×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Yes, Chef: A Memoir
     

Yes, Chef: A Memoir

4.2 43
by Marcus Samuelsson
 

See All Formats & Editions

JAMES BEARD AWARD NOMINEE • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY VOGUE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“One of the great culinary stories of our time.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times
 
It begins with a simple ritual: Every Saturday afternoon, a boy who loves to cook

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Yes, Chef 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The story is incredibly moving, plus Marcus is a great story teller. I could not put it down and found myself in tears at three different parts. I would highly recommend this book - it's the best book I have read in ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only a great chef but a very good writer. This would still be an intetesting book even if you didn't know who the writer was. Kudos Marcus. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written. Moving.
VictoriaAllman More than 1 year ago
It is an absolute pleasure to read a chef's memoir about something other than how many drugs they have done of how drunk they can get on the line and still put out food. Marcus Samuelsson's passion for food and drive to excel leap from the page and swirl through the readers mind like the aromatics from the pots and pans on his stove. This is a story of high-quality food and cooking and how to obtain it. Through hard work, passion, and determination, Marcus has become a chef we should all look up to and emulate. This is the book I'd like to represent a chef's life. It is a pleasure to read and an inspiration. Victoria Allman author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain and Sea Fare A Chef's Journey Across the Ocean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent and fascinating memoir! Unable to put down! Met him at book signing with a smile to match his life experiences. Will recommend and continue following his journey!!
SC2010 More than 1 year ago
I have always been intrigued by Marcus Samuelsson; when watching him on the Food Network, I'd always hear his accent and wonder where he was from. When I found out that he was Swedish but was born and adopted out of Ethiopia, I knew that he'd have an interesting story to tell. I admire his cooking skills, love for food, and commitment to elevating Harlem cuisine, but he has by far the most colorful personal story out of all the celebrity chefs out there. A most enjoyable read and a great journey into a man's life.
chanelBS More than 1 year ago
Our book club read and discussed this remarkable story. Thank you Marcus for the history and journey of your inspiring life. Excellent!
TiredofGarbage More than 1 year ago
Superb book, well done Mr. Samuelsson. The mark of a good book is that you feel better for having read it - like the mark of a good meal, where you feel better for having eaten it. Truly an amazing story, told with respect and compassion. The writing is poetic. Highly recommended for all, not just the foodies.
sparky2 More than 1 year ago
Great read. Enjoyed the behind the scenes of different kitchens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a selected by a member of my book club. It is not a book I would have chosen to read on my own. I was pleasantly surprised at what an interesting book it is. Describing his childhood and how his race affected his career was quite fascinating. This was a fast read for me. I recommend it highly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this down. Loved the vivid descriptions of Sweden and Africa.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book as a food lover and fan of the chef, but his life and journey are so unique and moving that I think anyone would enjoy this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent journey into what it takes to be an outstanding chef. Well written and engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks, chef, and all those who helped to write this book. Excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved loved loved this book. A wonderful portrayal of the tough life of a chef, the hard work and dedication needed to make it in this industry and a beautiful insight into the soul of a passionate man. I love to cook and completly adore (and appreciate) Marcus' drive for the 'what ifs'. If you are a foodie the this book is a must.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I took a chance on this, and I loved it! I was surprised to encounter such a fine human being with such an interesting life journey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago