arrival through their transition to acceptance, Mayle captures the warp and woof of real life on every page. For those who lovingly treasure their "joie de vivre", this unforgettable book will easily enjoy an honored place on the shelf. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I come from a small village not too far from where the book takes place and that was the cheapest trip back home that I have taken in the past ten years that I have lived in the US. So real and also so simple, I read it on the subway going to work and tears would come to my eyes from the description of the market, the food, the people , their attitude and so many many other things..then two minutes after I would be laughing out loud and people around me would just stare at me. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a simple and genuine good read about Provence. It is written in a very funny, English-humor-tongue in cheek kindda way. Thank you for a great trip and good memories .I could smell and taste Provence from Brooklyn, New York.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book brought back so many great memories of my growing up in Provence. Mr Mayle has done a fantastic job describing the way of life, the passion we have for good food, the scenery, this book definitely makes me homesick for Provence, and also made me laugh so much because only Mr Mayle could explain hunting for truffles so well! I have the movie (4 tapes, one for each season) of a year in Provence, it's hilarious! I highly recommend them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie before I read the book. I have read Provence many times. It seems each time I read it I slip into the adventures involved with moving and following your dreams. I love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is to fun to read, I have just moved from Cailf to Ohio so for me this was a nice way to know I'm not alone on learning new ways of life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent anecdotal book! I'm enjoying every page, wishing all the while that we could buy a home in Provence and live the life of Peter Mayle and his wife! Can't wait to read the sequel! - "Encore Provence"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It told what it is like to live in Provance. Ive been vegetarian 28 years yet constant talj of non vegetarian fiid made me hungry , the cheese and bread. The book was like being in Paris again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I began reading this as I was on the airplane to Provence. Very enjoyable story highlighting the beauty and quirkiness of the area. It was great fun to run across a boulle game in progress just as I read that chapter. Delightful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
julie0903 More than 1 year ago
If so, this book is for you. A couple escape from the hustle and bustle of London to the country life of Provence. Very enjoyable light read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrew Onofrey More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago