×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Yoga Club
     

The Yoga Club

2.8 10
by Cooper Lawrence
 

See All Formats & Editions

Chatting it up with bendy WASPs is the last thing on Coco Guthrie’s mind during her 8:30 a.m. yoga class. Having made her fortune as the world-renowned inventor of Butt-B-Gone derriere cream, Coco still doesn’t feel like she belongs among the upper class— until she attends the swankiest Halloween soiree in Greenwich, Connecticut, where three

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Yoga Club 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
duncanwk More than 1 year ago
This book is insulting to the reader. The characters are "too cool for the room" smug. Poorly written and a drag to read. Don't waste your time on this stinker.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
insulting to everyone and sexist the author is obv NOT a psychologist. i didnt actually read the book i just was told what to say by a fox news anchor beforehand. my disgust has had a mass effect on me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is unbelievably slow and the characters fake I feel desensitized.
Meffect More than 1 year ago
My personal opinion of this book is that it would be awful but I haven't read it.
My_Eclectic_Bookshelf More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this highly entertaining lighthearted read. Cooper Lawrence strikes just the right balance between chick lit and cozy mystery while having a great deal of fun. All of the characters are larger than life versions of themselves…caricatures if you will… which I assume is Cooper’s point. We can poke fun at them while still being able to relate to them which I found to be a great feat. I enjoyed getting to know each one as the storyline unraveled. And I will warn you that the plot does unravel quite slowly. While there is a mystery at it’s core…that is not what this story is all about. The crime that the four “Sarahs” witness is merely the device that draws them all together and allows us insight into each of their lives and the developing relationships between them. That is the core of this book…the friendship building. We all know how difficult it is as adults to find and develop lasting new friendships…and this book explores that conundrum while also having a lot of fun with stereotypes. I’ve seen a few negative reviews and I fear that perhaps those readers just took this book a bit too seriously. The characters are exaggerated, they are superficial, they do take actions that make the reader want to reach through the pages and slap them…but it’s all part of the hilarity of the story. This book contains very little mystery…and also very little yoga...but plenty of fun!
BookHounds More than 1 year ago
MY THOUGHTS LOVED IT Coco made her money through a cellulite cream, Bailey is a celebrity reporter and sees quite a bit of action, Olivia is a shy geek and CJ is not quite out of the closet. The group meet at Yoga and become fast friends all deciding to go as Sarah Palin for the Halloween soiree in their Connecticut town. So when they get to the mayor's house and find him in kinky attire and rolling up a body in a carpet, I guess you could say things get strange. Now the group is being threatened by someone that will expose all of their dirty secrets unless they remain quiet about the crime. This adorable Chick Lit Cozy, is a quick and chatty read, perfect for a dose of lighthearted mystery. I adored CJ with his witty remarks and almost felt sorry for Olivia and her issues, but she is the quiet strength in this group. Bailey almost stole the show with her quips though. I really enjoyed this quick read and if you enjoy Josie Brown or Debra Galant, you will love this author as well.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Coco, Bailey, Olivia, and CJ met by coincidence and became friends by choice. A poor costume design and overly curious nature has them witnessing a murder and subsequently getting blackmailed to keep it quiet. Someone with power knows how to use their secrets against them to make the whole incident go away. These four may be home based in Greenwich but could not be more diverse in their personalities, sexual orientation, upbringing, and life style choices. Friends are people you can always count on to have your back and watch out for you if they can stay focused long enough to make that happen. Yoga is the balancing act and overall grounding for the group who now have to figure out a way to solve a murder, not get killed, and still be home for dinner. Everyone may be up for a game of sleuth, but not one of them wants to be six feet under as a result of such ideas. The police will not help so relying on one another becomes critical and going forward these four become more than friends as they decide how to get everything resolved. As you watch relationships start from the first meeting, others collapse under the strain of obligations, and one struggling to survive you see the individual expectations change and expand. Nothing in life is perfect but if you give friendship a chance, it could be close to perfection. What an incredible and delightful read from page one to the final sentence. This book is as heartwarming as it is exciting and mysterious. We all have friends that fill a need for us in one way or another and this book shows how critical those relationships are and how you have to keep working at them so you don¿t lose them.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
I picked up The Yoga Club last week and consumed the entire book in one day. Cooper has a knack for storytelling and giving just the right amount of details. The unforgettable characters paired with an intriguing plot make for a sensational read. I definitely recommend this to my fellow readaholics!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Received it around Christmas, but have not had a chance to read it yet.